We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique place, lovely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torre Guelfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Ranked #61 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique place, lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Best location, steps from Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizzi. Totally unique property with a spectacular tower and bar. The room was older and not fancy, and the bathroom was miniscule, but I didn't care. Only problem was the air conditioning. It was not hot when we were there, but the street nearby was so noisy that we would have liked to close the window and run the AC. The hotel mgmt at first couldn't find "the remote" for the AC (i.e. they have only one for the entire hotel? we didn't understand this). So basically we had to keep the window open and deal with the noise.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moreita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorreGuelfaHotel, Front Office Manager at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear Moreita,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review here on Tripadvisor!
We really appreciate your kind words about the hotel and the service.
The hotel is located in a pedestrian street with no traffic, in a very quiet part of town. When you asked for the A/C, the hotel staff just had to bring you the remote to your room, because each room has the possibility to control its own temperature. During summertime, when it gets hotter, the A/C remotes are available immediately in every room.
We look forward to welcoming you back again to Torre Guelfa soon!
Kind regards
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    247
    64
    18
    14
See reviews for
176
347
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is a wonderful old hotel very near the Ponte Vecchio. I had stayed here on a tour a couple of years ago and remembered it fondly...so when I decided to return to Florence, I decided to revisit this gem. I was not disappointed! The rooms are old and charming, but with modern comforts. We were on the 2nd floor in a room with one bed and a lovely sitting room. The bed was comfortable, and the room was spotlessly clean. The hotel staff is friendly and welcoming and they speak excellent English (which was a plus for me!). The breakfast is delicious and has a good variety of options. One thing which sets this place apart for me is the rooftop bar. It is the highest privately owned spot in the city and the views from up there are amazing! We spent an evening enjoying the view with a glass of wine and it was so lovely and relaxing after a day of walking and sightseeing. I don't know if my travels will ever take me back to Florence, but if they do, I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballardgal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorreGuelfaHotel, Front Office Manager at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear Ballardga,
Thank you so much for your kind review: we really thank you for taking the time to share your warm words about our hotel here on Tripadvisor!
It's so important for us to get this kind of feedback from our guests, and looking after our guests really makes us proud.
We look forward to seeing you again soon at Torre Guelfa!
Niccolò T.
and all the staff of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Overall I was happy with my stay at the Torre Guelfa.
The view from the rooftop deck was amazing and the location was perfect. The staff were very professional, but too formal for me, I prefer a bit more of a "homey" feel and more personality. The room was small and dark with a small zig-zag shaped bathroom, and the lighting was horrible throughout. Other people I was traveling with had rooms that were much larger and brighter at the same price, so that was really frustrating. I understand that hotels in old buildings have these "quirks", I just wish the more quirky rooms came with a price break! But having said that I would stay there again, mostly because the location was so perfect, but I may be a bit more assertive about which room I am in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BallardGirlForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorreGuelfaHotel, Responsabile reception at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear BallardGirl21,
Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you enjoyed the location and the amazing views from the rooftop terrace. We are sorry you could not enjoy the room; all the rooms of the building are different from each other, and you may have reported this matter to the reception staff: we always care the satisfation of our guests, and we would have been happy to change your room!
We look forward to seeing you back soon to Torre Guelfa, and we trust you will really enjoy your stay again!
Best regards
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a quick 2 night stopover from Venice To Rome and had the room with the absolutely fantastic terrace. After a day of touring and tasting 3 wonderful Brunello wineries (with Silvio), this is the perfect place to relax afterwards. Excellent location to numerous low and high end restaurants as well. The breakfast is also top notch.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorreGuelfaHotel, Responsabile reception at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Fredrik G,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Torre Guelfa on Tripadvisor!
It’s so important for us to get these kind of positive feedback from our guests.
We look forward to seeing you again at Torre Guelfa!
Kind regards
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights recently - very helpful staff at arrival letting us check in early. Had a lovely clean room, loads of space and great air con. Breakfast wasn't amazing but it was fine - enough to get you fuelled up in the morning to go out and enjoy the wonderful food florence has to offer. In fact the hotel is flanked by a lovely wine bar that does food, and a restaurant that has a wood burning oven with amazing steaks and pizzas. Both well worth a visit.
The tower in the hotel is also very nice, lovely place to spend the evening having an aperitif.
Overall very happy with our stay, and will certainly consider if we return to Florence some day.
*Special mention for the staff here, all were extremely pleasant and helpful from check in to check out.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorbals32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorreGuelfaHotel, Front Office Manager at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear Gorbals32,
We really thank you for sharing your review here on Tripadvisor and we are happy to understand you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon to Florence and we'd love to see you back again at the Torre!
Kind regards
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We picked this hotel, in hopes of steering away from a big hotel chain feel - and we got exactly what we were looking for! From the moment we walked in the door, we felt 'at home'. The rooms are a good size with comfortable beds. I understand not all the rooms are the same, but the room I had was very comfortable. We enjoyed the rooftop tower, where you can enjoy a 360° view of the beautiful city while also enjoying a glass of wine. The location is excellent and is within walking distance of most of the city's attractions and several local restaurants. My only complaint is it can be somewhat noisy late at night and early in the morning which was not ideal after a long flight. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a great place to stay in Florence!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSTITZ85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorreGuelfaHotel, Responsabile reception at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear SSTITZ85,
Thank you for your kind review ! It’s really nice to understand you enjoyed the feeling of a small, family run hotel, as well as the feeling of staying in a medieval Palazzo. That’s exactly our aim: not just to sell rooms, but emotions and experiences.
We hope to see you back soon in Florence here at Torre Guelfa!
Kind regards
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halethorpe, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

This Medieval Hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to just about everything. You DO NOT need a car in Florence. The rooms are spacious, with very comfortable beds, large private bathrooms and nicely decorated. There is an elevator up to the 3rd floor. The BEST part of this Hotel is the TOWER. The climb to the top is only 80+ steps vs. 400+ steps up the Duomo or the Bell Tower. Just before you reach the top, there is a convenient bar with many choices of beverages and food. If you want to see a panoramic view of Florence with the most beautiful sun-sets, this is THE PLACE. The service was excellent and the breakfasts there were hardy and delicious. Of course, the coffee was great, but that's true everywhere in Italy.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 101 and it was very spacious. No view from the room, but as I said, the Tower view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosebudV71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorreGuelfaHotel, Front Office Manager at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear RosebudV71,
Thank you for your wonderful review and the amazing pictures taken from our panoramic tower! We really appreciate your warm words about our service and our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon to Torre Guelfa!
Kind regards
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#71 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Hotel Degli Orafi
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Guelfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Guelfa Hotel

Property: Torre Guelfa Hotel
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Florence
#75 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#83 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Torre Guelfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safety box Minibar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Torre Guelfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Guelfa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing