We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, very accomodating staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Ranked #20 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, very accomodating staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stayed here on the last night of a 5 day honeymoon trip in Europe and was very impressed. Beautiful room, convenient location, and very helpful staff. We arrived around 1:30pm and the room was not quite ready yet. We were given complimentary coffees at the bar while we waited and in less than 10 minutes everything was taken care of. Room was small by North American standards, but normal by European.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danny a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    97
    20
    14
    15
See reviews for
257
488
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed at the hotel with our daughter for a weekend in November - our second visit to the city but first visit to this hotel. The suites are beautifully furnished and very peaceful and private. It's certainly one of the best hotels in Italy and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful, especially Laurence on reception. You feel that it's your own home. They have complimentary tea and coffee making facilities on each floor- great idea! So pleased we found such a lovely hotel that we intend returning early in 2012.

Room Tip: The Feroni suites are large and airy and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eurotouristatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel is in a small street just south of the Arno. It's old but charming and full of character. It's not the right place if you're looking for a modern and design hotel. I didn't think I'd see a lift like the one in the hotel on this side of year 2000.
The rooms are very large and the ceilings at least 5m high. A real luxury in central Florence. The terrasse is spectacular, mostly enjoyable in the summer. The breakfast is very good quality, nothing special though.
The staff was very helpful and friendly, overall a very nice stay in Florence.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlightfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

My husband, myself and our three children (ages 13, 19, and 21) stayed at the Palazzo for 6 nights in August 2011. While not the ideal time to explore Florence due to the heat, we still had a wonderful experience because of the oasis that the Palazzo provided. The cool, spacious and quiet rooms provided a wonderful respite in the heat of the day. Evenings spent on the rooftop terrace were magnificent as we watched the sun set while enjoying a cool drink and delicious treats provided by the inconspicuous but attentive staff. Don't forget to get local restaurant recommendations from the ladies at the front desk - we never would have discovered those treasures without their help. I can not say enough about how wonderful the staff were, booking tours, serving breakfast, hailing taxis, and providing restaurant recommendations. A beautiful gem in a beautiful city. We can't wait to return to Florence and we won't hesitate to stay at the Palazzo again.

Room Tip: Rooms that face on to the street experience some road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boboandbamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We booked this as a special treat at the end of a week in Tuscany. On arrival we were informed that 'a pipe had burst in our room and it was totally unusable... but don't worry, we have booked you a room in another, local hotel!'
OK, maybe I just have a suspicious mind, and maybe our room really was underwater, but I certainly won't be making any more bookings at this hotel. We felt a bit used and abused, to be honest.
Definitely NOT recommended if you want to be sure where you're staying while you're in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank AlanT-B01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Proprietario at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
To all our Tripadvisor Readers,
this time we really feel the need to comment this review.
It is not nice and professional anymore to be rated, if someone did not even stay at your property. Comments can be made, but in this case Tripadvisor needs to publish a comment without a score. We, owners of properties do not have any chance anymore to get correct attention from Tripadvisor, because you can comment a review, but the only answer that you get from Tripadvisor are the guidelines, with no chance that something will happen or an action will be taken.
This review does not make any sense indicating a rating. A person cannot feel used and abused by a property. Everyone can post and the properties have no chance to comment or be heard by Tripadvisor, but can only respond to a review. This is why we need to use this comment to make a public announcement.
It is my primary point to say, that Palazzo Magnani Feroni reads every day the online reviews and take all comments into consideration to make all possible improvement and we listen to our guests, but this time we need to say that we feel abused. If properties can be rated from people that never stayed with you, then there is something wrong.
All online comments give hugh importance to our guest- and customer service and we absolutely cannot accept to get a zero rating for the service when someone did not even stay at our property.
We really ask to all readers, since the properties do not have any chance in all this, and since we personally like to be rated by the guests that stay with us, because we get many new suggestions and ideas as well and for sure it helps a lot to improve on a daily basis, that comments like this one, if real (another aspect that we cannot check from our side), need to be published without a score.
We apologize to respond to a comment like this, but there is no other chance that we get from Tripadvisor.
We thank you for considering the properties' side of view, that sometimes, like in this case, really need to make a review as well.
Our job is to satisfy our customers as much as we can and in all possible ways, that is what we are working for.
To all our readers a big Thank you,
Yours
Dr. Alberto and Claudia Giannotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauk, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

LOVED the hotel..like staying in a private palace! The folks at the front desk were 5 star with great recommendations for restaurants and assistence with sightseeing. The suite was HUGE and very romantic as was the rooftop terrace with sweeping views of Florence. The antique elevator was a fun surprise. The only downside was the noise from below our windows in the front of the hotel late at night. Obviously a club from the music and loud talking late into the night. However we dealt with it with Tylenol PM and earplugs. Worked wonders! Would still recommend this hotel.
Definately take a day trip to Piza and go up to Piazza Michaelangelo for the spectacular view.

Room Tip: Do not get a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Staying at the Palazzo was a highlight of our Italian vacation. Right from the moment we arrived, when we were escorted to our upgraded suite (Angelica), we felt welcomed and at home. The suite was massive! Huge living room full of gorgeous antiques and a generous mini bar, CD's to play and the bedroom was huge as well. We felt like royalty! The custom soaps were a nice touch, as well as the Bulgari bath products. The bathtub was tiny and not conducive to soaking, but it didn't matter!

The front desk staff were very helpful in their suggestions for restaurants, shopping etc. They also booked our train tickets (which we had forgotten to do upon arriving in Florence) and delivered them to our room.

We felt like we had the place to ourselves most of the time. Right outside our room was a huge sitting area, very peaceful, as well as a selection of coffee, tea and ice water that was always refreshed and waiting for us. In the lobby, there was also coffee and tea, and at teatime there was cake available.

The icing on the cake, however was the rooftop terrace. Every evening around 6:30 we would walk up the many, many stairs (so worth it!) and emerge onto the best rooftop patio we have ever seen. The view over Florence is breathtaking! Every evening they have a different cocktail for you to try, or whatever you might want, along with lovely tapas to enjoy as you watch the sun set over this beautiful city.

Truly magical!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshgirlbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Magnani Feroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Property: Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Address: Borgo San Frediano 5, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#17 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Magnani Feroni 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an historical home that for over five hundred years has been at the centre of Florence's aristocratic life: one of the oldest dwellings in the San Frediano neighbourhood, it has stood as an important symbol of the city's history and its artistic value. The class of this elegant renaissance palace, evident upon entering, finds its maximum expression in the sumptuous suites and the luxurious hospitality quarters, furnished with candelabra, statues, paintings and frescoes form the '500. Each suite reflects the refinement of the Renaissance style, with the subtle combination of comfort and modern technology and decorated with tasteful antique furnishings and materials originating from the owners' ancestors' antique collection. Spanning between 80- and 120-square meters (860- and 1300- square feet) in size, the 13 suites each comprise a large living room, bedroom(s) and master bathroom(s). Each includes all amenities expected of a five-star luxury hotel, including stereo, satellite television in both the living room and bedroom, internet port and self-regulating air conditioning units. An architectural jewel of the 16th century, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni belongs to the National Register of Historical Monuments of the State of Italy. Detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprising the wanderer with frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings. The Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine lay-out. Breakfast, for instance, is served in a 160-square meter salon with hand-crafted wood ceilings illuminated by a large original Murano chandelier. In the winter evenings, this salon serves as an intimate, candle-lit Bar, accessible to Palazzo guests and their friends only. The same rules are applicable to the adjoining Billiard Room, as well as to the In-House Gym, so as to assure the guests with absolute privacy. The beautiful Roof-Top Terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar as soon as the temperature permits. Providing 24-hour Reception and Service, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is run by a staff dedicated to meet your every need with efficiency and discretion, both prior, during and following your stay. Services include reservations to exclusive restaurants, recommendations of typical local eateries and trattorias, coordination of privileged entrance to the city's museums, airport / train station pick-up, private shopping tours, visits to the Ferrari Museum and private, chauffeured excursions to the beautiful Chianti valley. Also, Palazzo guests choose from a selection of CDs, DVD films and soap fragrances for their suite, as well as benefit from private Guides to shopping and restaurants off the beaten path, personally written by the owners of the Palazzo for an "insider's view" of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palazzo Magnani Feroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Florence
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing