We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Betania
Ranked #76 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Recife, PE
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor hotel”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for 3 nights during my honey moon trip. The hotel is well located if you are by car, but it charges parking, also the breakfast.

The room is not nice, and the cleaning is a shame, they didn't change the towels, especially the dirty ones that were left on the floor.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Luciano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager-villabetania, Owner at Hotel Villa Betania, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
I am really sorry that you had such a bad experience with us. You are right that if the towels are left on the floor they have to be changed! I think that cleaning is one of the most important issues concerning hotel rooms. As a matter a fact we normally get good reviews concerning the cleaning of the room. I therefore apologize and I hope I will avoid these mistakes in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    224
    34
    13
    2
See reviews for
112
304
4
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Really nice large room. Nice quiet location. Villa atmosphere. Good breakfast. It's a good 30 minute walk into central Florence, and on the way back it is up hill, but most people would be glad to be out of the tourist chaos in central Florence, and there is a convenient bus if you don't fancy the walk. I felt this hotel was reasonable value for Florence, a place with plenty of fairly terrible hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked Villa Betania a bit randomly, mostly because, on top of having good reviews, it was easily accessible from the highway and we did not want to waste too much time trying to find our way in Florence (be warned: loads of one way roads!).
Well, we're very pleased we did.
Whilst being within a mere 20min walk of Ponte Vecchio, the villa's grounds offer both a beautiful setting and the quietness you will appreciate when getting back to your hotel room after a long day/night out.
We liked the fact that the room's interior design had some personality. Very elegant, not the usual run-of-the-mill hotel room. In case you need a reminder you are not in a hotel, but a villa, just look up at the high ceiling in your room.
Breakfast in the garden at the back was a very pleasant way to start the day.
We were able to leave our car in the villa's small car park after checking out (a definite plus) and picked it up at the end of our day in Florence.
The only negative point (though it's minor) is the fact that one has to pay extra to connect to the internet. Nowadays, many hotels offer Wi-Fi access for free and we have grown used to that being the norm.
However, we would definitely return to Villa Betania if we ever go back to Florence.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCz_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our 2nd time at Villa Betania and I must say - Best Bed and Best Shower during our entire 14 days in Italy. I love this place because it's off the beaten path, beautifully appointed and quiet. The ONLY drawback (for those that would consider this a drawback) is that it's a 15 min walk - downhill to Ponte Vecchio and a harder walk back uphill at the end of day. BUT, cabs are everywhere and easy to catch - plus a bus stop right outside the hotel if you prefer. No restaurant in the hotel but a great little bar and delicious breakfast in the mornings. Definitely worth the stay here - would come back again and again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

A great location if you wish to visit this beautiful city. Also an ideal place if you are travelling by car and want to park up safely for a few days. The highlight was the breakfast garden, which was really nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgsDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed there for 6 nights this month. Lovely surroundings and good staff with the exception of the GM who was defensive and rude because we wanted the room we booked and paid for ( one double bed, one twin bed). GM is more concerned with his convenience, not his guests comfort. Ground floor rooms are loud (movement above you) and there is no elevator. Make your wishes precise or you will have no leg to stand on in your discussions with GM who will end up saying "I will no longer discuss this with you".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbC148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Villa Betania on our return from a driving holiday in southern Italy and were originally attracted by the reasonably priced parking. We were very happy to find a superior quality hotel in its own spacious grounds and were delighted when we were shown to our fabulous ground floor room with huge, walk in double shower, very comfortable bed and private terrace. A 20/25 minute walk or a short No. 11 bus ride from Ponte Vecchio, Villa Betania is perfectly placed to explore Florence. Staff are friendly and helpful - special thanks to night porter Simon for your guidance and entertaining repartee, the only man I know who enjoys ice cream at 7.00 am.
I would recommend this hotel very highly and hope, one day, to return.

Room Tip: Room 402 is fantastic and I believe is the only one with a private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WordOfGord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#114 of 412 in Florence
453 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#89 of 412 in Florence
390 reviews
Hotel Rosary Garden
#132 of 412 in Florence
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 412 in Florence
786 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#69 of 412 in Florence
1,030 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 412 in Florence
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Betania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Betania

Property: Hotel Villa Betania
Address: Viale del Poggio Imperiale 23, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Betania 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is nestled in its own lush park, removed from the noise and confusion.It's an ideal location for those who wish to find peace and relaxation in an elegant atmosphere.Hotel Villa Betania is a small hotel with 20 rooms under family management, with an international touch.Completely renovated in 2006, among other amenities, it features free parking and free Wireless Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Betania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing