We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, room needed new carpet, great staff!”
Review of Torre Guelfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Ranked #98 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful and you could not ask for a better location. The carpet in our room appeared to be really old. We stayed in the lowest level room right by the kitchen and breakfast area on the 3rd floor (so go to bed early because the dishes are loud!) However, for the price it was fine. This is very close to the Duomo.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nikkibKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 814 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

4.6 out of 5 stars

An overall fantastic stay! We hope to come back some day. The location of this hotel for sightseeing is absolutely perfect.  Walking distance to everything you want to see.  About 3 blocks from the Ponte Vecchio (and Arno River), 5 min to the Uffizi and Palazzo Vecchio, 5-10 min to the Duomo, and the farthest major attraction is the Academia (David) 15-20 min.  The main train station is a 15 min walk away with luggage.  Neighborhood is charming, very safe, and very well-lit at night. 

The room we had (one of the less expensive ones) was older, but large and comfortable enough. 

One of the best parts of the hotel is the Tower (which is what Torre means).  It is the tallest privately-owned tower in the old part of Florence, and offers a panoramic view of the city, including the Duomo and Palazzo Vecchio.  I recommend climbing the tower in the morning and before sunset to check out the view.  It was a huge perk of the hotel.  The Tower Bar is open from 5-9pm, and they serve drinks with pretzels/peanuts.  It gets busy before sunset, so get there very early (at least 45-60 min before sunset) if you want a table at the very top area with the panoramic view.  It's a wonderful way to unwind at the end of a day in Firenze!

The staff was very friendly and helpful.  Their restaurant recommendations were ok, so I would cross-check with TripAdvisor.  The only confusion we had was when we asked for advice on how to get to/from San Gimignano, and while they were very helpful, we were given the Siena Mobilita schedule, which was very incomplete.  The best thing to do is to stop by the SITA bus station in advance and pick up a schedule from the ticket office.  (Note: The SITA station is tricky to find, but is almost next to the main train station.  If you are facing the station, it is on the left side, two streets away.  They are not in sight of each other.  It is on the northeast side of Via Della Scala, between Piazza Della Stazione & Via degli zorti Oricellari.

Breakfast was fine.  Internet is only available in the lovely common space on the 3rd floor. (The walls were too thick to get reception on the 1st floor).

All in all, given the location, tower, and staff friendliness, we were very satisfied with our stay at Hotel Torre Guelfa. ($170 USD/night, booked thru Expedia, for a 3 night stay in late Oct 2012.)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celloflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel (a 13th century building) is less than a 5 minute walk from the Ponte Vecchio, the Uffizi Gallery, the Piazza Signoria, and wonderful shopping--a major plus! The tower overlooking the entire city is an additional luxury--a spritz (or two) on the patio, sunset pictures, lighted buildings, wonderful memories! Room 310 is a large room with 2 twins and a double--handy to the breakfast room, the lounge, and the tower stairs..yes, the bathroom was miniscule--but is that really important when you're in the middle of medieval Firenze? The staff was very friendly and capable, the room was clean, and the breakfast was included in the hotel rate and was adequate--you don't need more, especially if you're looking for a nice restaurant for lunch! (if you don't like it, feel free to get a cappuccino and brioche on the street). If you're traveling by car, it may take you awhile to get to the hotel--the directions given are good ones, but Florence recently changed the directions on all of their streets--which does cause confusion if you have an older map! If you can find the Ponte Vecchio, the hotel is one street from it..use it as your reference point! Once you unload at the hotel, your car is whisked away for 26 euros per day until you need it...a garage used by the hotel..If you arrive by train, take a taxi to the hotel--it's about a 15-20 min. walk from the train station. I would definitely stay here again, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in Florence!

Room Tip: Room 310 is right next to lounge, stairs to tower, breakfast room--small bathroom, but are you plann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy171717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Florence is fantastic but the Torre Guelfa was not so much. This was our third stop in Italy and I guess we were spoiled by our first two hotels. Our room was on the 3rd floor with two large beds but the smallest bathroom immaginable! It was without a spot to place you soap, shampoo, etc which was frustrating and after we complained it was fixed. The breakfast was average and I could not believe they would serve canned fruit salad! They did have good pasteries selection but I didn't want to have that every day. We could hear them set up breakfast from our room which was slightly annoying. We could however get the wifi in the room as we were just off the main large rooms so we felt that was a plus. THe staff overall were friendly and helpfull and the location was the main thing for me- you could walk to most of everything and that was the best part. If I were to return I would stay here again as my husband said the location is topnotch! You will not go wrong staying here but I didn't love it as much as I thought I would.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalme53654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Had a wonderful three night stay in September. The hotel offered everything we needed, and was central to all of the major sights. Breakfast was delicious, with plenty of options, and the coffee was the best we encountered on our 10 day trip.

Being terrified of heights, I was unsure about the tower. The climb up was manageable, with plenty of space to "hug the wall", and the view was definitely worth putting any fears aside. We went up once in the evening, and again one morning and got some incredible photos!

Our room was huge, which is rare in Europe, and offered everything we needed. It was quiet, and the beds were comfortable too. Having access to free WiFi in the lounge area was great, and we never had any issues connecting.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Florence, and hope to be able to go back myself someday. Thank you for helping us create a lasting positive memory of our trip!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crgbvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at the Torre Guelfa in for 3 nights in September and paid extra for a slightly better room. This turned out to be 2 rooms, not just 1 as expected, on the 2nd floor. The hotel is ideally situated for the centre of florence and all the main attractions, being just a stone's throw from the Ponte Vecchio and the Piazza della Signoria.

The good - a hotel full of character, lovely helpful staff, spacious comfortable room, pretty breakfast room with good buffet, large elegant lounge and great views from the little terrace at the top of the tower. Wifi in the public areas;

Not so good - there was a bit of street noise at night - but you are in central Florence; the climb to the top of the tower is not for everyone - its 70+ steps; door handles (yes really) I don't have arthritic hands but I needed both hands (or my husband) to open the doors. The handles are small, stiff and ridiculous.

We enjoyed our stay - in short, its a good spot and an excellent choice if you want something with a bit of character rather than a modern hotel. If returning we would book the 3rd floor - the lower you are, the darker the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsyjaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in the middle of August. Location is very good. We were supposed to stay 2 nights, but stayed only 1. First of all our room. I truly don't know that we just got their worst room, because the pictures looked nice when we looked it up, but It was rundown, dirty. Terrible bathroom. Looked like we got the handicapped room, because of the tap on the bathroom sink. Terrible noise came from the street, even late night. We did not get much sleep, but thought that the breakfast can make things a bit better. Well...that was the worst part. Poor selection, no vegetables no eggs, apple was the whole selection of fruits. Cheap juice. Although the breakfast room looked really nice. It was a big disappointment. They were absolutely impolite at the front desk when we told them we want to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Kazimir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#186 of 409 in Florence
425 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#76 of 409 in Florence
625 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#52 of 409 in Florence
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#40 of 409 in Florence
1,789 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 409 in Florence
3,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Guelfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Guelfa Hotel

Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Florence
#75 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#84 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $84 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Torre Guelfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safety box Minibar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Torre Guelfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Guelfa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing