We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but a few things lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Betania
Ranked #89 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This was a lovely hotel on the outskirts of the centre of Florence. Walkable but a fair distance. The bedrooms were of a high standard. It was a shame the dining room and bar were very pokey and lacking in character. The breakfast was also very poor and I'm afraid we didn't find the staff very forthcoming.as we were given no information whatsoever on breakfast times etc and although there was always someone on reception they never greeted you when you came in unless you spoke to them first and then you would get a bit of a mumble which for a small hotel we found quite rude.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDuchessNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 551 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

I was there with my family in September-2011.
The hotel is incredible, very quiet, situated in part of the city with beautiful and full of trees streets.
You can easily walk into town, it takes some 20min, but to get back its uphill so I recommend getting a taxi.
It was perfect for us since we were driving a rented car, there's free parking inside.
Angelo, the owner, is increndibly sympatethic and attentive, he speaks very good English.
Rooms are clean and well kept, breakfast is great (the Brazilian waitress also, of course :)
Tottaly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gutohs-br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We decided not to risk driving in Florence and worrying about the ZTL so we picked a hotel across the river. Hotel Villa Betania was such a pleasant surprise! We passed it on our first attempt to find it but then just happened to see it on our second pass. It is on the corner..and I mean..on the corner of a busy interstection. The driveway sits on the corner and you don't have to turn down any side streets to get to it. It's a beautiful villa with a long winding drive and a courtyard where you can sit in the evening and enjoy a glass (or bottle) of wine. We chose to take taxis into town instead of riding the bus or walking. You could walk if you chose to but it would be a pretty good little hike, probably about 30 minutes to the river (mostly downhill but that means uphill on the way back!). The rooms were very nice and a good size. The bathroom was great! The other hotels we had been staying in had little (tiny) cubicles for a shower but our room at Villa Betania had a nice big shower. The breakfast was very good and you had the option of sitting inside or in the back courtyard. The courtyard was beautiful and relaxing, I recommend it. Our room looked out over the breakfast courtyard. They served what my husband called "real" coffee in a pot like you see in America. I think he welcomed the change from the tiny lattes and espressos. They even brought me a small pot of hot water for my tea. In the evening we walked down the hill, past the roundabout and through the city wall arches to a small grocery and bought meat, cheese and crackers to go with the wine we had previously bought in Tuscany. (The rooms had mini fridges) We then took this out to the front courtyard and enjoyed a wonderful evening. The bar at the hotel also has wine and they very graciously opened our wine and provided glasses. On another night the hotel had recommended a restaurant for dinner before our evening of opera at St. Mark's and the restaurant was a very good choice. We had a fantastic stay at Villa Betania and highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stmaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

For my first visit to Florence 6 years ago, as part of an Italian road trip, we opted for a very central hotel (La Residenza). Nice hotel but quite expensive, extortionate car parking charges and a nightmare to negotiate the narrow streets and one-way systems of the historic centre arriving by car. So for my second visit (again driving), decided to stay a little further out. Struggled to find a decent hotel with availability and at a good price, finally came across Villa Betania and was very happy with my choice!

The hotel is located away from the city centre. It is probably about 30 mins walk to the historic centre (Duomo, Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio), and although we had good intentions to walk or use public transport, the 30 degree heat put us off and we opted for taxis. A taxi to the Piazza Michaelangelo (a must visit at sunset) and a taxi to the Ponte Vecchio were about 10 – 15 Euros. Staff at the hotel were happy to book taxis for us which arrived promptly. Walking to the city centre would probably be ok, but would not recommend walking back as it’s up a pretty steep hill! Parking at the hotel is free (you don’t find this with more central hotels).

Hotel itself is beautiful. We were on the ground floor of the main building, and stayed for 2 nights. Very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated – simple yet elegant. Staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. There was 1 thing that let the service down.....when we arrived we had 3 pillows in our room and asked for an extra pillow so we could sleep with 2 each (sleeping with 1 was terribly uncomfortable as they were very flat). When we returned to our room after a day and evening sightseeing, the extra pillows had been removed from our room by housekeeping, and when we asked for some more pillows we were told they had given them to another room and they didn’t have any more! I would expect a hotel to have enough spare pillows for guests comfort!

There is a lovely terrace both at the front and the back of the building to enjoy early or late evening drinks, or catch some rays. It’s a very peaceful setting. One gripe was they ran out of gin, but was happy to settle for a glass of Chianti instead! Drink measures were generous, and a lovely selection of complimentary snacks. Breakfast was good – standard continental fare (juices, fruit, croissants, cereals, bread, meats and cheeses). We opted to eat breakfast outside on the terrace which was lovely.

Would definitely recommend Villa Betania and would stay there again if I return to Florence - much preferred the more peaceful and spacious setting than being in the centre.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ma1alp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We loved the triple room. Spacious with view over the garden. You have to bear in mind that it's a 3 star, so no luxury. But location, kindness of staff (grazie Simone) and the peace you enjoy at night are priceless. We also tried a deluxe but thought it is not worthed the extra money. It is a great place to stay if you want a calm stay, not too far from the centre and are travelling by car.

Room Tip: triple 206 is great. 204 smaller but still with nice view on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beatrishelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have finally sat down and decided to write a review about the Hotel Villa Betania where my wife and i stayed earlier this year for a short break . Firstly I must say that I use Tripadvisor always prior to booking any hotel for any trip whether that be a foreign or UK break. The hotel not only matched but exceeded our expectations.
I contacted the hotel by email prior to arrival to explain that we might be arriving quite late at night due to the arrival time of our flight but yet again with Ryanair we landed on time and were outside the front of the terminal within 13minutes of landing so managed to make our connection. Upon arrival the 24hour reception was aware of our impending late arrival and was a friendly and happy face to see after a hectic journey. They escorted us to our room which was located in the new annex and happily gave us directions for local restaurants where we could get a bite to eat.
The room was spacious with a wonderful bathroom, LCD TV on the wall and had a very modern boutique style to it and had a lovely view out onto the courtyard. The bed was very comfy and we had all the amenities you could require including a very handy mini safe and the Free Wi-Fi which was also a nice added bonus.
The Breakfast room was located next to the bar which we used on a couple of nights and found to be very reasonably priced and you could get a drink 24hours a day so we did enjoy 1 or 2 bottles of wine after a hectic days sightseeing. Breakfast was a mixed fair of hot and cold food including bacon , eggs, cerial's, fruits , hams, cheese etc etc and was excellent and a great way to stock up for a hard days travelling and was re-stocked regularly including a nice variety of hot drinks.
The hotel's location at first was a concern for us but have to say that its an idyllic location to be in after the hustle and bustle of the city centre. On the night we arrived we took a taxi from the train station Santa Maria Novella and this cost 8 euros so if you don;t want to make the 20-25 min walk back to the hotel then this is always an option or even the bus which stops on the road outside the hotel. There is a big hill to walk up to the hotel so be aware if your less mobile a taxi or bus may be a good option but my wife and I love walking and it was a very nice walk back to the hotel each day. Because of it's location the hotel is set back from the main road so you can sit outside the hotel with a glass of wine on the patio and not hear the bustle of the city outside which was a nice way to unwind and the gardens around the hotel are beautiful.
Overall I would recommend this hotel to couples who want to visit the beautiful city of Florence but also want to be able to enjoy the quiet side of the city away from the tourist's and the hustle and bustle. Bear in mind the distance from the hotel to the centre but as long as you enjoy taking in the atmosphere of the city and enjoy walking down roads and taking in everything the city has to offer you won't be disappointed. Distance to Ponte Vecchio is approximately 20minutes depending on your speed but we regularly stopped to look in the local food and leather shops!!
Would recommend this hotel to anyone and will recommend to any of our friends that are considering a short trip to Florence.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in May and loved. It is situated in a quiet upscale neighborhood about 20 minutes outside of the city center. We thought it was a beautiful property, very clean and attractively decorated. The triple room was spacious with a very large bathroom. The staff was so helpful giving us directions, calling cabs and replacing the malfunctioning refridgerator in the room.

The only negative was that the bed was hard but after a long day of sightseeing, we practically passed out every night from exhaustion.

Because we had tours, trains and other reservations booked in the mornings, we usually took the bus into town because of the time crunch and seemed to always walk back to the hotel at the end of the day, kind of the opposite of what everyone else does!

It worked for us and we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
405 reviews
Hotel Rosary Garden
#131 of 410 in Florence
444 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 410 in Florence
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#95 of 410 in Florence
775 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#91 of 410 in Florence
594 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#134 of 410 in Florence
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Betania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Betania

Address: Viale del Poggio Imperiale 23, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $65 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Betania 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is nestled in its own lush park, removed from the noise and confusion.It's an ideal location for those who wish to find peace and relaxation in an elegant atmosphere.Hotel Villa Betania is a small hotel with 20 rooms under family management, with an international touch.Completely renovated in 2006, among other amenities, it features free parking and free Wireless Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Betania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing