We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy with the hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porta Faenza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Porta Faenza
Ranked #75 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Very happy with the hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Its difficult to find much wrong with this hotel. It has clean, nice and good size rooms and bathroom. Staff was helpful. Checking in early was no problem when we arrived. The location was very quiet and close to all the interesting things in Florence and very easy to find from the railway/busstation. The breakfast was good, and the wifi worked fine too.
It is no a luxury hotel so don't expect luxury standard, but for the prize we paid, $130 a night for two people including breakfast I think it's difficult to find much better in Florence.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndersEunice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Direttore at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear AndersEun,

Thank you a lot for your comment. We always try to make your stay as pleasant as possible for our customers!
We expect you back at our hotel!

Kind Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    430
    77
    13
    7
See reviews for
186
498
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Tren istasyonuna çok yakın ancak biz arabayla gittiğimiz için çok yakınında ki kardeş otel otoparkını kullandık (25mt).Çift kişilik oda gayet büyük, banyo yarı kapalı ama temiz.Yatak kalitesi çok iyi denemez ama o kadar merkezi ki buna değer.Kahvaltı gayet normal (İtalya için). Duomo'ya 10 dk da yürüyerek gidebilirsiniz. Biz hiç araç kullanmadık.Personel çok yardımcı, önerdikleri restoranlar harika çıktı.Otopark için günlük 15 euro ödedik.//The train station is very close, but we went by car because we very near to the sister hotel parking we used the (25mt). Double Room quite big, the bathroom half-closed but clean.Bed quality is very good not try, but it is so central that it değer.kahvalt perfectly normal (Italy only). You can walk to the Duomo in 10 minutes. We kullanmadık.personel no tools help a lot, they suggest great restaurants çıktı.otopark have paid 15 euro for the day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erkan Ç
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Direttore at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Erkan,

Thank you for your contribution! We are at your disposal the next time you decide to stay in Florence!

Kind Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Cons: extra firm bed (but that seems to be the norm in Italian hotels), wi-fi could be a bit spotty (but it is free, and the connectivity problems seems to resolve in a short time)

Pros: Everything else: location, staff, breakfast, quiet, huge bathroom, beautiful decor.

We truly enjoyed my time at the Hotel Porta Faenza. This hotel was a highlight of our trip. It set a high standard that some of the other places we stayed around Italy could not compete with. I originally booked this hotel because of its proximity to the conference center. It was a two minute walk to the entrance.

After a very long day of traveling and several mishaps with air travel, I ended up taking a train from Milan to Florence (this was not my original travel plans, but I needed to arrive for a meeting). Luckily, the hotel was only a short walk from the train station. I was greeted at the front desk by a very helpful lady who handed me a map to show me where my meeting would be held. Exhausted I took the elevator to my room. I open the door and was greeted immediately by two extras I did not expect. #1 a huge bathroom with a separate tub and shower. #2 a private balcony. My husband joined me the next day, but his luggage did not. The hotel helped us get his luggage within a few hours of his arrival. Breakfast was delicious! I highly recommend this hotel if you are to stay in Florence. Florence is a very walkable city, we did not need to take further public transportation to get to what we wanted to see.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room, and they happily obliged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Direttore at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
thank you for sharing your experience. We will be very happy to see you again at Hotel Porta Faenza!
A warm greetings and thanks from our staff!

Kind Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Overall nice hotel where I had a wonderful stay. Positive points:
Nice welcoming and helpful personnel at the reception. Very nice double room with enough space and good bathroom.
Good breakfast with plenty of varieties.
Central location near to most of the historic sites and leather market.
Very near to the train station (3 minutes walk) from which I went to Pisa and Venice.
Nearly all buses have stops around the train station including SITA shuttle bus to the airport.
Good room rate especially that I booked 4 nights through Porta Faenza officiel site which was eligible for 15% discount.
Negative points (actually very few):
No view from my room.
Sometimes there is sewage smell, however I smelled this in many areas in Florence, so it seems that it is a general problem in the city not specific to the hotel, but I think that using air sensitizers by the hotel would be great to solve this problem

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank z_abouzeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Direttore at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. Your comment and your feedback about our services is very important for us.

A special thank you is sent by the staff!
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The location is perfect! Not too far from the train station and also close to centro. The rooms are maybe a little small but clean. The restroom in the room is very tiny. The bed isn't the most comfortable bed but it is bearable. The price for the room is very reasonable. I would recommend this place if your staying in Florence for only one night but not more than that. I probably would not return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Direttore at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear JustinCol,

Thank You for Your review!
The building that houses our hotel is very ancient, it was part of the city walls. It has beed completely renovated with all the modern comforts, but some rooms are not large like the modern constructions, depends from the type of room reserved.

We are at your disposal the next time you decide to stay in Florence!

Best Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I stayed here with my daughter in July 2013. It was near the best market in Florence, not far from the station (ok to pull wheeled cases) and within easy walking distance of all the best sights in Florence. The staff are very helpful, arranging to return forgotten clothes to me by courier. The rooms are small but decorated in an appropriate style for the city. The breakfast was abundant and tasty. We felt it was very good value for money too, compared with other hotels in less popular cities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear RosieBath,

thank you for sharing your experience. We will be very happy to see you again at Hotel Porta Faenza!

A warm greetings and thanks from our staff!

Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel had a good location right near the train station. We took the train from Pisa airport and it was really easy to find the hotel from the central station.

The rooms are large and clean, if a little dated in decor. The bed was a little bit hard, but this did not bother us too much, breakfast was ok, standard continental fare.

The great selling point for the hotel is its location and value for money. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Ruthii,

Thank you for your kind words. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel!!
We really hope to see you again in Florence!!

Best Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#45 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#79 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#85 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#51 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#73 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Faenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Faenza

Property: Porta Faenza
Address: Via Faenza 77n, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#77 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porta Faenza 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porta Faenza is situated in Via Faenza - one of the earliest medieval streets in Florence - near Porta Faenza, a gate in the fifteenth-century city walls. It was created in 1997 through the restoration and conversion of Palazzo Pegna, the old residence of a family of merchants, whose original structure has been kept intact. Porta Faenza was part of the city walls and was situated at the end of what is up till now called Via Faenza. It has been so called not for being placed towards the town in Emilia, but from the name of the Nuns from Faenza, who had their convent in the neighbourhood once. Between 1534 and 1537 Porta Faenza was joined to the Fortezza da Basso without being demolished: by watching attentively you can still distinguish its squared profile in the central bastion towards the city or its arch from the inside of the fortress. The Hotel will make you savour the warm atmosphere of the old-time Florentine houses: the tile floor, the exposed beams, the old tools scattered everywhere, together with all the comforts will make it your ideal home in the old Florence. The Hotel Porta Faenza is centrally located, very close to the main railway station (Santa Maria Novella), to Palazzo dei Congressi (the Conference Centre) and to the Fortezza da Basso. The most interesting monuments and museums in Florence are within easy walking distance. For being situated in a pedestrian precinct, the Hotel is a quiet and pleasant place, the ideal point of departure for you to discover Florence and its artistic and cultural life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Porta Faenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Faenza Florence
Porta Faenza Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing