We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the heart of Florence!”
Review of Porta Faenza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porta Faenza
Ranked #73 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed six nights and had a fantastic stay.

Standard European accommodations with a good sized room and large (as compared to other European) bathroom.

Great breakfast includes cereal, toast, juice, yoghurt, cappuccino, fruit, etc.

A quick and easy walk to everything in the historic city center. Very close to the train station (only 250 meters).

Note that there is no power in your room when you are not there (system is energized by your room key). So charging of electronics like iPads etc. may be effected.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medicaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this hotel in October and enjoyed fantastic weather.
We arrived by train at Santa Maria Novella station the hotel is about 10 minute walk.
Nice large bedroom (i think it was room 311) and good size bathroom with bath and shower all very clean. Quiet and good for sleeping. We spent 3 days walking around Florence and found the location of the hotel excellent to see all the major sites. The breakfast sets you up nicely for the day with plenty of choice and fresh fruit.
Helpful staff on the desk . I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I traveled from Rome to Florence by train which was really convenient because the hotel is about 2 blocks from the train station. Even though it is close to the train station, it is not noisy. The location of the hotel is wonderful - one of the main streets is about a half a block South of the hotel. There are a lot of good restaurants and shops in the area and it's not right next to the really touristy sights so it is fairly quiet. It is within walking distance to all the main sights you will want to visit - even going over the river takes only about 20 minutes to get to. The staff here was so welcoming and wonderful - they allowed us to check-in early, made reservations at some of the museums we wanted to go to, and were committed to making you feel at home. The breakfast they offer is quite good and they offer a lot of options. The rooms have really high ceilings so they feel really big! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel Porta Faenza and it was terrific, but I’ve stayed there before so I wasn’t surprised. This small, family run hotel is in an historic palazzo, which has been recently modernized. The result is all the modern conveniences: modern baths, soundproof rooms, air conditioning, etc. in a building with beamed and painted ceilings, exposed brick and stained glass. My room was large, had a spacious bath, beamed ceiling, and like the rest of the hotel a nice mix of antiques and good quality contemporary furniture, plus free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV, minibar, etc.

The hotel is located only three blocks from the train station, but on a very quiet, cobblestoned street that seems more a courtyard and is within an easy walk of the historic city center, where most of the tourist sights are.

Breakfast, which is served in a sunny, cheerful room, has a good selection and everything is of very good quality…and breakfast is included.

But, the best part of this great hotel, is the staff…everyone from the owners down to the housekeepers are friendly, professional and accommodating, and the hotel is small enough, that they know you as a person, not just a room number. Not to single anyone out, but Beatrice and Francesca are especially helpful.

As, I said, I’ve stayed here before and I can't wait to return…this hotel is nicer than any four star hotel I’ve stayed in, in Italy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgeek33765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Walking distance to all the attractions of Florence city center. Nice staff, clean room with absolutely no cell phone reception or internet (as promised). Good breakfast. I would say all in all good value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilie0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Porta Faenza was a pleasant find, within easy walking distance of the SMN train station and all central attractions. The rooms were very clean, fresh and updated. Although air conditioning sparse in one of our rooms, the other room was cool and comfortable. We booked well in advance via their website and were very pleased with the communication and booking process.

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived in the morning and they were able to get us into our room quickly, before check-in. Breakfast buffet was ample but not special.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Double64Double
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 4 years ago, and loved it then. rooms are large, with huge ceilings and large (for Italy) bathrooms. I have recommended friends to this hotel with the same result. Wish I had remembered about the parking under the hotel, we parked at the train station and walked to the hotel. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kc_Greenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#94 of 409 in Florence
591 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#81 of 409 in Florence
1,223 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#70 of 409 in Florence
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#63 of 409 in Florence
812 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#59 of 409 in Florence
889 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#103 of 409 in Florence
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Faenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Faenza

Address: Via Faenza 77n, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#77 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $77 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porta Faenza 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porta Faenza is situated in Via Faenza - one of the earliest medieval streets in Florence - near Porta Faenza, a gate in the fifteenth-century city walls. It was created in 1997 through the restoration and conversion of Palazzo Pegna, the old residence of a family of merchants, whose original structure has been kept intact. Porta Faenza was part of the city walls and was situated at the end of what is up till now called Via Faenza. It has been so called not for being placed towards the town in Emilia, but from the name of the Nuns from Faenza, who had their convent in the neighbourhood once. Between 1534 and 1537 Porta Faenza was joined to the Fortezza da Basso without being demolished: by watching attentively you can still distinguish its squared profile in the central bastion towards the city or its arch from the inside of the fortress. The Hotel will make you savour the warm atmosphere of the old-time Florentine houses: the tile floor, the exposed beams, the old tools scattered everywhere, together with all the comforts will make it your ideal home in the old Florence. The Hotel Porta Faenza is centrally located, very close to the main railway station (Santa Maria Novella), to Palazzo dei Congressi (the Conference Centre) and to the Fortezza da Basso. The most interesting monuments and museums in Florence are within easy walking distance. For being situated in a pedestrian precinct, the Hotel is a quiet and pleasant place, the ideal point of departure for you to discover Florence and its artistic and cultural life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Porta Faenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Faenza Florence
Porta Faenza Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing