We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porta Faenza
Ranked #69 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed in Porta Faenza in August 2011 for our honeymoon for a week, and then after a week in Rome, again for two days before we left. My husband saw great reivews and booked it through expedia. From the online booking all the way to the checkout, the experience was excellent. We have recommended it to others seveal times since then. This was our first trip to Italy and we didn't speak Italian, so we were nervous. The concierges were extraordinarily helpful. Every question we asked (and we had lots of them) they answered and beyond. We got great dining suggestions from them and they helped us with some tricky train, taxi and flight arrangements. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The only thing we will do different next time is make sure we ask for a room with a full tub. Our first room had one, but when we came back for those last two nights, we had a room with a small corner stand up shower. My husband is large so he could barely move in there. Breakfast was served every morning and there was a great spread of meats and cheeses and breads and yogurts and more! The eating area was large enough to be social and meet others if we wanted, yet had quiet corners where we could be more private honeymooners. We reeeeally like starting each day this way, included in the stay. We walked everywhere from here...just a few blocks to the train station and to one of the major markets. Yet the street of the hotel is quiet, clean, and safe. A great restuarant was just a few doors down. We loved the shop on the corner same side as the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, ask for a double bed. If you are large, ask for a full size tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. The beds were very comfortable. The room was very clean and the decor of the hotel is inviting. It was a little difficult to find walking from the train station...the address numbers in Italy don't seem to have any rhyme or reason. We chose to have breakfast as well and the choices were very tasty and the ambiance in the breakfast room is very pleasant. The location of the hotel is a great starting place for site seeing and walking the city central. It seemed like everything was between a 5-20 minute walk. I hope we can stay there again!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank AML67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

we thank you so much for your kind review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza ***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We have visited Florence twice and stayed at the Porta Faenza both times and both times we have been SO pleased. When traveling with family it is wonderful to have a room to accommodate 4 people in one very spacious room. The rooms are clean, quiet and charming. Our room had a small outdoor patio with a table and chairs that we enjoyed on both visits. It is conveniently located in Florence, if arriving by train, yet away from the noise and crowds of the train station. The staff is so gracious, friendly and helpful. The breakfast is included and is very generous with their offerings, especially for a continental breakfast. The look of the hotel is quaint, with rustic Italian accents throughout the hotel, while being fully up to date on its appointments. The only small downside is the less than consistent wi-fi, but when on a true vacation, it's nice to shut the computer down and enjoy! But I was still able to log in and touch base with friends and family online as needed. There are a couple really good restaurants on Via Faenza just down from the hotel which is an added plus. And the location is perfect to meet up with day tours and also to walk into the heart of Florence. I, along with my entire family, highly recommend the Porta Faenza and if returning to Florence would most definitely return to the Porta Faenza!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmhwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear Sirs,

we thank you for choosing again our hotel for your stay in Florence.
We were very happy to accommodate you and it is a pleasure to know that you really enjoy your stay.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza ***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Very nice hotel, great for family, close to everything and great breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Daer Guest,

We thank you so much for leaving your review and we really hope to have you again as our host in the future.

Best Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza ***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

If you don't expect a luxury hotel it is a very nice hotel. Big rooms, close to the center(duomo 10 minutes, ufizi 20 minutes, national gallery 10 minutes, train station 3 minutes on foot), nice breakfast, friendly people.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turistce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed at the Porta Faenza one night only, on a business trip.

Things I very much appreciated:
- location, just a 5 minute walk from the train station, and less than 10 minutes from the historical center
- area surrounding the hotel is full of restaurants (some with excellent TA reviews) which I very much appreciated as I arrived late in the afternoon and had to arrange a last minute business dinner close to the hotel
- free wireless in every room (for real, not the usual advertised 'free wireless' which only works in the lobby, on leap years, if you are standing on one hand, and on full moons only).
- my room was spacious and functional, loved the hardwood floors, so much cleaner than carpeting.
- staff was helpful and very courteous.

I don't have anything really negative to say about the Hotel, but I would not give it a 5 star review for the following reasons:
I found the overall price a bit high for such a small and plain establishment.
I found the hotel itself very plain and although perfect for a quick business trip, I would look for something more characteristic if I were to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The location is central and very near to the Train station, tour buses, hop-on hop off. 10 minutes walk.

Very nice hotel, off the main road.

Thought i am here only for 1 night, still like to recommend this hotel, for the location, free Breakfast and Internet. Value for money.

Room Tip: Book early. Small hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChooMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#91 of 410 in Florence
593 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#79 of 410 in Florence
1,248 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#72 of 410 in Florence
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#63 of 410 in Florence
515 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#62 of 410 in Florence
815 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#101 of 410 in Florence
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Faenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Faenza

Address: Via Faenza 77n, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#77 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $74 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porta Faenza 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porta Faenza is situated in Via Faenza - one of the earliest medieval streets in Florence - near Porta Faenza, a gate in the fifteenth-century city walls. It was created in 1997 through the restoration and conversion of Palazzo Pegna, the old residence of a family of merchants, whose original structure has been kept intact. Porta Faenza was part of the city walls and was situated at the end of what is up till now called Via Faenza. It has been so called not for being placed towards the town in Emilia, but from the name of the Nuns from Faenza, who had their convent in the neighbourhood once. Between 1534 and 1537 Porta Faenza was joined to the Fortezza da Basso without being demolished: by watching attentively you can still distinguish its squared profile in the central bastion towards the city or its arch from the inside of the fortress. The Hotel will make you savour the warm atmosphere of the old-time Florentine houses: the tile floor, the exposed beams, the old tools scattered everywhere, together with all the comforts will make it your ideal home in the old Florence. The Hotel Porta Faenza is centrally located, very close to the main railway station (Santa Maria Novella), to Palazzo dei Congressi (the Conference Centre) and to the Fortezza da Basso. The most interesting monuments and museums in Florence are within easy walking distance. For being situated in a pedestrian precinct, the Hotel is a quiet and pleasant place, the ideal point of departure for you to discover Florence and its artistic and cultural life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Porta Faenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Faenza Florence
Porta Faenza Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing