We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star at best!”
Review of Porta Faenza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Porta Faenza
Ranked #77 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We booked 2 Superior rooms, next to eachother overlooking the courtyard- details confirmed in writing from the hotel. Instead, when we checked in we were assigned 1 superior room, 1 classic room and although they were side by side they overlooked the noisy street. I mentioned our booking and showed her the confirmation and she made some excuse and then went on to say the rate we got is so much lower than the going rate etc. etc. ( I should hope so - I booked it 4 months in advance!) Clearly this hotel gave our 2 confirmed rooms to someone else who was paying a higher rate than what we had booked. Not cool! During our 3 week stay in Italy this is the only hotel that pulled this "bait and switch".

Positives
Great Location - mere steps to Duomo
Buffet breakfast included- and served in a nice breakfast area
Free internet

Negatives
Not getting the rooms we booked, Rooms overlooking the street are extremely noisy- bring earplugs. Bedding needs to be upgraded from bedspreads to duvets. Free internet in room did not always work.

Overall, I am sure if we had stayed in the rooms that we originally booked our experience would have been much better. As it is, I cannot recommend this hotel to a friend because I would hate for them to have the "bait and switch" technique pulled on them.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortafaenza, proprietario at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2009

Dear Guests,
we thank you for choosing our Hotel and we apologise for any inconvenience you may have suffered.
As we explained to you upon your arrival, in one of the two rooms we had reserved for yiu we had a severe plumbing problem(a burst pipe in the shower caused flooding and infiltration to the floor below).
Therefore we allocated you two front-facing superior rooms, equivalent to the rooms you booked.
The following day, having resolved the plumbing problem, we asked you several times if you wished to transfer to the original rooms you had requested04 months earlier but as you decide to remain in the rooms given to you, we assumed that you were content with the situation.
We were therefore very surprised and upset to read your negative comments about us as we try wherever possible to satisfy the requests of our guests and to make their stay as pleasant as we can.
With regards to the wifi internet connection, we did have some temporary signal problem but the service was always available, free of charge, in the hall of the Hotel.
Once again, we apologise to you for the inconvenience caused and in the hope of seeing you again, we send best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Porta Faenza for 4 nights in early July as part of our honeymoon. The location of Porta Faenza was fantastic, close to the train station, so we didn't have to lug our bags far and on a street that was convenient to get everywhere in Florence. Our room was a standard room and it was clean, but basic. We didn't plan on spending a lot of time in our room (we choose Italy afterall, not the beach for our honeymoon) so it was fine. Our room did not overlook the street, so it was quiet and we had no problems with noise. The hotel was also convenient to a laundrymat around the corner, which we used once.

The free use of the computer in the lobby was nice and I only had to wait a few minutes to use it once, otherwise the computer was always free. The breakfast was good, the cappuccino's were the best of the 3 hotels we stayed in while in Italy. The only negative I would say was the shower in the bathroom. It had the swinging glass door, as another reviewer mentioned, and water did seem to get all over the floor. The only way to avoid this seemed to be to hold the handheld shower head in one hand at all times to direct the water towards the shower wall. This did not make for relaxing showers. The hotel staff did speak English well and they were reasonably friendly.

We didn't ask the hotel for any restaurant recommendations, but we did try Nerone's which other people have mentioned being referred to. My husband's meal there was excellent (gnocchi gorgonzola), but mine was awful (some type of pasta with mushrooms - no sauce). He was so sweet he shared his meal so neither of us had a 100% bad meal. We did eat at 2 places we loved though - Trattoria Casa Di Dante - which is in the same building as - you guessed it - Dante's house. The food and service were great and they had THE BEST house red we had in Italy. It only comes in a 1.5 liter bottle, so be prepared to drink - best 4th of July we've had!!! The other restaurant was Trattoria Bordino - across the Ponte Vecchio. The food was so, so good. My hubby had linguine with clam sauce and I had crepes Florentine - it was so good I wanted to cry. And their tiramisu was so amazing we practically fought over it - it was absolutely homemade.

While in Florence we also took the Best of Tuscany Tour and we highly recommend it - we had a fabulous day and it was great to get out and see some of Tuscany. The winery lunch was excellent. If (when) we come back we may try exploring more of the countryside on our own, but for our first time in Italy it was a great tour.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travel220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

We loved our stay at Porta Faenza. The location is wonderful, the room was great, tasty breakfast - and next to my favorite restaurant "Nerone" - superb all around.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank go-daddy-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

This hotel was not bad. The room was spacious and clean but the bathroom was tiny. The shower was the size of a phone booth! Fortunately you really don't spend much time in your room when there is so much to do and see. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The location is close to the train station so you can walk from the train and there is a laundry nearby as well. We were only in Florence for 3 nights, so this hotel was fine. If I had planned to stay longer I would definitely look for something a little better.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YellowBus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

My family of four, including two older teenagers, stayed at Porta Faenza for three nights in May. We could not have been more pleased.

First, the location is excellent. The hotel is close to the train station, but not too close, if you know what I mean. It is less than a 10 minute walk with luggage, but located on a relatively quiet and safe street (I agree that there can be some street noise at night, but we did not find it horrible.) The hotel felt safe and secure and it had a great “old world feel” to it.

As an aside, one of the great things about Florence is that it is small enough that you can walk almost everywhere (assuming you are in decent physical shape). We did not take a bus or taxi at all during our three day stay.

We had a three-bed, quad-room that faced the street. The room was spacious and clean. A safe and daily room service were provided. Also, my wife says she can judge the quality of a hotel by its bathroom towels. If that is true, then Porta Faenza would be a five star hotel (which obviously it isn’t quite). Needless to say…great towels.

The hotel was air conditioned (our hotel in Rome was not). They provided a computer with internet access in the lobby for free. The staff was friendly and helpful (they made museum reservations for us in advance at no charge). The breakfast buffet was about as good as a continental breakfast can get – delicious warm croissants, great coffee, free cappuccino, and a large variety of cold breakfast foods.

There are several very nice little restaurants very close to the hotel that the staff recommended. We took their advice and ate at Enzo e Piero and Antichi Cancelli. Both were small, family-run trattorias with excellent food, service, and atmosphere. We also ate at a Rick Steves’ recommended restaurant, Trattoria ZaZa, and found it a little too “touristy” for our taste. If you get a chance, eat a lunch at one of the eateries inside the Mercato Centrale. It’s a fun experience and great casual food.

In summary, there are reasons why this hotel gets such good ratings on Trip Advisor. You can reserve a room here with confidence.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandHeidi392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

we stayed here for 5 days and didnt get much sleep due to having rooms overlooking the street..it was terrible at night due to noisy drunks and groups returning to thier hotels..there are about 5 hotels ( that look a bit rough) and a hostel just above the faenza
If you get the other rooms you should be fine..the hotel is very clean staff on reception are very helpful and speak very good english.....rooms are spacious well furnished and very clean, breakfast is good
The location of the hotel is very good 2 min to station and 10 min walk to duomo ..most attractions are all within easy walking distance
One thing to be aware of,,the push bikes on the pavement..be very careful as they take no prisoners and could cause you some damage if you dont keep your wits about you..we nearly got hit quite a few times....when you are holiday you are relaxing and takin in the sights and do wander about.....but be very careful as the cyclists dont seem to have much consideration
So def recommend the faenza..but try and avoid the rooms over looking the street if you want to get any sleep..ear plugs dont make no difference !!
oh the za za restaurant in the merecato square os good !

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingfisher100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

This hotel was staffed with exceptionally friendly people. Their English is great, the hotel is decorated in the old world Italian style, the breakfast was superb and they even gave me four bandaids when I suffered from Tourist Foot. It's located right around the corner from the Termini, which was very convenient. It's also right down the cobbled road to an awesome Gellateria. My hubs and I got gellato there every night of our stay.

We recieved excellent recommendations of where to eat (look out for the automatic service charge) and quite enjoyed our stay in Florence. The rooms are a bit of a shock, as most American's are used to staying in sizable hotels. This one was very small, but we had the room with the narrow little balcony--quite nice. The bathrooms are nicely equipped, although our shower only came with half a door. I wasn't too sure about that, but it worked out well.

Overall, we really liked this little beauty.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#95 of 409 in Florence
590 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#82 of 409 in Florence
1,222 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#71 of 409 in Florence
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#63 of 409 in Florence
812 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#60 of 409 in Florence
889 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#102 of 409 in Florence
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Faenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Faenza

Address: Via Faenza 77n, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#77 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $76 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porta Faenza 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porta Faenza is situated in Via Faenza - one of the earliest medieval streets in Florence - near Porta Faenza, a gate in the fifteenth-century city walls. It was created in 1997 through the restoration and conversion of Palazzo Pegna, the old residence of a family of merchants, whose original structure has been kept intact. Porta Faenza was part of the city walls and was situated at the end of what is up till now called Via Faenza. It has been so called not for being placed towards the town in Emilia, but from the name of the Nuns from Faenza, who had their convent in the neighbourhood once. Between 1534 and 1537 Porta Faenza was joined to the Fortezza da Basso without being demolished: by watching attentively you can still distinguish its squared profile in the central bastion towards the city or its arch from the inside of the fortress. The Hotel will make you savour the warm atmosphere of the old-time Florentine houses: the tile floor, the exposed beams, the old tools scattered everywhere, together with all the comforts will make it your ideal home in the old Florence. The Hotel Porta Faenza is centrally located, very close to the main railway station (Santa Maria Novella), to Palazzo dei Congressi (the Conference Centre) and to the Fortezza da Basso. The most interesting monuments and museums in Florence are within easy walking distance. For being situated in a pedestrian precinct, the Hotel is a quiet and pleasant place, the ideal point of departure for you to discover Florence and its artistic and cultural life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Porta Faenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Faenza Florence
Porta Faenza Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing