We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location with good rooms for a family of four”
Review of Porta Faenza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Porta Faenza
Ranked #70 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel location is very convenient to the train station. Beware that Google Maps doesn't give the correct location for the hotel address and it sent us the wrong way on Via Forenza from Via Nazionale. The room was nice and big and worked well for our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 teens). It was reasonably comfortable and quiet. The only comment on the room was that the bathroom was an unusual layout and pretty cramped -- but it did offer separate shower and tub facilities. We had a mixed experience with the front desk staff -- the person on duty when we checked in wasn't overly friendly and was not at all helpful when we asked for recommendations for a quick, late lunch. We later found an awesome little cafe on the corner of Via Faenza and Via Nazionale that we highly recommend. Other than this first experience, the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. In general, a good value and recommendation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,037)
There are newer reviews for Porta Faenza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

Within walking distance of all the sights, as well as the railway station, this is a well-run, friendly and comfortable hotel. Our room was spotless and a decent size. Breakfast was adequate and we had free wifi everywhere, including the room. A major bonus was that our four night package included free mini bar which we took maximum advantage of!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TTD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We arrived on Saturday by train and the hotel is on walking distance from the station. The room was quiet big and offers good quality for money. On Sunday the main attractions were closed. Beatrice from the reception desk was so kind to make reservations for Uffizi and galleria del accadia (not so easy because of the long telephonic queues) on Monday, so we were still able to visit and we extended our stay for one more day. Really a good hotel to recommend, also because of the location, friendly staff and cleanness of the room.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerardAms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is walking distance to main attractions, the market and train station. Our room was spacious and clean. I has good wifi connection. The breakfast area is spacious and always has enough room for guests. Food is good, with a decent selection of juices, coffee and tea. Desk staff are always busy, but will entertain your questions. Watch out for the elevator, it doesn't have a sensor. Once you've pushed the button, it will close regardless of anyone catching up to get in. Overall, I think this hotel is very good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malamya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel is lottery jackpot for traveller. 200m from railwaystation. Nice big room with wellcoming gift (chianti fiasco). Good value for my euroes. Aivan loistava hotelli aivan ytimessä. Siisti ja isot huoneet. Vain satakaksikymppiä hotelspistekomin kautta. Tunnelmaa nosti tervetuliaisputeli chiantia ja rouvalle suklaata :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alarmologi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Porta Faenza matches what is presented on the web site and the Tripadvisor reviews. It is quite near the Santa Maria Novella railroad station (just a short three-block roller-bag walk) and a ten-block walk to the main sights near the river. The room was large with high ceilings and a well appointed bathroom. The breakfast was adequate, with a free computer terminal nearby to check the morning's email There is an excellent trattoria just a few steps away. We were there on business and found the Hotel Porta Faenza a comfortable and affordable place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at Porta Faenza in July 2012, and I can't say enough about how great the stay was! The entire hotel has a wonderfully rustic feel with significantly more character than any of the other hotels we stayed at during our entire tour of Italy (in total, we stayed at 6 different hotels). The room was very large with a comfortable bed and a HUGE bathroom - and as an added bonus, we booked a room with a free minibar, which is completely worth it as it is very well-stocked with lots of little Italian nips, beers, sodas, waters, and some snacks. The breakfast buffet had a great selection: yogurt, cereal, cheese, meat, breads, juices. The only negative thing I can possibly say about Porta Faenza is that their coffee is terrible (by "terrible", I mean it tastes like Folgers and not the Italian cappuccino/espresso that we were spoiled on). Also, Porta Faenza is quite close to the train station, the Duomo, and most of the attractions that you will not want to miss on your stay in Florence.

Of note, the front desk crew is very hospitable and nice. Upon our arrival, we realized that our European plugs did not fit properly into the sockets, so we half-heartedly asked the front desk, thinking they wouldn't have anything to offer - but the manager rooted around in his drawers until he found us one!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who needed a place to stay in Florence. I wish we had been able to spend more time here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chelsea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#61 of 411 in Florence
501 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#53 of 411 in Florence
799 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#81 of 411 in Florence
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#73 of 411 in Florence
593 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#84 of 411 in Florence
1,179 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#97 of 411 in Florence
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Faenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Faenza

Address: Via Faenza 77n, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#77 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $90 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porta Faenza 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porta Faenza is situated in Via Faenza - one of the earliest medieval streets in Florence - near Porta Faenza, a gate in the fifteenth-century city walls. It was created in 1997 through the restoration and conversion of Palazzo Pegna, the old residence of a family of merchants, whose original structure has been kept intact. Porta Faenza was part of the city walls and was situated at the end of what is up till now called Via Faenza. It has been so called not for being placed towards the town in Emilia, but from the name of the Nuns from Faenza, who had their convent in the neighbourhood once. Between 1534 and 1537 Porta Faenza was joined to the Fortezza da Basso without being demolished: by watching attentively you can still distinguish its squared profile in the central bastion towards the city or its arch from the inside of the fortress. The Hotel will make you savour the warm atmosphere of the old-time Florentine houses: the tile floor, the exposed beams, the old tools scattered everywhere, together with all the comforts will make it your ideal home in the old Florence. The Hotel Porta Faenza is centrally located, very close to the main railway station (Santa Maria Novella), to Palazzo dei Congressi (the Conference Centre) and to the Fortezza da Basso. The most interesting monuments and museums in Florence are within easy walking distance. For being situated in a pedestrian precinct, the Hotel is a quiet and pleasant place, the ideal point of departure for you to discover Florence and its artistic and cultural life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porta Faenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Faenza Florence
Porta Faenza Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing