We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Fabulous time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Ranked #18 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for one week in December 2012, with our 3 year old son. We had a two bedroom suite, with the large living room. This room is huge - seriously these rooms a big. With soaring ceilings and large space it was a great space to play and spend time with our son when we weren't our exploring florence. The service was great too. We had breakfast each morning in the breakfast room which had lots of variety. Less than a 5 min walk to everything across the river. Nice and quiet when we were there. Tip for anyone staying there with a child - if you have a young child I would suggest not having a separate bedroom for them - the two bedroom suite was so big, we ended up not using the second bedroom as we felt we were too far away from our child at night - and probably wouldn't here him - the bedrooms were on either side of the living room. I would suggest organsing for a roll out bed to be placed in the main bedroom of the one bedroom suite, as you can still enjoy the other living space with the bedroom door closed. Downside - I only mentioned this as it may be applicable to people who are unable to go out for dinner at night. We weren't able to go out for dinner at night (early bed time for son), the room service wasnt' great as we had to rely on it each night for our son's dinner. Not much variety and not fabulous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    93
    19
    13
    13
See reviews for
233
443
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Palazzo Magnani. It was, without a doubt, a highlight of our vacation. This hotel has so many unique and wonderful elements; it is a small and quiet hotel in a gorgeous and perfectly restored palazzo. The location is superb; everything was within a 10 to 15 min walk, and the Ponte Vecchio is 2 blocks away. The hotel is so quiet and peaceful; you'd have no idea you're in the heart of Florence. We stayed in the Guiseppe suite with my 2 children. It's spacious, high ceilings, grand and elegant. From the opera music played at breakfast (delicious buffet), to the handmade soaps, along with the spectacular rooftop patio, this hotel ranks as one of my all time favorites. The staff couldn't be more helpful- an added plus. If you are looking for a quiet, low key and absolutely elegant experience; this is the place!

Room Tip: this is an all suites hotel. We loved the Guiseppe suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This wonderful hotel is located in a historic palace and has only twelve suites, along with several public spaces. It is quite grand and would normally be out of my price range, but they were running a special and that allowed me to stay at the Palazzo.

Pros:
The palace itself and the unusually large rooms.
The high level of cleanliness.
The terrific staff.
The location (on “Oltrarno,” the other side of the Arno, near Palazzo Pitti but far from the madding crowd).
The superb breakfast.
The rooftop terrace, with an amazing view of the city.

Cons:
My main beef was with the music. Most of four days I stayed here, there was the worst type of muzak playing, at a relatively high volume, in the lobby and the breakfast room. It made this glamourous Florentine palace sound like an elevator in a cheap department store. Every time I asked the staff to reduce the volume, they did so immediately, but I really think it's time to put on something more classy (or at least not so much in your face). Also, along with the beautiful antiques, there are some pretty tacky pieces (imitation Baroque angels galore). This made me think of the hotel as something of a Jekyll and Hyde: real beauty along with stuff that shouldn't be there. These issues do not detract from the fact that the Magnani Feroni is a very special place and I was delighted to stay there.

Caveat:
As is often the case, the professional photos on the site make some rooms look more beautiful than they actually are, mainly by making things seem brighter and larger.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dctraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
230 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Palazzo magnani feroni..wonderful, fabulous. We stayed for 5 nights and never had to take a taxi once. It is centrally located, within blocks of a number of fabulous restaurants. The staff is incredibly accommodating, the Guilia suite is huge with a warm, comfy feel. Free wifi. Great breakfast included..with white glove service, no less. TURN-down service every evening, with chocolates on the pillow! One thing that bothered us..just barely enough toilet paper..they either need to get bigger rolls or leave more than one small roll. Just being honest! Unique historic building. We stayed in mid November, but I can imagine how lovely it would be in the warmer months to sit on the rooftop terrace, with a wonderful view of the city, and have a drink and listen to the sounds of the city. Very, very clean with that old world feel. Had a couple of mis-steps, like the hotel confirming a dinner reservation at a restaurant that was closed on that Wednesday. And they gave us a card with a pass code for internet service..ours didn't work and we both had office work to do before we went out to dinner..woman at desk said she would send a new card right up..30 minutes later when we were both getting stressed, I had to go down to the office to get one. I'm missing some of my favorite US shows, but we did get FOX business news, CNN and the BBC. Would definitely return..first class place.

Room Tip: The second floor was very quiet in November..the Guilia room was Hugh and fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gkealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Four of us stayed in a two bedroom suite at this wonderful hotel for just 24 hours due to a tight schedule. Therefore, in advance, I requested that the hotel arrange three things for us: a lunch reservation, a dinner reservation, and an afternoon walking tour of the old historic center including a guided tour of the Uffizi Museum with an english speaking guide. All was arranged and confirmed in advance. It was a delightful experience to live in this palace with it's large suites, beautiful hallways, and other public spaces. The hotel is within walking distance of the train station and the historic center of town. The breakfast was sumptuous - we regretted that our schedule rushed us out. Service was excellent. Rooms were very quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I have visited Florence every year for several years now. The last several years we have had the privilege of staying at the Palazzo Magnani Feroni. This is a stunning, quiet hotel on the "other side of the Arno." Over the years we have enjoyed both Suite Dionora as well as Suite Beatrice...magnificent. The staff now welcomes us back as if we are family. The attention to detail is beyond compare and seemingly executed with the greatest of ease. We cannot imagine a more perfect start to a day in Florence than with breakfast in the stunning breakfast room. The panoramic view of Florence from the terrace is not to be missed. When we travel to Florence, there is only one place to stay and that is at the magnificent Palazzo Magnani Feroni. In this hectic, modern day, it is rare indeed to find a place that consistently and repeatedly exceeds expectations. Grazie mille to our dear friends at the Palazzo Magnani Feroni!! Cheri and Tom Kelley

Room Tip: The Suite Beatrice is marvelous and quiet!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TCKLouisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in a great suite. Excellent free breakfast. Great bathroom products, and custom soap. Could use new mattresses, and a blind or curtain on the bathroom door. Nice staff. Parking expensive, but told of price in advance. Perfect ambiance for Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seery50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#13 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#17 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,341 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Lungarno
Hotel Lungarno
#19 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Magnani Feroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Property: Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Address: Borgo San Frediano 5, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#15 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Magnani Feroni 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an historical home that for over five hundred years has been at the centre of Florence's aristocratic life: one of the oldest dwellings in the San Frediano neighbourhood, it has stood as an important symbol of the city's history and its artistic value. The class of this elegant renaissance palace, evident upon entering, finds its maximum expression in the sumptuous suites and the luxurious hospitality quarters, furnished with candelabra, statues, paintings and frescoes form the '500. Each suite reflects the refinement of the Renaissance style, with the subtle combination of comfort and modern technology and decorated with tasteful antique furnishings and materials originating from the owners' ancestors' antique collection. Spanning between 80- and 120-square meters (860- and 1300- square feet) in size, the 13 suites each comprise a large living room, bedroom(s) and master bathroom(s). Each includes all amenities expected of a five-star luxury hotel, including stereo, satellite television in both the living room and bedroom, internet port and self-regulating air conditioning units. An architectural jewel of the 16th century, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni belongs to the National Register of Historical Monuments of the State of Italy. Detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprising the wanderer with frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings. The Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine lay-out. Breakfast, for instance, is served in a 160-square meter salon with hand-crafted wood ceilings illuminated by a large original Murano chandelier. In the winter evenings, this salon serves as an intimate, candle-lit Bar, accessible to Palazzo guests and their friends only. The same rules are applicable to the adjoining Billiard Room, as well as to the In-House Gym, so as to assure the guests with absolute privacy. The beautiful Roof-Top Terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar as soon as the temperature permits. Providing 24-hour Reception and Service, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is run by a staff dedicated to meet your every need with efficiency and discretion, both prior, during and following your stay. Services include reservations to exclusive restaurants, recommendations of typical local eateries and trattorias, coordination of privileged entrance to the city's museums, airport / train station pick-up, private shopping tours, visits to the Ferrari Museum and private, chauffeured excursions to the beautiful Chianti valley. Also, Palazzo guests choose from a selection of CDs, DVD films and soap fragrances for their suite, as well as benefit from private Guides to shopping and restaurants off the beaten path, personally written by the owners of the Palazzo for an "insider's view" of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo Magnani Feroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Florence
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing