We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Ranked #21 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I was really blown away with this hotel. I was kind of expecting tiny and smushed accommodations in Italy, but our room was phenomenal. The staff was wonderful. And don't skip the breakfast. The breakfast room is lovely and there was a good selection to get us started on our sightseeing day. We will definitely go back! Oh and we also felt this was a GREAT location. It is across the bridge, so on the "quieter" side of Florence. Everything is still within walking distance, but you are near better restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room labeled Francesca.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Jess, Wow what a lovely review! GRAZIE MILLE from all of us to Palazzo Magnani Feroni we are overwhelmed by your kindness…….. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,022)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

What a treat to stay here. I almost don't know where to start there are so many stellar aspects to this property. To begin, they sent an extensive package of restaurant and guided tour suggestions as well as special arrangements like cooking classes with our booking confirmation. They had our Firenze tickets which I had ordered ( a must to skip the lines at the museums if you are staying at least 3 days in Florence) at the front desk when we arrived. Just a short cab ride from the train station, the exterior is nothing to look at but when you walk into the entrance, (they keep the doors locked for security so you must buzz), you enter into a world of understated elegance with lots of unusual decorative touches from the original owners, including display cases of textiles. Although it is across the Arno on the other side of the main attractions, it was a very short walk to everything. Great restaurants are close by on both sides of the river.

We stayed in Ginerva which was an enormous suite on two levels. The room is fragrant with potpourri and there is a box of soap samples from which you select your favorite and housekeeping then brings two gift wrapped bars for your stay. Beautiful furnishings and artwork and the lighting was exceptional in all the rooms, in fact the best of any hotel room I've ever been in. The bathroom was divided into two rooms, with an anteroom that had a sink and hair dryer, with holder, and the larger room with another sink, make-up mirror, toilet and large bathtub. The one awkward element in the suite was the shower arrangement. There is only a half glass wall with a hand shower so not easy to maneuvre. If you don't like baths, this is one thing you won't be happy with in the bathroom. Lots of thick towels and lots of towel racks. Bulgari Green Tea toiletries, which smell divine - my absolute favorite. Great storage through out.

The room was absolutely quiet and the double windows shut out the street noise. We had difficulties with our air conditioner so had to open our windows which was a bit irritating as the hotel is on a very noisy thoroughfare with bars that are open late. We couldn't be bothered to deal with this, but do check that your unit is working upon check-in. Excellent free wi-fi, safe, mini-fridge, robe and slippers.

The breakfast room and buffet were lovely. Art work, a huge glass chandelier, classical music, white gloved service and a wonderful assortment of hot and cold foods, with the option to order omelettes or fried eggs. They light a large candle on everyone's table.

Last but not least is a beautiful roof top terrace bar that is staffed with a bartender every night just for the 14 rooms in the hotel. We stayed in October and the rate for our room was just under 400 euros a night. Unbelievable value for the price.

Room Tip: Ginerva was a spacious suite on two levels. Like having an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysplanahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

We can’t tell you how pleased we are to read your review, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough outline of Palazzo Magnani Feroni! We do hope to have you back soon! Again, GRAZIE MILLE!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have been to hotels all over the world--third world huts to castles in Scotland, the magnificent Wynn in Las Vegas, but if you love history, art and old world charm... (well of course you do, why else would one come to Florence) then you can do no better than this hotel! Safe and secure with a gated entrance and a roof top terrace revealing a panoramic view of Florence. Location is not bad for those who like walk to sites or want a bus (there is a bus stop right outside the hotel). Wonderful white glove service breakfast under a massive and beautifully placed crystal chandelier that almost makes you believe that you are still in a working palace. Worth every euro and then some just to be part of the continuing history of this place. Excellent service and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. We were even upgraded to a suite at no charge. Love this place!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank pilgrimots22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

What a pleasure to read such a nice review, I will make sure to share it with our staff as it is so wonderful to see that their dedication and hard work are recognized. It was great having you and hope to have you amongst our guests again soon so, ARRIVEDERCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Charm, history, luxury. This place has it all. The rooms are large - actually like living in an apartment. You are greeted by the wonderful staff in the gorgeous lobby/entryway and taken to your room in an antique elevator. The old world charm remains despite the modern renovations. The roof top bar has wonderful ambience and one of the best views of Florence. (warning - you have to climb 4 flights of stairs to get there but it is worth it) Our only issue was the shower water pressure could have been a little higher but it did not take away from our wonderful stay. The restaurants nearby are great as well. Do not miss the breakfast on the top floor. The room is stunning and the food is great too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Susan,
Thank you for your very kind words re Palazzo Magnani Feroni. It is a true pleasure working with such wonderful people with whom I shall be sure to share your feedback! It was a pleasure having you stay with us and hope to see you again soon! Grazie and CIAO,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location in Florence for touring all the sites. The hotel itself is simply grand. The rooms are amazing. Our room had a great family room and the bathroom was very Americanized which was very nice. When staying at this hotel, you have to go to their rooftop which has a great bar (Server) that you can drink and relax on numerous lounges from 6pm-12am. When drinking on the rooftop, they provide you complimentary food which is also great. The view of Florence from their roof is simply amazing. I think it is one of the highest points in Florence. There is a great beer pub around the corner called Arcadia that you have to check out. We stayed here for only 1 night but wish we stayed longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VASAMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

I will never get over how stunning our terrace is…… as I said many times, it never stops to amaze me on how lovely the view is and, yes, you are correct, Palazzo Magnani Feroni is one of the highest buildings in the area so it allows you to have a total overview of each and every monument there is in our beautiful city! Thank you so much for your kind words which I will share with Emanuel, he indeed makes the best cocktails…… We look forward to seeing you again so, Arrivederci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We've stayed here several times over the past 8 or 9 years and continue to love the place. Huge suites, all very laid back and peaceful, lots of lovely touches to make you feel at home. The luxury is of a traditional, refined and patrician sort, so if you like glitz and glamour, with buzzy lounges and lots of bling, the Magnani Feroni won't be for you at all. But if, like us, you appreciate a location slightly away from the tourist areas, with understated charm and courtesy, then I think you'll love it.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a bit more for a ground or first floor room, if your budget stretches to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorgeous10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

We do love your way of thinking as charm over glitz is what we wanted to achieve at Palazzo Magnani Feroni and judging from your feedback, we accomplished the task!
Well then, Grazie Mille for your kind words and looking forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Certauinly a special place. Very close to the centre - fifteen minutes at most to Ponte Vecchio - and in an atmospheric part of town Our suite was on the ground floor - high vaulted ceiling and wall to wall frescos. It was rather dark and for 5 stars I would have expected a bath as well as a shower, but it certainly had a sense of history about it and was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was magnificent - excellent bacon and scrambled eggs readily available as well as a generous variety of fruits, breads, cereals and cold meats and cheeses. The terrace was certainly a major facility. Why only 4 stars? I have mentioned the lack of a bath, but the Palazzo was so large that there was little evidence of other guests. Maybe it was because this was October, and we were aware of other guests on the periphery, but for example for two out of three mornings we ate alone in the breakfast room and all in all it just felt a little bit lonely.

Room Tip: Possibly not on the ground floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hull1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Guest Relations Manager at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Buongiorno,
Mille grazie for your feedback it was much appreciated!
Palazzo Magnani Feroni has only 12 suites and it’s quite a large building so it’s not uncommon to rarely bump into someone; usually this is considered a plus as it makes one feel as if they had the Palace for themselves but as you say, it might also be considered as odd. We hope that this will not stop you from coming back to visit us as we truly enjoyed having you!
So, Arrivederci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#32 of 410 in Florence
654 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#5 of 410 in Florence
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#18 of 410 in Florence
413 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#9 of 410 in Florence
1,291 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 410 in Florence
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Magnani Feroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Address: Borgo San Frediano, 5, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#18 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $240 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Magnani Feroni 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an historical home that for over five hundred years has been at the centre of Florence's aristocratic life: one of the oldest dwellings in the San Frediano neighbourhood, it has stood as an important symbol of the city's history and its artistic value. The class of this elegant renaissance palace, evident upon entering, finds its maximum expression in the sumptuous suites and the luxurious hospitality quarters, furnished with candelabra, statues, paintings and frescoes form the '500. Each suite reflects the refinement of the Renaissance style, with the subtle combination of comfort and modern technology and decorated with tasteful antique furnishings and materials originating from the owners' ancestors' antique collection. Spanning between 80- and 120-square meters (860- and 1300- square feet) in size, the 13 suites each comprise a large living room, bedroom(s) and master bathroom(s). Each includes all amenities expected of a five-star luxury hotel, including stereo, satellite television in both the living room and bedroom, internet port and self-regulating air conditioning units. An architectural jewel of the 16th century, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni belongs to the National Register of Historical Monuments of the State of Italy. Detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprising the wanderer with frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings. The Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine lay-out. Breakfast, for instance, is served in a 160-square meter salon with hand-crafted wood ceilings illuminated by a large original Murano chandelier. In the winter evenings, this salon serves as an intimate, candle-lit Bar, accessible to Palazzo guests and their friends only. The same rules are applicable to the adjoining Billiard Room, as well as to the In-House Gym, so as to assure the guests with absolute privacy. The beautiful Roof-Top Terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar as soon as the temperature permits. Providing 24-hour Reception and Service, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is run by a staff dedicated to meet your every need with efficiency and discretion, both prior, during and following your stay. Services include reservations to exclusive restaurants, recommendations of typical local eateries and trattorias, coordination of privileged entrance to the city's museums, airport / train station pick-up, private shopping tours, visits to the Ferrari Museum and private, chauffeured excursions to the beautiful Chianti valley. Also, Palazzo guests choose from a selection of CDs, DVD films and soap fragrances for their suite, as well as benefit from private Guides to shopping and restaurants off the beaten path, personally written by the owners of the Palazzo for an "insider's view" of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Magnani Feroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Florence
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing