We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“The reviews are right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Ranked #19 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The reviews are right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We attend with kids in the family suite. This is clearly not typical for most people staying here but it works really well. The family suite is huge - an appartment with two bedrooms huge living room and kitchen diner too. Super amount of space for a family. The location of the hotel is great, very close but not in the midst of the tourist throng. No restaurant but loads of restaurants really a stones throw away. The breakfasts are excellent and the staff very helpful. Roof terrace also a magical space with fabulous views. The common parts and exterior are very discrete and uncommercial. But the service levels are indicative of a well run establishment. . Quibbles? If only to lend credibility to the review- the room was at the front of the hotel on the first floor and Italians let alone tourists after a few bottles of chianti are not famed for being quiet. With so much space the suite really would be better with a bath and not just showers. But the positive reviews are all correct and I would only want to emphasise that it works well as a location for kids in their family suite.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    93
    19
    13
    13
See reviews for
229
443
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a beautiful old mansion converted into suite style rooms. our family of 4 had a nice two bedroom suite. very spacious and comfortable. for americans there are a few quirks, which may be typical for florence... it was hard to get enough hot water for all of us to shower, and tricky to control the temperature of the rooms, but it was great having space for all of us to spread out. shower inside bathroom didnt have hot waer but new free standing shower in separate alcove in our space was very nice. lots of beautiful soaps but we often had to ask for more towels or toilet paper... promptly remedied, but having to ask was one of those little quirks where if you have a true five star expectation you might be annoyed. great location in a nice area just a ten minute walk from the ponte vecchio. staff at front desk was very very helpful and friendly. This is an elegant mansion but people looking for true five star amenities in every respect may take issue... the conversion makes the place a bit more interesting and funky than a conventional formal location. gorgeous roof terrace and courtyard, nice small work out room. beautiful dining room BUT I would say there was some oddness around dining. open from 7:30 to 10:30... over our stay we spanned the times... not really set up at 7:30 one morning when we were catching an early train, and first few days when we came jetlagged to breakfast close to 10:30 closing time we got a very grumpy reception from the waiter. there is an attempt at formal service for coffee, and the one waiter for the dining room seemed overworked.... self serve coffee in the dining room would make things easier for everyone... especially americans who want large amounts of coffee quickly... service was slow for coffee and it was very tough to get a second cup. self serve machines in lobby were great in comparison. we had one waiter during our stay who was outright rude and grumpy... others were very gracious. we really enjoyed our stay.... would not recommend for older people as there are many stairs and uneven stairs, etc... not an issue for us but would be for some....

Room Tip: quieter rooms do not face street... we had two bedroom suite for family of four.... if you have mobi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is like no other that I have stayed at. First off the service is exquisite especially the dining wait staff. Location wise it is off the beaten path on the south side of the river. The atmosphere is museum like --very tall ceilings, old paintings, elaborate decorations, and huge rooms. Our suite, the Guilia, consisted of a large sitting room and then a big bedroom. The bathroom was updated and remodeled. The breakfast was delicious and located on the second floor. The elevator is an antique itself. The problem I had is that the eloquent draperies and headboard coverings appeared to be very old and they smelled dusty to me. I personally do not like fabric covered headboards because of mites etc. Also, we stayed in the Guilia suite and there was construction nearly in the morning (so check to see if the construction is finished or if you get up by 8 don't worry about it). There was noise late at night coming from the homes directly across from our suite. Other than that--an interesting experience. We stayed in Italy for 12 days and were in five hotels, and this was my 14 year old son's second favorite hotel--very interesting place to stay.

Room Tip: Get an internal suite if the construction is not over or if you sleep past 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelhound2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This property is a real gem. My family and I (two daughters, 12 and 14) stayed here in late March, 2013 in a family suite that was incredibly charming. The entire hotel consists of only twelve rooms (or thereabout), but the staff is friendly, attentive and effective. We are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokey17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We recently returned from a 4 night stay. We can't say enough about how much this unique property added to our trip to Florence. Location across the Arno from the major attractions was still a convenient walk. The staff was discreet but always on hand to help with any request. Emmanuel, was night butler was absolutely delightful. We looked forward to wine in the hotel lobby and chatting with him each evening. Our room (Smerelda) was very inviting with frescoes on the walls and a private patio area. The breakfast was served in a lovely room on an upper floor with a delicious and extensive selection of food. Unfortunately, the rooftop lounge was not in use due to the cold weather but the view from there was breathtaking. It must be a wonderful place to sit in the warmer weather. Overall, we can't say enough about this fine hotel. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to Florence.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

From the moment we arrived we experienced nothing but friendliness and efficiency. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean with shining tiled floors and pristine carpets. Our suite was large, comfortable and beautifully quiet. It was great to be so close to the all the restaurants and sights and be able to return to such a peaceful haven. The service was impeccable and the staff members were very friendly without being intrusive. Although we hadn't mentioned it to them, we noticed that a broken light bulb in our bedroom had been replaced while we were out during the day. This kind of attention to detail was repeated throughout the whole hotel. This is definitely the best hotel we've ever stayed in and I would recommend it to anyone who want's to be sure of an enjoyable experience for a special occasion.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank 212MoiraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sb
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful hotel last March with our two small daughters and the experience was wonderful! Our room was huge and comfortable, really like a small apartment. Each floor had an espresso machine for guests and the breakfast was amazing. We spent the beginning of each evening on the roof as the terrace offers views of the entire city!! The staff was wecoming and very helpful and their restaurant suggestions were amazing. Well worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SbSpall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#13 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#16 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,335 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 1,079 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Lungarno
Hotel Lungarno
#17 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Magnani Feroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Property: Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Address: Borgo San Frediano 5, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Magnani Feroni 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an historical home that for over five hundred years has been at the centre of Florence's aristocratic life: one of the oldest dwellings in the San Frediano neighbourhood, it has stood as an important symbol of the city's history and its artistic value. The class of this elegant renaissance palace, evident upon entering, finds its maximum expression in the sumptuous suites and the luxurious hospitality quarters, furnished with candelabra, statues, paintings and frescoes form the '500. Each suite reflects the refinement of the Renaissance style, with the subtle combination of comfort and modern technology and decorated with tasteful antique furnishings and materials originating from the owners' ancestors' antique collection. Spanning between 80- and 120-square meters (860- and 1300- square feet) in size, the 13 suites each comprise a large living room, bedroom(s) and master bathroom(s). Each includes all amenities expected of a five-star luxury hotel, including stereo, satellite television in both the living room and bedroom, internet port and self-regulating air conditioning units. An architectural jewel of the 16th century, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni belongs to the National Register of Historical Monuments of the State of Italy. Detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprising the wanderer with frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings. The Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine lay-out. Breakfast, for instance, is served in a 160-square meter salon with hand-crafted wood ceilings illuminated by a large original Murano chandelier. In the winter evenings, this salon serves as an intimate, candle-lit Bar, accessible to Palazzo guests and their friends only. The same rules are applicable to the adjoining Billiard Room, as well as to the In-House Gym, so as to assure the guests with absolute privacy. The beautiful Roof-Top Terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar as soon as the temperature permits. Providing 24-hour Reception and Service, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is run by a staff dedicated to meet your every need with efficiency and discretion, both prior, during and following your stay. Services include reservations to exclusive restaurants, recommendations of typical local eateries and trattorias, coordination of privileged entrance to the city's museums, airport / train station pick-up, private shopping tours, visits to the Ferrari Museum and private, chauffeured excursions to the beautiful Chianti valley. Also, Palazzo guests choose from a selection of CDs, DVD films and soap fragrances for their suite, as well as benefit from private Guides to shopping and restaurants off the beaten path, personally written by the owners of the Palazzo for an "insider's view" of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Magnani Feroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Florence
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing