We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful villa, within walking distance of Ponte Vecchio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Betania
Ranked #89 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked Villa Betania a bit randomly, mostly because, on top of having good reviews, it was easily accessible from the highway and we did not want to waste too much time trying to find our way in Florence (be warned: loads of one way roads!).
Well, we're very pleased we did.
Whilst being within a mere 20min walk of Ponte Vecchio, the villa's grounds offer both a beautiful setting and the quietness you will appreciate when getting back to your hotel room after a long day/night out.
We liked the fact that the room's interior design had some personality. Very elegant, not the usual run-of-the-mill hotel room. In case you need a reminder you are not in a hotel, but a villa, just look up at the high ceiling in your room.
Breakfast in the garden at the back was a very pleasant way to start the day.
We were able to leave our car in the villa's small car park after checking out (a definite plus) and picked it up at the end of our day in Florence.
The only negative point (though it's minor) is the fact that one has to pay extra to connect to the internet. Nowadays, many hotels offer Wi-Fi access for free and we have grown used to that being the norm.
However, we would definitely return to Villa Betania if we ever go back to Florence.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCz_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 541 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our 2nd time at Villa Betania and I must say - Best Bed and Best Shower during our entire 14 days in Italy. I love this place because it's off the beaten path, beautifully appointed and quiet. The ONLY drawback (for those that would consider this a drawback) is that it's a 15 min walk - downhill to Ponte Vecchio and a harder walk back uphill at the end of day. BUT, cabs are everywhere and easy to catch - plus a bus stop right outside the hotel if you prefer. No restaurant in the hotel but a great little bar and delicious breakfast in the mornings. Definitely worth the stay here - would come back again and again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

A great location if you wish to visit this beautiful city. Also an ideal place if you are travelling by car and want to park up safely for a few days. The highlight was the breakfast garden, which was really nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgsDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed there for 6 nights this month. Lovely surroundings and good staff with the exception of the GM who was defensive and rude because we wanted the room we booked and paid for ( one double bed, one twin bed). GM is more concerned with his convenience, not his guests comfort. Ground floor rooms are loud (movement above you) and there is no elevator. Make your wishes precise or you will have no leg to stand on in your discussions with GM who will end up saying "I will no longer discuss this with you".

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarbC148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Villa Betania on our return from a driving holiday in southern Italy and were originally attracted by the reasonably priced parking. We were very happy to find a superior quality hotel in its own spacious grounds and were delighted when we were shown to our fabulous ground floor room with huge, walk in double shower, very comfortable bed and private terrace. A 20/25 minute walk or a short No. 11 bus ride from Ponte Vecchio, Villa Betania is perfectly placed to explore Florence. Staff are friendly and helpful - special thanks to night porter Simon for your guidance and entertaining repartee, the only man I know who enjoys ice cream at 7.00 am.
I would recommend this hotel very highly and hope, one day, to return.

Room Tip: Room 402 is fantastic and I believe is the only one with a private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WordOfGord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Betania for four nights. We had an excellent room with accomodations for my wife and me and our teenage daughter and a spacious bathroom ensuite. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. The Villa's location on the south side of the Arno and a bit away from downtown was quiet and gracious. The villa sits well back from the road with a nicely landscaped frontage and on site parking. With pleasant weather one can take breakfast outside in a very pleasant area out back. Breakfast was an excellent European breakfast with expresso available. There is local bus service downtown which we did not use; we did take a taxi downtown to meet early morning visit times at the Uffizi and the Academia (book these in advance or ask staff to help). We also walked back one day (uphill). Cab fare was reasonable ~10+€. It was very hot while we were in Florence and we were very! happy that the Villa had good air conditioning in the room and common spaces. Can't say enough good things about the Villa - would return there again!! Hotel was also a short walking distance to a local branch of Europcar (not in the ZTL- limited traffic zone) so that was very handy as we drove out of Florence.

Room Tip: Our 2nd floor (or European 1st floor) room faced the front of the building and due to the set back n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimCFairbanksAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel is lovely. The rooms are large and of a very good standard and very reasonably priced. The free parking was important to us and it only took us 20 minutes to walk in to the centre of Florence to explore. The staff were friendly and helpful and I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieBrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
338 reviews
Hotel Rosary Garden
#123 of 410 in Florence
439 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#94 of 410 in Florence
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#71 of 410 in Florence
1,041 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 410 in Florence
820 reviews
Hotel Villa Liana
#99 of 410 in Florence
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Betania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Betania

Address: Viale del Poggio Imperiale 23, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $69 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Betania 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is nestled in its own lush park, removed from the noise and confusion.It's an ideal location for those who wish to find peace and relaxation in an elegant atmosphere.Hotel Villa Betania is a small hotel with 20 rooms under family management, with an international touch.Completely renovated in 2006, among other amenities, it features free parking and free Wireless Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Betania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing