We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning property perfect for a florentine holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Ranked #23 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stunning property perfect for a florentine holiday”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Palazzo with my wife for four nights. The hotel's location is perfect for tourism given how the property is neither too close, nor too far from every important site and close to a variety of good restaurants (such as La buca di mario and la osteria dell cinghiale bianco). Staying in an florentine palace which hosts its original decoration is a gift for anyone interested in art, history, or architecture. The suite in which we stayed, Giulia, was ample, well furnished, and decorated in a nice classic fashion. The hotel's staff are very attentive and proved quite useful in booking our uffizi and accademia reservations and giving us advice on where to eat. Also, they provided us with a delicious complimentary dinner because they knew our first night our flight was arrriving too late to eat out. Breakfast is included and offers a diverse selection of cheeses, cold cuts, bread and pastries, and even prosecco. However, it does not have the best range in terms of healthier products such as fruit, high fiber cereals and low fat dairy. The Palazzo has a beautiful rooftop terrace with stunning city views and a billiard room. There is also a gym on the first floor, but it could do with newer equipment -this is one area where historic furnishings are not appreciated- and, much more importantly, AC. Overall, the Palazzo is remarkable and very fitting for a city like Florence.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank D Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    105
    22
    15
    16
See reviews for
278
527
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
malmesbury
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel situated just close enough to the main sights of Florence. We had a three room apartment for our family and this was beautifully furnished to a very high standard and provided every facility that we needed. Service was excellent but totally unobtrusive and everyone made us feel welcome. The roof terrace provides stunning views of Florence and the surrounding hills and we spent every evening on the terrace where we were looked after wonderfully.
If you want to be pampered in Florence this is the place to stay. Just wonderful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vyvattwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 773 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Myself and my two oldest daughters stayed for 5 nights in the Feroni suite. Absolutely perfect the hotel and staff made us feel more like we were guests of Italian aristocracy than just hotel guests. No request or question was too much for any staff member, from restaurant recommendations to shopping advice for my girls to running path suggestions for myself.

The suite was composed of a large living room, bedrooms and master bathrooms. Each including all of the amenities one would expect of a five-star luxury hotel even the ability to pick your own personal fragrance and soap styles to me and my tastes a little high church but for my two girls they absolutely loved it.

The property is located in an outstanding location at the heart of the bustling, neighbourhood of Oltrarno. A lovely area of the city away from the hustle and bustle of central Florence almost an oasis from the maddening crowds of summer time travelers yet just a mere 5-minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio and another 5 minutes into the cities historic center district.

The hotel itself is decorated in true grandeur. Every detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprises lay around every corner as you wander the property with its frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings to the marvelous red sprawling carpets throughout the building. True Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine design.

My favorite may have been the exquisite and tastefully decorated Billiard Room a great place to just chat and relax and unwind after a long day at work or touring. The beautiful rooftop terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar a great place to sit relax and enjoy a wine and take in the heavenly views of the Duomo. I arranged to have dinner served there one evening and it was probably the nicest meal we all enjoyed while in Florence.A beautiful relaxed and well catered meal with 2 of my favorite girls (pains me to admit it but well now I must say Young women) just a great chance to spend some Daddy daughter bonding time over some good food and nice wine.

In a nutshell perhaps one of the most grand and glorious properties I have stayed in and will definitely return next time I am in Florence, I think I have found my new favorite place in town. I highly recommend it to anyone be it couples, families or business travelers or even solo travelers the staff at the hotel will go out of their way to make sure you stay is as good as they can make it to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SEBESZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for three nights as a part of our tour through Italy. It is not very often that you get to stay in an actual palace and the place really feels like one. Note that every suite is different. From what I understood from the fire evacuation plans, they are also slightly different sizes. As far as I know, the hotel does not let you pick your suite but just in case they do, we stayed at Angelica (the photos show the room).

The good things:
1) It is located quite close (10 min walk) to the historical centre of Florence and about 15 min walk from the train station.
2) It really feels like a palace. There is a certain charm about the place that is very hard to explain in words.
3) They have a really wide spread for breakfast - not many places serve champagne with their breakfast.
4) They actually have a personal shopping assistant who can take you or your partner to the best shops in Florence for a shopping spree.
5) The view from the rood terrace bar is really amazing especially after the sun sets.

The only bad thing:
Maintenance - One our first night here we realized the air-conditioner (we stayed during summer and it is really necessary) in the room was giving some problems. It kept turning itself off after a couple of hours. As a result we could hardly sleep. We complained about it when we left in the morning and were told that it was fixed when we got back. But it did the same thing the next night. At about 4am, we went out looking for someone (being unable to sleep). The person fixed something that worked for an hour or so and that was it. As a result, we couldn't sleep well this night either. We complained again the next morning and was told it was fixed. But when were in the room relaxing in the evening, it went off completely and wouldn't switch on at all. They finally offered us some fans (which by the way could have been done the previous night at 4am) and finally fixed the air-conditioner. So we got one night of good sleep out of three. At the price you pay for the room, you would expect the maintenance to be better.

Would I recommend it as a place to stay? Probably, just for the experience of staying in a palace. But would have been a lot better if the maintenance was better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A perfect place to stay in Florence, close to the river, 5 minutes from Duomo and Uffizzi gallery. Exceptional hotel in 400 year old family owned palace with fine Tuscan decor. Amazing staff made us so welcome, felt as if we were family friends. Many beautiful rooms to enjoy and relax in over several floors, the highlight was the amazing rooftop terrace with beautiful panoramic views across Florence.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

After being owned by wealthy people for several hundred years, the premises were converted to a hotel several years ago. We stayed two nights at a Classic Suit. Both the living room and bed room are large enough and the ceiling is very high. The classical atmosphere is well preserved, however, they provide such modern conveniences as air conditioning and complimentary WiFi. The house keeper frequently changes linen. We asked the concierge to book museums (to avoid queue) before the travel, and their response was quick.

Room Tip: I am aware some other reviewers are claiming their rooms were very small, which is not our case. Per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiyoshi_Fujioka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent five nights at the Palazzo Magnani Feroni and could not have enjoyed it more.

The small amount of rooms gives the hotel an intimate feel but there is so much space that it does almost feel like your own palace. The rooms are all excellent sizes, as a couple we had so much space with a large bedroom, sitting room and sizable bathroom it felt like home. The tea/coffee machines and water on every floor adds to this as you feel that you can grab a quick coffee any time you want.

There is no restaurant (but there are plenty of good places to eat in Florence) but the breakfast they serve is very good. Nice coffee, good selection of food and laid back but attentive service. The terrace bar has great views and the billards room was also an excellent feature.

The car parking is very steep (40 euros a night) but we were able to park on the street outside without a problem.

The staff are fantastic, nothing was a probem for them, they sorted a trip out to an acetaria in Modena and even printed us off maps with extra directions. It is the care and extra details from the staff that make this hotel stand out. Totally recomended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 412 in Florence
1,234 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#19 of 412 in Florence
638 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#12 of 412 in Florence
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#20 of 412 in Florence
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Magnani Feroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Property: Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Address: Borgo San Frediano, 5, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#20 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Magnani Feroni 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an historical home that for over five hundred years has been at the centre of Florence's aristocratic life: one of the oldest dwellings in the San Frediano neighbourhood, it has stood as an important symbol of the city's history and its artistic value. The class of this elegant renaissance palace, evident upon entering, finds its maximum expression in the sumptuous suites and the luxurious hospitality quarters, furnished with candelabra, statues, paintings and frescoes form the '500. Each suite reflects the refinement of the Renaissance style, with the subtle combination of comfort and modern technology and decorated with tasteful antique furnishings and materials originating from the owners' ancestors' antique collection. Spanning between 80- and 120-square meters (860- and 1300- square feet) in size, the 13 suites each comprise a large living room, bedroom(s) and master bathroom(s). Each includes all amenities expected of a five-star luxury hotel, including stereo, satellite television in both the living room and bedroom, internet port and self-regulating air conditioning units. An architectural jewel of the 16th century, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni belongs to the National Register of Historical Monuments of the State of Italy. Detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprising the wanderer with frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings. The Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine lay-out. Breakfast, for instance, is served in a 160-square meter salon with hand-crafted wood ceilings illuminated by a large original Murano chandelier. In the winter evenings, this salon serves as an intimate, candle-lit Bar, accessible to Palazzo guests and their friends only. The same rules are applicable to the adjoining Billiard Room, as well as to the In-House Gym, so as to assure the guests with absolute privacy. The beautiful Roof-Top Terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar as soon as the temperature permits. Providing 24-hour Reception and Service, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is run by a staff dedicated to meet your every need with efficiency and discretion, both prior, during and following your stay. Services include reservations to exclusive restaurants, recommendations of typical local eateries and trattorias, coordination of privileged entrance to the city's museums, airport / train station pick-up, private shopping tours, visits to the Ferrari Museum and private, chauffeured excursions to the beautiful Chianti valley. Also, Palazzo guests choose from a selection of CDs, DVD films and soap fragrances for their suite, as well as benefit from private Guides to shopping and restaurants off the beaten path, personally written by the owners of the Palazzo for an "insider's view" of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Magnani Feroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Florence
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing