We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porta Faenza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Porta Faenza
Ranked #75 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent two nights here in September 2013. Our room was very spacious and clean, staff were helpful and the breakfast was ok - buffet style with a good choice. Location was perfect as we had come into the train station and could walk to the hotel in about 5 minutes. Duomo is also about a 5 minute walk and along the street there are a number of bars and restaurants - although the hotel is at a quiet end so no noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We’re so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We hope to have you back as our welcome guest.

Kind Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    430
    77
    13
    7
See reviews for
186
498
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just spent a week at the Porta Faenza and had a great time there and in Florence. The hotel is clean and comfortable with daily housekeeping, clean towels etc. It is ideally situated for most of the sights in Florence and the bus and train stations. Perfect if you come in from Pisa. We were warmly welcomed and the reception staff are friendly and accommodating. They will sort out any tours etc for you if you want. We took a very good full day trip to Pisa, San Giminiano and Sienna. Breakfast is very good with everything fresh and plentiful and the lady who runs the breakfast room is very helpful. There are some very good restaurants and bars in the area too, a lot of them not overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukeymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience!
For your next stay do not hesitate to contact us or visit our website to do not miss the special offers for your next stay with us.

Kind Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth NH
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent a night at the Porta Faenza, we needed to be near to the Santa Maria Novella rail station, We knew it was a three star hotel and we got exactly what we expected, a nice fairly small room, quiet and off the street with quite comfortable beds, a bathroom with all the necessities and very new fluffy towels, a rarity in less expensive Italian hotels. Pleasantly staffed, helpful front desk, good varied continental buffet breakfast and all in all if you have less than Euros200 a night to spend and want to be centrally located in this very expensive city, this is a good choice. We walked around the San Lorenzo market, viewed the Duomo by night, even more spectacular and had an excellent supper at Cafaggio on Via Guelfa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LimeyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We always try to make your stay as pleasant as possible for our customers! We expect you back at our hotel!

Best Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Porta Faenza Hotel is a three star value hotel. It is three stars – don’t expect more. The lobby staff is very friendly and the front desk is staffed 24 hours. The rooms are extremely small an a bit worn. They are, however, equipped with a small refrigerator, an in-room safe and a hair dryer. The included breakfast was a highlight – it was very good with a variety of selections.
The hotel is on a quiet street and convenient to the main train station – a five minute walk.

Room Tip: I would try to book the hotel directly on their own Web Site. My experience lately has been that ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonR_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Direttore at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your contribution! The building that houses our hotel is very ancient, It was part of the city walls and was situated at the end of what is up till now called Via Faenza. It has been so called not for being placed towards the town in Emilia, but from the name of the Nuns from Faenza, who had their convent in the neighbourhood once.
The hotel was created in 1997 through the restoration and conversion of Palazzo Pegna, the old residence of a family of merchants, whose original structure has been kept intact
The hotel has been completely renovated with all the modern comforts, but we have different type of rooms and some are smaller than the others.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Greeted with warm reception. Room was large with more than one double bed despite only booking a double room. Good sized bathroom with separate shower and bath. All clean on arrival and cleaned daily well. Room is next to lift but virtually no audible noise from it and despite facing the street, the double glazing is very effective. Street has number of good local restaurants if you don't want to stumble far for dinner. Excellent central location within easy walk of sights and only five minutes walk to station (without getting the usual station dregs hanging around). Very safe feel and mainly pedestrian street. Only downsides relate to breakfast. Good range of food and drinks for continental breakfast. Toaster not working for entire stay with no attempt to replace it (minor point but why keep putting it out if broken!?) And the lady at breakfast lets the service down a little with her less than enthusiastic service (contrary to the rest of the staff who were excellent). Overall very enjoyable comfortable stay, recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Direttore at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for appreciating our hospitality.
Your reviews help us to improve our services for a better customer satisfaction, which is the aim of our daily work.

Unfortunately, we had not the possibility to repair the oven immediately because in Italy, in August, most of the assistances are closed for vacation.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel is in a good, quiet location despite being a stone's throw from the station. The hotel and the rooms had a nice character. The facilities were good. Within easy access to everywhere in Florence.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhuttani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Bhuttani,

We are also happy that you have appreciated the room and all the amenities inside.
For your next stay do not hesitate to contact us or visit our website to do not miss the special offers for your next stay with us.

Kind Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lod, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

the hotel location is perfect. it's close to the rail station,restaurants and main attractions.
the room was big and the bed was extremely comfortable.

the staff was kind and helpful, they can book tickets and trips for you


very recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anwaretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Anwaretta,

thank you for sharing your experience. We will be very happy to see you again at Hotel Porta Faenza!
A warm greetings and thanks from our staff.

Best Regards
Hote Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#45 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#79 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#85 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#51 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#73 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Faenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Faenza

Property: Porta Faenza
Address: Via Faenza 77n, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#77 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porta Faenza 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porta Faenza is situated in Via Faenza - one of the earliest medieval streets in Florence - near Porta Faenza, a gate in the fifteenth-century city walls. It was created in 1997 through the restoration and conversion of Palazzo Pegna, the old residence of a family of merchants, whose original structure has been kept intact. Porta Faenza was part of the city walls and was situated at the end of what is up till now called Via Faenza. It has been so called not for being placed towards the town in Emilia, but from the name of the Nuns from Faenza, who had their convent in the neighbourhood once. Between 1534 and 1537 Porta Faenza was joined to the Fortezza da Basso without being demolished: by watching attentively you can still distinguish its squared profile in the central bastion towards the city or its arch from the inside of the fortress. The Hotel will make you savour the warm atmosphere of the old-time Florentine houses: the tile floor, the exposed beams, the old tools scattered everywhere, together with all the comforts will make it your ideal home in the old Florence. The Hotel Porta Faenza is centrally located, very close to the main railway station (Santa Maria Novella), to Palazzo dei Congressi (the Conference Centre) and to the Fortezza da Basso. The most interesting monuments and museums in Florence are within easy walking distance. For being situated in a pedestrian precinct, the Hotel is a quiet and pleasant place, the ideal point of departure for you to discover Florence and its artistic and cultural life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Porta Faenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Faenza Florence
Porta Faenza Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing