We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Betania
Ranked #89 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Betania for a week and thoroughly enjoyed. The staff were all friendly and very accommodating. The hotel is well maintained and set in beautiful grounds. The garden is a major plus and there was nothing better for us than to spend the day in Florence centre and retire back to the hotel early evening to relax and unwind, with a glass or two of wine! There is no restaurant on site but there is a pizza delivery service that you can use to order food if you would rather stay at the hotel during the evening and it is cheap. The breakfast offered by the Hotel is well worth 8euros and consists of fruit, yoghurt, rolls, cheeses, hams, coffee, etc. You can help yourself and is a great start to the day.
Our room was lovely and we had patio doors leading out to the garden. The bed was huge and very comfortable and everything was very clean. The shower was lovely and the hair dryer provided was also a plus. We also had a small fridge that was essential with us being there for the week. The air con also great.
The issue of the hotel location didn't bother myself or my partner at all, infact we thoroughly enjoyed our daily walk back and forth. The hill that links the hotel to the city centre was quite long but it didnt take more than about 20mins and it is a lovely walk. There is a taxi rank at the bottom of the hill if you cant face it and buses regularly pass the hotel into the centre of Florence.
We cannot wait to go back to the Hotel Villa Betania and would most definitely recommend it. Thanks for making our holiday ver special and memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 546 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a hotel just outside the city, in a residential area. As we were travelling by car it was a great place to stay with parking (parking is not free 5€/day). The hotel is inside a beautiful garden, very clean and quiet. The public transport is close to the hotel but do not forget that during weekends buses will be rare. Although some people commented that it is at walking distance from the city, for us 'it was not'. If you go to the city by car, it is a nightmare to find a parking. (Don't even try the parking slots reserved for residents; I did and paid 28€ fine). But I loved this hotel and will definetly stay again if I go again to Florence. By the way, we paid 8€ for the taxi from the city centre to the hotel, definetly less than city parkings. The only thing I didn't like is the attitude of some staff (namely breakfast lady and one of the night staff), they were not rude but they were not friendly as well. I can't comment on the breakfast, because as we didn't like her attitude we didn't have any breakfast at hotel, we enjoyed nearby local capuccino and cornetto.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahmet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

we picked Villa Betania and we were very impressed. Andrea greeted us when we arrived and was very helpful. he offered a dinner suggestions (Porta Osteria) and maps of the places to visit. he then escorted us to our room. the hotel was very close to the bus station (Bus #11) taking you just next to the Duomo. the Baboli gardens are just next to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Highly recommend staying in this small hotel. Very helpful staff, excellent location. No restaurant but more than happy to have us bring our own supper, provide glasses, ice etc and allow us to eat in the garden. Certainly will stay there again
Lynn Davies

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn6355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and felt it was a good choice. We arrived in Florence by train and caught the bus to the hotel. The stop is close to the hotel gates but there is then quite a walk to the hotel down a gravel drive, something to be aware of if you are using public transport. The hotel is lovely, clean and well maintained with lovely gardens. Weather permitting you can have your breakfast outside. Our room was on the first floor, there was no lift and the man on reception wasn't terribly helpful and didn't even offer to help with my case. He sounds like the American mentioned in another review and fortunately we didn't see him again. The other staff on reception were very helpful, booking tickets for museums and reserving restaurants. Breakfast was fine, coffee was average although you could pay for other types of coffee. Possibly the only negative and I think they should review this decision.

The walk down is fairly easy, more strenuous going back uphill but definitely takes longer than 20 minutes. We had a reservation at a restaurant and ended up being 10 minutes late even though we walked quite quickly. You could quite easily catch the bus back if you don't fancy the hill. As a place to stay in Florence, it was a perfect location for us - very quiet, well away from busy roads, but easy to reach the main sites.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lins45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my family recently.

The hotel was a bit tricky to find by car and can easily be missed being slightly hidden, tucked in the corner of a junction but it is well worth the effort.

The exterior of the hotel is lovely and in front of the hotel there is a lovely garden. It really makes you feel like you are in the countryside rather than a big bustling city.

The rooms were pleasant enough. Was quite happy with room and facilities.

The only thing I would say that was a bit disappointing was the breakfast. It costs 8 euros but is quite basic and I felt that there should have been more to eat and a larger variety of things to eat. I didn't really go away feeling I had eaten much for breakfast.

Apart from this, I thought the hotel was quite delightful and the location excellent, especially if you want to be near the centre but not so close that you will be stressed by all the traffic, people and hassle (and smell of sewage which was extremely pungent in the centre of Florence during our visit).
This hotel will make you feel more relaxed.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Craig g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Villa Betania. The hotel was great. It is a converted Villa with beautiful grounds. We walked to the sights of Florence. It is about 1/2 mile downhill along a beautiful street to the southern gate and roughly 1 mile to the center of town. The rooms are clean. Breakfast great. Angelo, the owner, and the rest of the staff were very helpful. A wonderful place to stay while visiting Florence!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Rosary Garden
#127 of 409 in Florence
440 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 409 in Florence
377 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#94 of 409 in Florence
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 409 in Florence
831 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#95 of 409 in Florence
590 reviews
Hotel Villa Liana
#103 of 409 in Florence
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Betania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Betania

Address: Viale del Poggio Imperiale 23, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $66 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Betania 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is nestled in its own lush park, removed from the noise and confusion.It's an ideal location for those who wish to find peace and relaxation in an elegant atmosphere.Hotel Villa Betania is a small hotel with 20 rooms under family management, with an international touch.Completely renovated in 2006, among other amenities, it features free parking and free Wireless Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Betania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing