We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems far out but good tram links, great place to stay”
Review of Villa Il Mosaico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Il Mosaico
Ranked #35 of 310 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Seems far out but good tram links, great place to stay”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I was surprised how nice this was. The reception went out of their way to book is tickets for the Ufuzzi museum and the aperitifs night in the academia museum. The place is clean, rooms are nice and it is only a few mind from the tram line.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro G, Direttore at Villa Il Mosaico, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your impressions.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you again.

With my warmest regards,

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    45
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
78
78
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Having arrived at Villa ll Mosaico after travelling from Northern Ireland we were looking forward to our stay. When we attempted to check in we found that we had made a mistake with our dates. Our dates should have been for September, but somehow, I had booked October, my mistake, and unfortunately the villa was full for the dates we should have booked. Monica, Jacobo (I hope this is the correct spelling) and their father, who run the villa, were absolutely terrific and spent the next 1 & 1/2 hours phoning round Florence looking for and negotiating rates on our behalf for alternative accommodation, this they did at their own expense and after hours. We cannot thank them enough and I am sure they would have been perfect hosts had we got to stay with them. The villa which we were invited to look around was beautiful and should we return to Florence in the future, would very much like to stay there. Great people, extremely helpful and beautiful accommodation.
Nigel J

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NigelJ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo D, Direttore at Villa Il Mosaico, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear ( almost ;) guests,

experience is the name we give to our mistakes..( Oscar Wilde).

Hence, I really hope soon we'll have the pleasure of you experiencing for real our hospitality here.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Alessandro Grossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for just under a week in august and it was fabulous.
Alessandro was very helpful on arrival sharing local knowledge etc.
The apartment was very nice, clean, tastefully furnished and very big.
Just a few minutes to the tram and the another 10mins on the tram and you are bang in the middle of florence.
Just wished the wifi worked better, travelling with kids who like their gadgets it was a bit frustrating for them. But they really loved the space.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro G, Direttore at Villa Il Mosaico, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest,

many thanks for having chosen us and futhermore for taking the time to write this review.

i've taken duly note of the wifi issue and will get it fixed for the next time you'll visit us.

Thanks again,

Alessandro Grossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a beautiful apartment with a livingroom and one bedroom. The rooms are big, really clean and the apartment also has a fully equiped kitchenette. The staff is very friendly and will help you with anything you need.

You can park your car on the street in front of the hotel. On sundays it's free.

You can take the tram to the city. It's only 4 stops. Or you can walk. It's about 20 minutes.

The only thing was the Wifi connection. It didn't work half the time we were there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro G, Direttore at Villa Il Mosaico, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much!

It has been a pleasure having your lovely family here, now you know your way around and so I hope you will drop by again by us.

Kindest regards,

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in July and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Alessandro, the Manager, was very welcoming and helpful with good local tips about where to shop and eat. Apartment was really big and spotlessly clean. We appreciated the free laundry facilities as we had been cycling for a few days before we arrived. The air conditioning was fantastic as it was hot in Florence. It was lovely to escape the crowds of the town centre, catch a tram from the main station and be in our little oasis in about 15-20 minutes. We will definitely recommend and thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro G, Direttore at Villa Il Mosaico, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much!

It has been a pleasure having you here and I look forward to your next visit,

so we'll talk some more ;)

With my warmest regards,

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

It is the perfect place to stay.
Confortable rooms, huges ones. A terrace and a beautiful garden. Laundry facilities . And Allesandro kind and helpfull at every time.
We are happy of enjoying our days In floren e In villa il mosaico.
Ideal to stay with family and kids also friends and couples


  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro G, Direttore at Villa Il Mosaico, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for writing this review and for having been more than just guests here.

I feel like i had some friends visiting, rather than clients and this gave me a lot of satisfaction.

I really hope to see you again, somewhere!

With my warmest and more sincere regards,

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in June at Villa Il Mosaico in the Klimt Apartment and really enjoyed our stay. We liked the fact that the villa is located slightly out of the city centre but yet is well connected to the city centre by a short trip on the local bus or Tramvia. We did not spend much time in the villa as we had a very packed itinerary but it was very relaxing to return to our spacious apartment at the end of day and enjoy a glass of wine on the terrace (although do watch out for the mosquitoes!) and take in the quiet surroundings.

Alessandro the manager is very warm and friendly and gave us some lovely recommendations for lunch/dinner around the neighbourhood. We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay here again the next time we return to Florence.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank koalaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro G, Direttore at Villa Il Mosaico, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write your impressions.

yes, i would have liked o see more of you during your stay, but sure there will be another ( I hope soon) chance!

With my warmest regards,

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Alex
#227 of 412 in Florence
254 reviews
PopArtment
#19 of 310 in Florence
148 reviews
Florence Comfort B&B
#102 of 651 in Florence
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Farina Apartments
#27 of 310 in Florence
237 reviews
L'Aranceto Guest House
#36 of 310 in Florence
103 reviews
Santa Croce
Florence View Apartments
Florence View Apartments
#31 of 310 in Florence
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Il Mosaico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Il Mosaico

Property: Villa Il Mosaico
Address: 15 R Via di Monticelli 9, 50143, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 310 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Il Mosaico 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new private apartments residence is an ideal home to live Florence either for leisure or a business stay.The restauration of this ancient building respecting its original architecture, offers today deluxe suitescomposed of kitchen and sitting-room, bedroom,bathroom. The location is close to the neighborhood of San Frediano, and only a few minutes by tramway or bus from the historical city center7suites, 3superior double-rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Il Mosaico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing