We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Villa”
Review of Villa Il Mosaico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Il Mosaico
Ranked #33 of 315 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We only had a 4 day break at the Villa il Mosaico, booked at the last minute, and was a bit concerned that we were not based in the City - it wasn't a problem at all, trams ran regularly and it was only 3/4 stops into the centre, it was a 5/7 minute walk from the villa but again, not a problem!
The Villa was lovely, the staff made us so welcome and couldn't have been more helpful both before we went and while we were there. We didn't have an apartment that looked out onto the courtyard but did take a look and would think in the summer it would be a lovely place to sit - as we were there to see Florence in October it didn't matter but know what to do next time!! All the comments about this Villa are true, it's a beautiful building and our apartment was very spacious (2 bed). The nice thing about an apartment is that after walking the city for many hours it's so nice to get back with a couple of bottles of wine and relax, much nicer than a hotel. Our only moan as far as we were all concerned was no easy means of making a cup of tea, boiling water in a great big saucepan is awkward - supplying a kettle would be great.
We had a lovely time in Florence, wonderful City and well worth a visit. We flew into Pisa as the air fare was so much cheaper, you buy tickets in the airport and the train is a few steps outside, so simple.
We would have no hesitation in recommending Villa il Mosaico and hopefully will return soon.

Room Tip: Try and get an apartment with access onto the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 219 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for three nights, perfect mix of location and amenities. The room was amazing, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. It's a little way outside the old city but very close to the new tram line which takes you right into the middle of Florence in ten mins. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our first trip to Florence, travelling from the UK. Before we travelled, the staff were very helpful and responsive to email requests for suggested travel arrangements from Pisa Airport, even giving suggested coach and train departure times. We took the Terravision coach from just outside the Airport to the front of the railway station in Florence, and the local tram from the tram stop located at the side of the railway station. The tram rails actually continue for a few hundred yards almost to the front of the railway station to an area with mutiple bus stops, but the tram stop itself is at the side of the railway station, complete with ticket machine which accepts notes and coins, and gave change. We had advised Villa Il Mosaico of our expected late arrival time (23:00) on a Saturday evening, and Monica was there (the office and Reception would not usually be manned at that time) with a welcome pack and key, and showed us around our apartment. The map of Florence was particularly useful, since it covered the street plan out to the area of Villa Il Mosaico, and not just the central area.
Our apartment (No 7) was on three levels with the lounge area, dining area and kitchen area all part of one room, and a very well fitted out bathroom with shower and hairdryer also on this level. An open plan staircase led to an upstairs mezannine floor which was our bedroom, and a open spiral staircase led down to a downstairs bedroom. I think the settee could also be used as a bed, and so theoretically I believe the apartment could sleep six, but there were only the two of us. The overall set up was very pleasant, retaining the old windows and shutters, but with a modern conversion feel to the place as well. It was also very quiet at night. Note that there are no doors between the various levels in this apartment if you were planning a stay as a group.
We did not have direct access from this apartment to the central courtyard/garden area, nor to a balcony overlooking it, but many apartments do. It was no problem to use the side gate into the garden/courtyard and sit there to write a few post cards, read a book or use the free wifi (as you could in the apartment itself).
The location is slightly out of town (4 tram stops), but this works really well. We usually walked both ways to destinations in the city centre, often stopping at a bakery for a quick expresso, but sometimes took the tram. We thought we would end up eating in Florence and then perhaps getting a tram back to Villa Il Mosaico, and this would certainly be possible, but we actually ended up eating locally and mainly with locals. There is "Salvatore" Pizzeria virtually next door (recommended) and we also strayed a five minute walk down Via Pisana, to no. 165, "Acasamia" (highly recommended). Both cover Italian cooking to serve a local population, not the tourists like ourselves, and do it very well.
We had a great time in this beautiful city and would seriously think of returning to Villa Il Mosaico.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol190764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is the first time I have ever written a review on a hotel. As fussy customers, my husband and I were absolutely delighted with our choice. Our room was stunning!!! (ask for room number 9!!). The converted villa is only 6 months old and the decor was done at a high standard. The room is like a New York loft style apartment with a duplex of two extra beds, sitting room, eating area, a fab bathroom and a kitchen. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The room directly came off from a beautiful courtyard which had funky 'Phillipe Stark' style furniture (which is not in the pictures). The staff couldn't have been more welcoming. Villa ii Mosaico is only a few stops away on the tram (a two min walk from the villa) from the tourist part. This is probably why the stunning rooms are so reasonably priced and the trams go every 2 minutes - it was sooo easy to get into the centre of Florence. I highly recommend this place and they really do deserve to do well. By the way, there are a couple of great cafe's with yummy pastries and good coffee at the end of their road and the villa looks better in real life in comparison to the pictures!!!

Room Tip: Room number 9 !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at "Villa Il Mosaico". The villa itself is a great building tastefully decorated with many traditional features and state-of-art facilities. The apartment was brand new very clean and very well furnished. Our room was very special -high ceilings and beautiful floor-to-ceiling double doors leading to a charming little terrace, a very pleasant surprise!
The bed, a wonderful four-poster, was so fluffy and comfortable. We loved having a private terrace were to relax at night while lying on the deckchairs. We also particularly liked the fact of having a private entrance with stairs taking to our own apartment and a fully equipped kitchenette where to cook our meals. It did give us the impression we were actually at home! We would definitely highly recommend this place to anybody, especially if you're looking for a romantic escape from the city hustle and want to be close to Florence historical Centre this is a place for you. The villa itself is a fine building tastefully decorated with many traditional features and state-of-art facilities. The staff was very friendly and helpful. *Excellent value, *Super location!! *We highly recommend Villa il Mosaico and will certainly stay there again in our next trip to beautiful Florence. FIVE STAR *****YOU WONT BE DISSAPOINTED!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stay here and you will not be disappointed. It is a beautiful villa and managed as a mix between self-catered apartment suites and hotel and it works very well. It is on the outskirts of the city centre and it is nice to leave the noise of the city behind when you return each evening.

It is a 10 euro taxi ride or a 1.20 euro tram ride from the train station. On arrival we were greeted by a very polite and helpful manager who gave us all the information we needed, together with a city map and free drinks and pastries in the suite. The villa, garden and apartments are exactly what you see on the website - unlike so many other hotels which show you photos of the best rooms and give you something else!

The nearby shops and bars are also very friendly and helpful and the tram stop is a 5 minute walkaway , and costs 1.20 euros for the 7 minute ride back into the city centre. We never waited more than 3 minutes for a tram. We walked a couple of times , which took us about 30 minutes.

Rooms were brand new, very elegantly furnished to a high standard.
This is a lovely place to stay and excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Director of Sales at Villa Il Mosaico, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review, and hopefully get it back as often as the customer villa il mosaico, where we have the joy of having its most beautiful in the world. Thanks again so much and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our family (2 adults & 2 children) stayed here for 3 nights during the middle of August 2012. We traveled here by car from Nice and had pre-booked the one secure parking space available (I think it was 18 euro a day), which is inside the villa compound. If you do travel here by car and are unable to book the solitary secure parking space, there appeared to be lots of public street parking available opposite the villa.

The residential area where the villa was located looked safe and very ordinary. We were struck by how unique the Villa il Mosaico looked amongst all the other ordinary apartments and commercial buildings. It was like another world once you were inside the villa compound/secure area. Being the middle of August, it was the fiera holiday period, when most local shops and restaurants shut down, so the area was very quiet. However, there were a few local places open, if you hunted around a little and the commercial centre of Florence was not too far away, where shops and restaurants stay open all year.

In my online booking form I had asked for the Klimt apartment and this is the apartment that we got (see the villa website for the pics). It was a beautiful apartment, with a four poster bed in the main bedroom and a quality comfortable sofa bed in the living room area. There was also a cleverly concealed American kitchen in the main living area. Basically, it was hidden in a wooden cabinet, but it contained everything you needed (hob, microwave, sink, fridge, cutlery, plates, etc.). On arrival, there were some gratis goodies in the fridge, such as water, soft drinks, beer, breakfast pastries, which were an appreciated welcome gesture by the villa management. There was also a flat screen TV in the bedroom.

The fixtures and fittings of this apartment were of a high standard, with some beautiful lampshades and soft furnishings. This was also true of the toilet/bidet/shower area, which had some unusual colour bathroom fixtures (black toilet/sink and bidet). However, like the rest of this apartment, the quality and finish was of a high standard. There is also a good Air Con system in the apartment, which is essential for any trip to Florence in the summer.

This apartment was complimented with an attractive balcony/terrace area, which bordered the much bigger public terrace area (separated by some tall plants for privacy).

Downstairs in the communal laundry room, there was a washing machine and an indoor clothes airer. There was also a pay coffee/hot chocolate machine, which charged 0.80 cents a cup.

To get to the historic centre of Florence, you could either walk (which took a pleasant 20 - 30 minutes) or you could take the tram. The modern tram service took you to the centre of Florence in about 10 minutes for only 1 Euro per person. It was only about 4 or 5 stops. This tram service ran until around 12am (maybe a little later).

Conclusion: We would not hesitate to stay at any of the apartments in this villa again. In fact, my wife and I plan to go back to Florence without our children for a weekend trip sometime in the future and will probably stay here. Although it is not in the centre of Florence, it is nice to get away from the hot, sweaty city to a much more relaxed place. Highly recommended, try it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soloman2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Director of Sales at Villa Il Mosaico, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear customers, I will thank you not get enough of you for your review and the time you have dedicated to us. your happiness fills us with joy
and it is a great satisfaction for us to understand that you will always be a beautiful memory for us. spreriamo see you soon and often and this time they will do all our best wishes. still many, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Florence View Apartments
Florence View Apartments
#31 of 315 in Florence
92 reviews
Duomo
Academy Hostel
Academy Hostel
#32 of 315 in Florence
383 reviews
Villa Lucrezia
#49 of 315 in Florence
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
River Suites
#41 of 315 in Florence
73 reviews
Residence Leopoldo
#46 of 315 in Florence
119 reviews
Villa Aruch
#26 of 315 in Florence
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Il Mosaico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Il Mosaico

Address: 15 R Via di Monticelli 9, 50143, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 315 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $63 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Il Mosaico 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new private apartments residence is an ideal home to live Florence either for leisure or a business stay.The restauration of this ancient building respecting its original architecture, offers today deluxe suitescomposed of kitchen and sitting-room, bedroom,bathroom. The location is close to the neighborhood of San Frediano, and only a few minutes by tramway or bus from the historical city center7suites, 3superior double-rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Il Mosaico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing