We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family of four could not have been more pleased.”
Review of Porta Faenza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Porta Faenza
Ranked #74 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Our family of four could not have been more pleased.”
Reviewed June 6, 2009

My family of four, including two older teenagers, stayed at Porta Faenza for three nights in May. We could not have been more pleased.

First, the location is excellent. The hotel is close to the train station, but not too close, if you know what I mean. It is less than a 10 minute walk with luggage, but located on a relatively quiet and safe street (I agree that there can be some street noise at night, but we did not find it horrible.) The hotel felt safe and secure and it had a great “old world feel” to it.

As an aside, one of the great things about Florence is that it is small enough that you can walk almost everywhere (assuming you are in decent physical shape). We did not take a bus or taxi at all during our three day stay.

We had a three-bed, quad-room that faced the street. The room was spacious and clean. A safe and daily room service were provided. Also, my wife says she can judge the quality of a hotel by its bathroom towels. If that is true, then Porta Faenza would be a five star hotel (which obviously it isn’t quite). Needless to say…great towels.

The hotel was air conditioned (our hotel in Rome was not). They provided a computer with internet access in the lobby for free. The staff was friendly and helpful (they made museum reservations for us in advance at no charge). The breakfast buffet was about as good as a continental breakfast can get – delicious warm croissants, great coffee, free cappuccino, and a large variety of cold breakfast foods.

There are several very nice little restaurants very close to the hotel that the staff recommended. We took their advice and ate at Enzo e Piero and Antichi Cancelli. Both were small, family-run trattorias with excellent food, service, and atmosphere. We also ate at a Rick Steves’ recommended restaurant, Trattoria ZaZa, and found it a little too “touristy” for our taste. If you get a chance, eat a lunch at one of the eateries inside the Mercato Centrale. It’s a fun experience and great casual food.

In summary, there are reasons why this hotel gets such good ratings on Trip Advisor. You can reserve a room here with confidence.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandHeidi392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    434
    78
    13
    7
See reviews for
190
505
37
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

we stayed here for 5 days and didnt get much sleep due to having rooms overlooking the street..it was terrible at night due to noisy drunks and groups returning to thier hotels..there are about 5 hotels ( that look a bit rough) and a hostel just above the faenza
If you get the other rooms you should be fine..the hotel is very clean staff on reception are very helpful and speak very good english.....rooms are spacious well furnished and very clean, breakfast is good
The location of the hotel is very good 2 min to station and 10 min walk to duomo ..most attractions are all within easy walking distance
One thing to be aware of,,the push bikes on the pavement..be very careful as they take no prisoners and could cause you some damage if you dont keep your wits about you..we nearly got hit quite a few times....when you are holiday you are relaxing and takin in the sights and do wander about.....but be very careful as the cyclists dont seem to have much consideration
So def recommend the faenza..but try and avoid the rooms over looking the street if you want to get any sleep..ear plugs dont make no difference !!
oh the za za restaurant in the merecato square os good !

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingfisher100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

This hotel was staffed with exceptionally friendly people. Their English is great, the hotel is decorated in the old world Italian style, the breakfast was superb and they even gave me four bandaids when I suffered from Tourist Foot. It's located right around the corner from the Termini, which was very convenient. It's also right down the cobbled road to an awesome Gellateria. My hubs and I got gellato there every night of our stay.

We recieved excellent recommendations of where to eat (look out for the automatic service charge) and quite enjoyed our stay in Florence. The rooms are a bit of a shock, as most American's are used to staying in sizable hotels. This one was very small, but we had the room with the narrow little balcony--quite nice. The bathrooms are nicely equipped, although our shower only came with half a door. I wasn't too sure about that, but it worked out well.

Overall, we really liked this little beauty.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2009

Stayed here for two nights, the location is excellence. Within easy walking distance of the train station (even with a big bag) and all the sights. The room was a tad small (we had an "Economy" room, which barely had enough room for two people to walk around) but the bathroom was bigger than expected. You can pay extra for larger rooms but we spent so little time in the room it wasn't too big an issue. But, if you like space, be sure to upgrade you room. Staff we great and very helpful. But really, the location is what sells this place, especially if you are traveling by train to/from Florence. A very nice breakfast is offered each morning (fruit, cereals, bread, yogurt, juices, coffee, etc.).

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianyembering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2009

Room and bathroom was large. People there were nice and helpful. Location was great. Only a few minutes walk to the train station and the duomo. The only downsides were the noise from the street outside (do NOT get a room with a window facing the street) and the weird shower. There was a swiveling glass partition along one wall on top of a tub. The wife and I couldn't figure out how to not get water all over the floor so we ended up taking showers together. Not as fun as it sounds, one person freezing holding the shower head for the other. Internet access was expensive too (like 10 bucks a day). But overall we had a good experience and would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromFLtoItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortafaenza, proprietario at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, May 18, 2009
we red your review and we were very happy to discover
that you spent a good time in our Hotel...
We noticed that you complained about the cost
for the internet service we provided,
but a fee for wireless and internet point sound
unusual to us, as our Hotel has always
offered this service for free!!! .
Please inform us if anyone asked you for a fee for the use of internet and we will take the consequent actions on his regards.
Thank you
we hope to see you again in our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Porta Faenza for 4 nights and really loved it. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. They replied quickly to my e-mails before we arrived and were very willing to book museum reservations for us. Our room was huge, particularly by European standards, and very comfortable (though the beds were a bit firmer than my liking). The breakfast room was cozy and the breakfast itself offered plenty of options. The location was great, especially if you are traveling by train. The hotel is on a very safe street with great restaurants; you will not feel like you are near the train station at all.

We would definitely stay there again, though we would probably ask for a room that did not face the street (the noise late at night and early in the morning was the only drawback). All in all, Hotel Porta Faenza was a terrific value in an amazing city.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

We booked our stay at Hotel Porta Faenza through Hotels.com at a very fair price. The Hotel was very easy to find, and since Via Faenza is wide enough (eventhough it looks narrow on google maps) You can get a cab to the entrance without a fuss. The Santa Maria Novella station is just around the corner, but there's none of the hussle and bussle here, Porta Faenza is located in the northern part of the old city center and casually walking to the Duomo takes no more than 4 minutes, and San Lorenzo can be reached in 2 minute! The neighbourhood surrounding the hotel has a few mini markets and late night shops and restaurants. Try one of the restaurants near the Medici Chapel at the back of San Lorenzo, they were all nice.

Porta Faenza might be a three star Hotel but the staff makes it one of the best I've ever stayed at, ever! The people behind the counter were all very friendly and helpful, if even come close to the reception they drop whatever they're doing and give you your full attention, asking about buses, trains, locations, opening hours, tickets, restaurants, taxis or whatever comes to mind was never a problem. Being able to use the internet in the quiet and peaceful lobby was an additional bonus, and at no charge. Priting out maps or additional info on their printer was also free, which was a nice addition since Florence in itself is quite expensive.


The breakfast was also to our liking, you get youghurt, a pick of different marmelades, butter, cheese, ham, rolls, croissants, a small choice of cakes, grapefruit and orange juice, milk, serial, fruit and so on and the breakfast staff will make you any coffee you'd like. Everything is clean and tastes great.

The hotel TV has about 20 channels, most of them make out the standard italian selection of channels, but for english speaking guests there is CNN and BBC World, the Hotel does not have an Internal pay per View channel, so there's no risk being chrarged for anything like that. For german speaking guests there's the channel 2DF.
The room also has a safe for valuables. But I wouldn't be too worried about using it, the Hotel feels very safe and the cleaning staff were as friendly as can be. They really did a great job cleaning the rooms each day and the place was spotless everytime we returned from a hard day of sightseeing. They even mopped the floors on a daily basis.

The standard double rooms are very spacious with comfortable beds a 20 inch tv, phone, a desk and a mini-bar/fridge. The fridge contains soft drinks, assorted juices, beer, red and white wine, chocolate and snacks. Our room faced a garden to the back of the Hotel which was very nice, no noice what so ever from traffic or other. Our bathroom had a tub, a bidé and a hair dryer, everything was very clean.

We never heard any noice from any of our neighbours so the walls are quite thick. Also there are smoke detectors, a spacious elevator and wide stairs.

Oh and btw, if you have a late flight on your last day they have a luggage room on the first floor where you can store your bags free of charge.


Thanks again to the friendly staff of Porta Faenza, I'd reccomend this Hotel to anyone visiting Florence, so be sure to book in advance!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingNormands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#88 of 422 in Florence
888 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#55 of 422 in Florence
484 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#57 of 422 in Florence
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#64 of 422 in Florence
572 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#84 of 422 in Florence
1,083 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 422 in Florence
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Faenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Faenza

Property: Porta Faenza
Address: Via Faenza 77n, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#77 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porta Faenza 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porta Faenza is situated in Via Faenza - one of the earliest medieval streets in Florence - near Porta Faenza, a gate in the fifteenth-century city walls. It was created in 1997 through the restoration and conversion of Palazzo Pegna, the old residence of a family of merchants, whose original structure has been kept intact. Porta Faenza was part of the city walls and was situated at the end of what is up till now called Via Faenza. It has been so called not for being placed towards the town in Emilia, but from the name of the Nuns from Faenza, who had their convent in the neighbourhood once. Between 1534 and 1537 Porta Faenza was joined to the Fortezza da Basso without being demolished: by watching attentively you can still distinguish its squared profile in the central bastion towards the city or its arch from the inside of the fortress. The Hotel will make you savour the warm atmosphere of the old-time Florentine houses: the tile floor, the exposed beams, the old tools scattered everywhere, together with all the comforts will make it your ideal home in the old Florence. The Hotel Porta Faenza is centrally located, very close to the main railway station (Santa Maria Novella), to Palazzo dei Congressi (the Conference Centre) and to the Fortezza da Basso. The most interesting monuments and museums in Florence are within easy walking distance. For being situated in a pedestrian precinct, the Hotel is a quiet and pleasant place, the ideal point of departure for you to discover Florence and its artistic and cultural life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Porta Faenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Faenza Florence
Porta Faenza Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing