We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Ranked #21 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights at the Palazzo Magnami Feroni, and it exceeded all expectations. We were welcomed by Annalisa, who was very friendly and helped us choose some great restaurants. The rooftop bar was lovely - even on cold January nights! - and we had great service from Emmanuel. The hotel combines attentive staff with a gorgeous, authentic setting, and we loved every moment of our stay. Thank you for helping to make it a special weekend!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eggpie2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
What a pleasure to read that you so much enjoyed your stay at Palazzo Magnani Feroni. I’m sharing your kind words with Annalisa and Emanuel and the entire team as nothing motivates us more as knowing that our hard work is appreciated. We look forward to your next visit so, ARRIVEDERCI!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    100
    21
    14
    16
See reviews for
265
508
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

A fantastic two nights spent at Palazzo Manani Feroni. Rooms were large, clean and very comfortable. Bathroom was well appointed - plenty of towels and soaps etc. Breakfast was good with lots of choice. We arranged to have dinner on the heated terrace and it was quite magical - helped by the the wine - D Vino - from the owners estate (a great choice by the barman ) and the view that was superb - even in winter!! The staff were very attentive and helpful. Only minor niggles were the mattress (could have been a little thicker) and the pillows (more supportive) but didn't effect a good nights sleep.
All in all we had a fantastic time and would recommend this to anyone wanting to have a short break in Florence.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
When was the last time I bored everybody with my rambling about our terrace…….. I’m so glad that you seemed to like it as much as myself…… in fact, this evening I’m planning to go up there and have a drink and relax. It’s a beautiful day in Florence so I look forward to a gorgeous view of the city with a stunning sunset as background! Grazie Mille your kind feedback and hope to see you again soon! CIAO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

A suite at the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is what everyone should ask for as a 50th birthday present. The rooms were large and comfortable. The staff were excellent. An evening glassof wine on the terrace bar is how every night should finish. The breakfast roon is excellent and the selection of cheeses and hams completely ruined my diet. Would I go back here if I returned to Florence? You bet!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewandKeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your review…… What a wonderful way to start the New Year! Let us take this opportunity to wish you all the best for a wonderful 2014 that hopefully, will take you back to visit us! A presto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have read every review written on this amazing property - on Trip Advisor and several other sites. I am shocked at some of the negative things that people say - clearly some of the guests did not have realistic expectations. So- perhaps I can set the record straight.

First - I found this to be the best hotel experience of my life. I spent 4 nights here in November. I travel 50 weeks per year and I spend 80-100 nights per year in hotels, so I know hotels.

No, this is not a Holiday Inn. If you want that familiarity of a standard chain-hotel, then I suggest you go stay by the airport or out in Sesto. There are plenty of chain hotels there.

This is an old building - I mean, it's centuries old. Some people have complained in the reviews about an "old" feeling and a sort of musty or old smell. I did not smell any kind of odor, but I agree that it feels "old". It's supposed to! Again - it's not the plastic Holiday Inn with standard scents and polyester bedspread. It's a palace - with huge elegant rooms with 30-foot high ceilings and these amazing drapes that hang 25 or 30 feet against huge elegant picture windows. The furniture is authentic, with tapestries and elegant upholstery and big wooden armoires. The bedspread is elegant with lace and silk ... again, not your cheap hotel standard stuff. You can close your eyes and imagine being a wealthy merchant in 19th century Florence, staying at this elegant palace with all its charm.

When you walk into the building, you realize it's unique. You see stone walls and huge high ceilings, the craziest little elevator you'll ever experience and these very low-rise stone stairs that require four flights to go up from lobby level to floor 1, and another 4 flights from floor 1 to floor 2. There are weird passages and hallways and sitting rooms and a billiards room that did seem a bit spooky - as though 4 centuries of inhabitants were still playing pool in that room - but, to us, that just made it more interesting and more fun.

So, yes - it feels different than a traditional chain hotel. It's full of atmosphere and culture and centuries of history. And yes, it feels old - but, trust me, it's been lovingly modernized. The rooms have all the amenities - even air conditioning (which was turned off given that it was November), but it's there in the room. The windows open - a big thing for me - and our room, which overlooked the central courtyard, allowed for a lovely nighttime breeze. I think the hotel proprietors thought we were a bit odd to request the key to open the windows, but they complied graciously.

The bathroom is very nice - with shower/tub, 2 sinks and nice toiletries. The work area is nice and the hotel will "lease" you an adapter plug (it's just a deposit - they return it upon check out). The breakfast room is gorgeous and the food is quite good - served buffet style plus a full set of "to-order" menu options including omelets, eggs in multiple styles and pancakes or French toast.

The best way to experience this hotel is to accept that it's unlike anything you have tried before and "drink in" the amazing property. Linger in the hallways and look at the fine silks and threads made by the family through centuries of their mercantile trade. Enjoy the spectacular furnishings and those 30-foot ceilings (that's why it takes 4 flights of stairs to go between floors!). Take the narrow set of stairs all the way to the rooftop bar (it's another 8-9 flights of stairs) - and enjoy one of the most lovely views of Florence.

Finally, enjoy the staff. They are all wonderful and lovely and knowledgeable. They will send you to amazing eateries, or help with a day's adventures or simply share their passion for Florence and for the Palazzo itself.

This is true, authentic Florentine hospitality. It's a very real palace with so much history and culture right inside your hotel. It's absolutely one of the most beautiful and spectacular places I have ever been and I will return again. I strongly encourage anyone to try this fabulous place - but just set your expectations to understand it will be different that most hotels. It's worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ohio_Quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Oh boy did we all LOVE your review! Thank you so much for sharing the feeling that you had of Palazzo Magnani Feroni with all, it is exactly what we have tried to achieve and happy to know that we made it!
I do love walking thru the halls and corridors, galleries and rooms in general trying to imagine how it must have been like centuries ago t live in the Palazzo, it’s really not hard to imagine……………
Well on behalf of everybody at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, thanks again for your great feedback and my 2014 bring you back to visit us!!!!!!!!!!!!
GRAZIE and CIAO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I was really blown away with this hotel. I was kind of expecting tiny and smushed accommodations in Italy, but our room was phenomenal. The staff was wonderful. And don't skip the breakfast. The breakfast room is lovely and there was a good selection to get us started on our sightseeing day. We will definitely go back! Oh and we also felt this was a GREAT location. It is across the bridge, so on the "quieter" side of Florence. Everything is still within walking distance, but you are near better restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room labeled Francesca.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Jess, Wow what a lovely review! GRAZIE MILLE from all of us to Palazzo Magnani Feroni we are overwhelmed by your kindness…….. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
411 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

What a treat to stay here. I almost don't know where to start there are so many stellar aspects to this property. To begin, they sent an extensive package of restaurant and guided tour suggestions as well as special arrangements like cooking classes with our booking confirmation. They had our Firenze tickets which I had ordered ( a must to skip the lines at the museums if you are staying at least 3 days in Florence) at the front desk when we arrived. Just a short cab ride from the train station, the exterior is nothing to look at but when you walk into the entrance, (they keep the doors locked for security so you must buzz), you enter into a world of understated elegance with lots of unusual decorative touches from the original owners, including display cases of textiles. Although it is across the Arno on the other side of the main attractions, it was a very short walk to everything. Great restaurants are close by on both sides of the river.

We stayed in Ginerva which was an enormous suite on two levels. The room is fragrant with potpourri and there is a box of soap samples from which you select your favorite and housekeeping then brings two gift wrapped bars for your stay. Beautiful furnishings and artwork and the lighting was exceptional in all the rooms, in fact the best of any hotel room I've ever been in. The bathroom was divided into two rooms, with an anteroom that had a sink and hair dryer, with holder, and the larger room with another sink, make-up mirror, toilet and large bathtub. The one awkward element in the suite was the shower arrangement. There is only a half glass wall with a hand shower so not easy to maneuvre. If you don't like baths, this is one thing you won't be happy with in the bathroom. Lots of thick towels and lots of towel racks. Bulgari Green Tea toiletries, which smell divine - my absolute favorite. Great storage through out.

The room was absolutely quiet and the double windows shut out the street noise. We had difficulties with our air conditioner so had to open our windows which was a bit irritating as the hotel is on a very noisy thoroughfare with bars that are open late. We couldn't be bothered to deal with this, but do check that your unit is working upon check-in. Excellent free wi-fi, safe, mini-fridge, robe and slippers.

The breakfast room and buffet were lovely. Art work, a huge glass chandelier, classical music, white gloved service and a wonderful assortment of hot and cold foods, with the option to order omelettes or fried eggs. They light a large candle on everyone's table.

Last but not least is a beautiful roof top terrace bar that is staffed with a bartender every night just for the 14 rooms in the hotel. We stayed in October and the rate for our room was just under 400 euros a night. Unbelievable value for the price.

Room Tip: Ginerva was a spacious suite on two levels. Like having an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysplanahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We can’t tell you how pleased we are to read your review, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough outline of Palazzo Magnani Feroni! We do hope to have you back soon! Again, GRAZIE MILLE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I have been to hotels all over the world--third world huts to castles in Scotland, the magnificent Wynn in Las Vegas, but if you love history, art and old world charm... (well of course you do, why else would one come to Florence) then you can do no better than this hotel! Safe and secure with a gated entrance and a roof top terrace revealing a panoramic view of Florence. Location is not bad for those who like walk to sites or want a bus (there is a bus stop right outside the hotel). Wonderful white glove service breakfast under a massive and beautifully placed crystal chandelier that almost makes you believe that you are still in a working palace. Worth every euro and then some just to be part of the continuing history of this place. Excellent service and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. We were even upgraded to a suite at no charge. Love this place!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pilgrimots22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
What a pleasure to read such a nice review, I will make sure to share it with our staff as it is so wonderful to see that their dedication and hard work are recognized. It was great having you and hope to have you amongst our guests again soon so, ARRIVEDERCI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#14 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Magnani Feroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Property: Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Address: Borgo San Frediano, 5, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#18 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Magnani Feroni 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an historical home that for over five hundred years has been at the centre of Florence's aristocratic life: one of the oldest dwellings in the San Frediano neighbourhood, it has stood as an important symbol of the city's history and its artistic value. The class of this elegant renaissance palace, evident upon entering, finds its maximum expression in the sumptuous suites and the luxurious hospitality quarters, furnished with candelabra, statues, paintings and frescoes form the '500. Each suite reflects the refinement of the Renaissance style, with the subtle combination of comfort and modern technology and decorated with tasteful antique furnishings and materials originating from the owners' ancestors' antique collection. Spanning between 80- and 120-square meters (860- and 1300- square feet) in size, the 13 suites each comprise a large living room, bedroom(s) and master bathroom(s). Each includes all amenities expected of a five-star luxury hotel, including stereo, satellite television in both the living room and bedroom, internet port and self-regulating air conditioning units. An architectural jewel of the 16th century, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni belongs to the National Register of Historical Monuments of the State of Italy. Detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprising the wanderer with frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings. The Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine lay-out. Breakfast, for instance, is served in a 160-square meter salon with hand-crafted wood ceilings illuminated by a large original Murano chandelier. In the winter evenings, this salon serves as an intimate, candle-lit Bar, accessible to Palazzo guests and their friends only. The same rules are applicable to the adjoining Billiard Room, as well as to the In-House Gym, so as to assure the guests with absolute privacy. The beautiful Roof-Top Terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar as soon as the temperature permits. Providing 24-hour Reception and Service, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is run by a staff dedicated to meet your every need with efficiency and discretion, both prior, during and following your stay. Services include reservations to exclusive restaurants, recommendations of typical local eateries and trattorias, coordination of privileged entrance to the city's museums, airport / train station pick-up, private shopping tours, visits to the Ferrari Museum and private, chauffeured excursions to the beautiful Chianti valley. Also, Palazzo guests choose from a selection of CDs, DVD films and soap fragrances for their suite, as well as benefit from private Guides to shopping and restaurants off the beaten path, personally written by the owners of the Palazzo for an "insider's view" of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Magnani Feroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Florence
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing