We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The tower views make it special”
Review of Torre Guelfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Ranked #77 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The tower views make it special”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you're visiting Florence in the high season a central location is vital; this hotel is 5 minutes from the Uffizi and the Ponte Vecchio. While it is on a quieter side street away from the tourist hordes, there are plenty of restaurants and gelaterias round about. The highlight is definitely the roof-top terrace which has amazing views over the city and really made our stay. In the evening drinks are served up there by a very helpful lady who is happy to point out all of the landmarks around the city. The room was comfortable and spacious but the breakfast room was a little cramped - early birds get the good seats and the food is good whenever you turn up! Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    261
    67
    18
    16
See reviews for
187
363
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is a 2 minute walk from Ponte Vecchio on and 10 minutes from the Cathedral and other major attractions. The tower they have serves drinks from 6:30 to 10:30 and it is worth it to enjoy a glass of wine there - the view is amazing and it is an experience you should not miss on. The breakfast room is small but it is quite enjoyable. The staff was very helpful and positive. The rooms are not very new or extraordinary but the location compensates for that.

Room Tip: Rooms 303 and 301 are on both side of the service room for the breakfast and they get really noisy i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We travel with our two teenage daughters and always try to find rooms that can comfortably accommodate the 4 of us. Torre Guelfa had a very nice Junior suite at a good price that was spacious enough for 4. The rooftop bar is fantastic. Breakfast is also nice, good selection at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

In short, The Torre Guelfa hotel is a stones throw from the Ponte Vecchio and within a short walk of a lot of great restaurants and attractions. Our room (204) was a two room suite and very spacious and quiet. Beds were comfy. Not too much in the view department but that's what the tower roof bar is for. Go there for spectacular sunsets and sunrises, views of the Doumo and Palazzo Vecchio and grab a drink too.

Luigi was the most knowledgable front desk guy we ran into at the hotel and so sweet as well. He was the second highlight of our stay there.

The shower stall was -tight- and we ended up taking standing baths in the bathtub instead.

Skip the breakfast and find a cafe outside. (Although, Florence isn't really a breakfast kind of town anyway.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoreview, mn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My sister and our two adult daughters stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and could not have been more pleased. Our room was very spacious, the location was central to everything and we thoroughly enjoyed the rooftop at night with a glass of wine. The views from up there are wonderful. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This is the best sunset in Florence! We could not stay in the room. Dark, smelly and in disrepair. We moved to the St. Regis. Cough up the cash and stay somewhere else, but don't miss the sunset cocktails here--that part is amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank captroynsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed four nights and found the hotel to be perfect for our needs. The staff is excellent. They went out of their way to meet all our needs and make our stay wonderful, which they did. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was good. The location of the hotel allowed us to be close to all the sites but could easily retreat to our hotel for a rest. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#40 of 422 in Florence
1,729 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#47 of 422 in Florence
434 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#68 of 422 in Florence
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#161 of 422 in Florence
405 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,465 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#45 of 422 in Florence
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Guelfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Guelfa Hotel

Property: Torre Guelfa Hotel
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Florence
#75 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#84 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Torre Guelfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safety box Minibar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Torre Guelfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Guelfa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing