We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location with great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Azalee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Azalee
Ranked #339 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Convenient location with great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

We stayed at Villa Azalee during our two-day visit to Florence. The hotel is conveniently located at 10-minute walk from Santa Maria Novella train station. While many parts of this walk are now affected by the tram construction, it is still easily walkable.
The service in the hotel was great: excellent English-speaking personnel, nice and clean room and breakfast included. The room is actually large for European standards.
My wife loved the garden, with plenty of flowers all over it. The hotel is actually a country house built in the XIX century, so most of the furniture is (or looks) old as well (as most things in Florence), including the rooms. Thus, don't expect to find a fashion or trendy place.
All in all, a nice stay. When I return to Florence, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ucanonico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    33
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
4
32
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

The Hotel is close enough to the railway station and coaches arriving from Pisa airport, so if you don't mind a 10 minute walk on a level road it should prove very convenient. There are ongoing roadworks close by but these do not really bother you unless perhaps you're arriving by car, although there is also a small car lay by right opposite.

The staff has been really helpful and go out of their way to accommodate you, indeed they even provided us with a very early full breakfast on our request to allow us an early departure on one of the tours.

The atmosphere is nice and friendly with glimpses of their fine little garden where one can opt to have one's breakfast on a nice day.

On the down side, it is slightly too long a walk to the centre e.g. Uffizzii (abt 1.8km) but I suppose most people wouldn't mind a little hike on their holiday, especially if the weather is nice.

Altogether,a good choice for the price and I would n't think twice about going to the Azalee again.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MFLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ouderkerk aan de amstel
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

a very nice and close to the centre hotel. The staff is always friendly and very willing to help you and make your stay a fest. The rooms are large and clean. Of course you should give other hotels a try but we stayed there for the second following year. And if we go to Florence we surely will stay at hotel Azelee again if they are not fully booked as many other people surely will go to them after these complimentious reviews. It absolutely is a nice and comfortable hotel and you really should book there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2009

When you pass the main enterance the hotel,the time and methalic city life are changing.
Room and gardenery 2 store building looks like a village house in the country side.
You can feel that the time also return back to 30 years ago.
Altough the location is mid of the center.
We realy like the style and ambiance.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haldun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2009

We picked this hotel partly because it was close to the train station--not a bad walking wheeling suitcases. However, the road on one side of our room was a bus stop and the front of the hotel faces a major roadway through the city. It was quite noisy. Three flights of stairs were fine for us, but not for elderly or disabled. The same with the tub/shower. Tub wouldn't drain at first and the bathroom had an odor. Staff fixed it the next day and the odor went away for second day but was back on the third.
Breakfast served in small area downstairs was very good. Staff pleasant and amenable. But we wouldn't go back or recommend because of the noise outside. Maybe other room locations would be better.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapidolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaazalee, Direzione at Hotel Villa Azalee, responded to this review, May 10, 2009
Dear Mr./Mrs,

thank you for your review.

we are so sorry that you had a noisy room. The bus stop was moved from the original point on the begining of the street Via Della Scala to the back side of our Hotel temporary because of the works of the new Tram line in Florence.

As far as for the problem of the odor in the bathroom, is resolved now . we are sorry for the disadvantage .

we really care to offer the best service, and to give our guests the maximum of the confort and make them feel home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2009

We stayed at the hotel villa azalee at the beginning of February for my husbands birthday. The staff of the hotel was very friendly, always greeting us with a smile. the room was big and clean decorated in a romantic tuscan style.
The location is good about 6-7mins walk from the central train station. Into the city centre we walked about 15mins.
Only draw back is the big street uotside the hotel, but Florence is a buissy city. The hotel has double glacing so once the windows are shut you can't hear the traffic at all.
We were in contact with the hotel before we arrived, as I was worried arrivig late would bea problem. I got an answer straight away and it wasn't an issue(24 hour reception).
We were on the second floor of the hotel, which is fine for us, as we are a young couple. Just make sure when you book to tell them if you have problems climbing stairs, so that they can accomodate you on the first or ground floor.
The hotel and our stay was superb and we can't wait to get back there. Thank you Villa Azalee!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2009

nice hotel, authentic rooms ajusted to these times, ofcourse. Nice stay, very friendly and helpfull personnel.

  • Liked — personnel
  • Disliked — busses passing by
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankAarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
AC Hotel Firenze
#165 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#248 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Hotel Leopolda
#262 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Bella Firenze
Hotel Bella Firenze
#126 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Luxor Florence
Hotel Luxor Florence
#98 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Ariele Hotel
Ariele Hotel
#303 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Azalee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Azalee

Property: Hotel Villa Azalee
Address: Viale Fratelli Rosselli 44, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Azalee 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Azalee is situated in the historical centre of Florence, 200 metres from the central station Santa Maria Novella, 500 metres from Congress Palace, near the City Theater and about 200 metres from Stazione Leopolda a congress and exhibition centre. Hotel Villa Azalee belongs to Mrs Brizzi and her family, from Florence, since over a century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Azalee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azalee Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing