We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A view to remember...”
Review of Torre Guelfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Ranked #88 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

A step in Florence and your heart understands that life is a gift. There is nothing as being in Florence and if you stay in a place that goes in the same flow, as the city does, it is a treat. This hotel is a jewel and has all the potential to be the best of all. Nevertheless, they just stop polishing it. Then again, the service is excellent, you want to kiss them all. The rooms are big and comfortable with the scent of ancient. Good installations and the best of all is that you have a sky view in your own hotel. It was winter but told us that in summer the bar works in the night. I certainly will come back to this unpolished jewel, just to see the city from any angle.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adriochoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 804 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

The location of Hotel Torre Guelfa is perfect. All historical places are walking distance and the view from the tower is amazing. The building is fascinating, the staff friendly and helpful. We arrived by car and had some problems to find the place. The GPS insisted saying that we had reached our destination but no trace of the hotel. We phoned the reception and they kindly asked the staff from the garage to reach us. A guy drove our car through small roads and dropped us off at the hotel. The garage provides the service to collect and return your car to the hotel for 26 Euros/day. Since the hotel is in a traffic restricted area the garage takes note of the plate number of the car to avoid a fine.
We booked a room for three people and stayed two nights. We did not like the room. It was dark and dusty and it definitively needed a fresh paint. The bathroom was small with old fixture and a disgusting smell coming from the pipes. I read from other reviews that each room is different; I hope therefore that other rooms are better than the one we got.
WiFi is free in all areas, but sometime it did not work. Breakfast is just ok.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank egenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at Torre Guelfa hotel for 2 nights at January, and were very pleased.
The hotel is located in a central location, near all fashion stores, great location for those who love shopping.
The staff were gracious! They were always available, kind fully helped us and answered all our questions. We were able to print our train tickets and leave our luggage for a few hours after the check out.
The rooms was nice and clean, though there wasn’t enough light. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maayan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The best thing about this property is the tower bar. Service there was friendly and appropriate. Good meeting place for guests of the hotel. Rooms were nicely furnished, comfortable and the location was terrific. Walked everywhere! Saw some more attractive hotels but not one with such a great view as the tower provided.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank byyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great charm in rooms. Good shower. Excellent view from tower.
Great location.

Standard but plentiful Italian breakfast. (3 hr window 0730-1040)

But found bed to be very hard (even compared to typical Italian hotels)
Room temperature varied greatly - would become uncomfortably warm then heat would shut off to cool down. We opened the window to get fresh air from heat but got Mosquitos as well. So between the bed, heat, and Mosquitos we did not enjoy sleeping here as much as other hotels/b&b throughout Italy.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Samastarr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorreGuelfaHotel, Direttore at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Samastarr1,
Thank you for submitting your review about your stay. We appreciate you enjoyed the charm of the building and the view from the tower. We regret you did not sleep as comfortably as you expected, maybe because Italian mattresses are usually a little bit harder(?!) .
The heating is centralized and we did not have any complaint about temperatures, as they change during the different times according to the outside weather.
We found a bit puzzling you saying that the hotel is “standard, nothing special”. A 13Th Century Palazzo protected by the Fine Arts of Florence: can it really be “standard”??
Regards
Barbara De Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We didn't stay in this hotel (although it looks lovely), but have to say the tower bar blew our minds! The drinks were very reasonably priced, and were served with a little snack by a very sweet staff member. What fantastic 360 degree views of beautiful Firenze! A must try if you are staying here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorreGuelfaHotel, Responsabile reception at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Andrea H,
We thank you so much for your kind review! We like to think the Tower Bar offers not only the great view and the drinks, but also an unforgettable experience of a true florentine feeling.
We look forward for you to completing this experience staying here with us during your next trip to Florence!
Kind regards
Niccolò T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This hotel is rite in the center of the city and only a block from the river and the Ponte Veccio. The staff here are friendly and helpful. The view from the tower is amazing. The breakfast was very good too. I would absolutely stay here again. This is a perfect place to stay if you plan on walking to all of the sites. The walk is easy and convenient. We purchased jewelry from a couple little shops away from the Ponte Veccio and found the prices are a lot better the further you get away but the shops on the bridge are beautiful and a must see. The gold and silver custom jewelry is amazing there put pricy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjcwaterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#43 of 410 in Florence
459 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#184 of 410 in Florence
420 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#68 of 410 in Florence
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#40 of 410 in Florence
1,779 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,543 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#45 of 410 in Florence
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Guelfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Guelfa Hotel

Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Florence
#75 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#84 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $127 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Torre Guelfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safety box Minibar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Torre Guelfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Guelfa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing