We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great and evocation location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Torre Guelfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Ranked #56 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great and evocation location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel is very near the famous Ponte Vecchio, at the centre of Florence: you can visit it by foot. Go to the terrace at the last floor to see Florence. The breakfast is good. The room is large and nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaBeatrice77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    222
    55
    17
    13
See reviews for
159
311
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

positive location and positive quality/price balanced value.
of course it's difficult to arrive and to park, so older people are not advantaged. but it's fantastic to stay ih the heart of the city. the view from the (small) terracce is fantastic even if only after so many steps...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Fabio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you are the person who favors an impersonal hotel that comes with a king-sized bed, a giant bathroom and looks the same in Florence, Italy as Florence, Alabama, don't stay at Hotel Torre Guelfa. However, if you like the idea of staying in a 13th century tower, with a clean room, a comfortable bed, hospitable staff and being within walking distance of all the major Florence sites for a reasonable price, then THIS IS THE PLACE! We just returned from enjoying Hotel Torre Guelfa rooms 302 and 305 for 8 days. As mentioned in other reviews, three generations of us each found something unique to appreciate - breakfast right across the hall from the bedroom, a large living room in which to lounge and plan the next day, free wifi in select areas, outstanding views from the rooftop. The bar opens at the end of the month, but for now you can take your own beverages up and enjoy the view.

Room keys are attached to large brass rings, which you'll want to return to the desk when leaving. Some light sleepers may hear the church bells. I consider myself to be one of those, and heard them as late as 1 a.m. and as early as 6 a.m., but they weren't so loud as to awake me from a deep sleep...and added to the charm of being in Florence.

The staff was incredibly professional and made customer service a priority. Sandro made a great dinner recommendation for us at Trebbia on our first rainy night. He also reserved our tickets for the Uffuizi, helped us pronounce a few simple Italian phrases, and never seemed to tire of our repeated questions. On our last day, Barbara offered to call our driver and reschedule the departure time. When the company didn't phone back within 5 minutes, she suggested we continue our day and she would phone my cell with an update. True to her word, she changed the time for us and phoned with the updated information.

Would we stay here again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fran c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked the room with the terrace and were very happy. We had a glass of wine on the terrace every afternoon, and enjoyed the tower views where we enjoyed the sunsets. The location was fantastic, and the staff were very helpful and accommodating. We had a little trouble driving to the hotel - we followed the directions posted on the hotel website and just missed the last turn towards the hotel -oops. Would recommend not driving into the hotel if you are a nervous driver, but it was fine once we got there and well worth the trip. I don't think I'd stay anywhere else in Firenze.

Room Tip: Terrace room is worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This outstanding hotel is in a wonderful location around the corner from the Ponte Vecchio and within walking distance of everything in Florence. We drank wine on the roof top overlooking the Arno and watched the glorious sunsets !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TransformedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We really loved this hotel. Although it was cold outside the hotel was warm and staff were really friendly and helpful. The rooms are lovely and the common parts splendid. The tower itself has fantastic views across the city. Great breakfasts in a lovely loggia area on the third floor. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PTLondonSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have traveled to Florence several times, and I think the location of this hotel is just about perfect. Florence is so charming and so walkable and so full of wonderful sights and adventures, it's easy to get overwhelmed with options. Torre Guelfa is perfectly situated to explore Oltrarno, the Ponte Vecchio, the Uffizi, Palazzo Strozzi and so much more. Our room faced the interior courtyard and was perfectly quiet, nicely decorated and very comfortable. The view from the tower is everything everyone else has described. It is absolutely breathtaking. The common area with wifi was a perfect spot to relax and unwind before or after a long day of sightseeing. We will definitely return to Florence and Torre Guelfa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelVolumes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#78 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#32 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,600 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#46 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#170 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
#53 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Guelfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Guelfa Hotel

Property: Torre Guelfa Hotel
Address: Borgo SS Apostoli 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Florence
#76 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#84 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Torre Guelfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safety box Minibar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Torre Guelfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Guelfa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing