We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic terrace with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Ranked #22 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Scenic terrace with great staff”
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Location: It's great for restaurants and artisan workshops. Florence is also small enough that you can walk to all the major attractions from this hotel. Sadly, there is grafiti in the neighbourhood that gives this area a grotty feel.

Room: Very clean, with unobtrusive servicing twice a day. Unlike other hotels, they wait till you leave the room (you are required to give the key to the reception). Chocolates and mineral water bottles during turndown service were greatly appreciated. Our 3 year looks forward to the chocolates each night.

Furnishings were a little tired but still grand and beautiful. A comfortable sitting area separate from the bedroom is a whole lot of space for our 3 year old to run around (and luckily not break any of the beautiul vases or bottles of wine from the owner's vineyards out in the country)

Our room had a bathtub you might find in a lesser hotel. That was something I feel the hotel should upgrade on. The entire bathroom is old fashion and the toilet seat DOES NOT FIT. In room literature suggests that they renovated last in 2002.

We stayed in the Lucrezia room (all rooms named after the relatives of the owner) which is opposite the reception. This is great if you have a stroller and a grouchy preschooler because the other rooms are via a charming ancient small lift.

Service: Professional and warmth, they are the best I've encountered in 4 hotels in Italy. They will try their best to accomodate any requests and are unobtrusive. My 3 year old adores Nena at the reception!

Breakfast: Good selection of hams, pastries, fruits and juices. Also had scrambled eggs and instant noodles that they call asiatic noodles. Staff at the beautiful breakfast area are very friendly. Thanks to the Filipino supervisor who presents our cappucinos with a heart shape and chocolate. They make a great start to the day!

The internet point is available by 24 hour passes that you can purchase from the reception.

The only thing I am uncomfortable with this hotel is that there is a sign at the reception that offers a free drink at the terrace if you write a positive review in tripadvisor. I didn't go for this offer as it feels like a bribe. This hotel is performing well and does not need this sort of "effort".

Another thing to note is that if you utilise any offer in their website while booking, the special offer (private transfer from/to airport) in tripadvisor is invalid. They failed to communicate this to me even though I mentioned it in my correspondence and booking. This misunderstanding nearly made us late for our flight from Florence!

Room Tip: The fresco room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fucheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Proprietario at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Dear Palazzo Guests,
we thank you for taking time to write such a nice and detailed description of your Florence Palace stay with us. We are very happy to understand that you and your family enjoyed your Florence visit.
As always we try to answer especially the points that may require an explanation and we would therefore like to take some points to better explain to all Tripadvisor readers.
The Lucrezia Suite corresponds to our Executive Suite category and the bathrooms are smaller than the Deluxe or Feroni bathrooms. Executive and Deluxe Suites have bathtubs with an integrated shower, while Feroni Suites may offer both, a bath tub and a shower box. The bathrooms were all constructed in 2002, but the flooring for example in some bathrooms is the original one of the palace. Some bathrooms are floored with the original ancient terracotta floors, that are treated with a special polish every day to maintain the tiles. We are very sorry about the toilet seat that was not fixed properly, that was checked and repaired of course immediately.
Concerning the sign at the Reception, that was positioned there only for a few days, because the tripadvisor review cards, that we give to our guests to enhance writing on the websites were terminated. This sign actually did not say to write a positive comment, but just to please write a comment about the palace stay.
You are right in saying that the Special Offer for Tripadvisor readers is not valid if associated with other special offers. Offers are not addable unfortunately. We re-issued the offer to better explain this, thank you for mentioning that.
From all of our staff members a big Thank You for your preference in booking the Palazzo for your Florence trip, hopefully to welcome you back in the future,
Sincerely Yours
Dr. Alberto and Claudia Giannotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    104
    22
    14
    16
See reviews for
269
517
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

From the photos on the website this looked like a proper luxurious palatial hotel. The entrance was indeed quite impressive, apart from a modern gym on the entrance corridor looking very incongruous. There was a lovely lift (elevator) from the ?20s, some beautiful antiques, and a billard/pool table which guests had access to. The terrace bar had excellent views and good service.
Below are the pros and cons of the hotel and our suite:
Our suite was the Carlotta Suite
Pros: It was very spacious, the bed was comfy, housekeeping did an excellent job in providing new towels and sheets. The toiletries were Bvlgari and luxurious and it was very clean.
Cons: The decor of the living area was dated, the safe was falling apart, it was 'fixed' when we mentioned it to reception but further failure resulted in our valuables being inaccessible. The television in the bedroom was on a tall Roman style column, then on a dvd player and then on a digital TV box meaning it was very unstable and precariously balanced. All of the wires were plugged into one multi-plug adaptor and one wall socket. The shower had sections on it that looked like bare concrete and therefore grotty (altough no fault of the housekeeping staff).
WiFi was charged extra despite the expense of the hotel, and the breakfast prices were extortionate - 25 Euro although this was optional and we chose to eat breakfast elsewhere.
In summary, a welcoming and enjoyable stay, but for a 5 star experience we were somewhat disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IngridandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Proprietario at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Dear Palace Guest,
reading you Tripadvisor comment that you left for us and all community readers would like to make us consider some points that you were not satisfied with. We think that this community is a great mean to make clear all guests' points and to improve ourselves continuously.
we would like to comment first of all the breakfast and rate point, that as you can see on your room confirmation and on the websites where you booked, that you booked our first price 'DOUBLE ROOM WITHOUT BREAKFAST'. As you will see on our own websites all rates include breakfast, but there are some travel providers' websites that exclude breakfast, that is clearly stated. Since the Palace offers only suites, but have one double bedroom (that normally is connected to a Deluxe Suite in case of 4 guests), that is promoted during some time periods of the year. This would be the only room and not suite in the palace, but as you can see, we upgraded you anyhow into a suite, because we always try to best accommodate our guests and to avoid the double bedroom accommodation.
We of course would always recommend to book breakfast included rates, that are 'complete' rates, but as we said, some websites promote as well 'breakfast excluded' rates.
The decor of the classic suite that you were upgraded to, is a standard suite type, not deluxe and differs in furniture and fabrics and bath. The suite is approx 100 sq.m. and very big and comfortable. We are sorry if you had the feeling that the decor was dated, since all of our suites are updated continuously and we really try hard every day to make all necessary improvements. Our aim is to satisfy our palace guests wherever possible and our job is to make experience a real Florence noble Palace experience, taking care of all points. All the comments that we read are read personally by us and many great hints are given to help us in doing our job in the best possible way.
We really hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future, please feel always free to contact us for anything that you may need from Florence,
sincerely Yours
Dr. Alberto and Claudia Giannotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

In prior trips to Florence, I'd always stayed right in the city center, to be near the Uffizi, Duomo, etc, and was worried about staying in this hotel across the Arno. But I shouldn't have been: this is a real gem. First, the location is just 4 or 5 minutes by foot from the Ponte Vecchio, so don't worry about being far from the tourist sites. Second, it has only 12 unique rooms in a 17th century palace. The staff is ultra-helpful, the rooms are large and plush with lot of amenities (coffee, refrigerator, wireless, exercise room, fancy soaps, etc) and the price was very reasonable considering what you get. You could pay a lot more at some brand-name hotels in Florence and get a lot less. If you want a luxury experience, you can't go wrong here. I'm pretty demanding about hotels and I really had nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: only 12 suites, each room is great; reserve early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_Flyer_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Proprietario at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear Palazzo Magnani Feroni Guest,
we really would like to thank you for your kind comment that you left for all readers of the travel community and for us on the websites.
We are very happy to read your review, especially you knowing Florence before! We are honored to see that you chose our palace on the opposite Arno river side for your this years' Florence stay and explaining the location to all readers. Thank you as well for telling our amenities and for appreciating our staff members dedication to serve our guests.
As you describe our Palace offers only 12 suites and therefore our guests might feel the palace and our services very private.
We really hope to welcome you back soon and please feel free to contact us anytime for anything that you may request from Florence,
Sincerely Yours
Dr. Alberto and Claudia Giannotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

This hotel is a cultural and historical attraction itself! The atmosphere is a true Florence, great taste is in everything. Perfect location, great service!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katovasya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Proprietario at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear Palazzo Guest,
a big thank you for commenting your stay with us at the Florence Palace!
We believe a lot in the travel community of Tripadvisor that make it possible for guests to describe each experience and for us to listen to our guests.
We really hope to welcome you back in the future,
best regards from Florence,
Yours
Dr. Alberto and Claudia Giannotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2011

First trip to Florence and we stayed at this hotel...hotel is the understatement. Is is very discreet and very private. The old fashioned elevator with the mahogany doors and metal grid sets the mood. The lobby and outdoor gardens are very nice but the roof top terrace with panaramic views of the Duomo and Santo Spirito took your breath away, The hotel's staff turned on the outdoor heaters each night so we could enjoy the evening. The suite was beyond lovely..another tripadvisor reviewer stated it best..."...understated and faded glory..." The living room was very spacious and the bedroom was nice but the bath was very modern and soothing. The concierge was totally accomodating It was perfect. I am a school teacher and I could find ZERO o complain about. The champagne breakfast was delicious. Custom omlettes, freshly squeezed blood red orange juice, fruit, cheese, cereal, pastries, all delicious.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank player33510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Proprietario at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear Palace Guest,
thank you for describing your palace stay ! We are very glad to understand that you really enjoyed your Florence trip with us and that you appreciated all our services, such as the breakfast, the suite, the roof-top terrace with its unique view all over the town and the courtyard and lobby.
Thank you for mentioning all aspects that you experienced inside the property.
We often say, that we are always open to hear our guests to improve as much as possible and to listen to our guests. That make us grow together with our guests. But we are so honored to read that you found 'zero', we really thank you for saying that.
Hopefully to welcome you back in Florence and at the Palace one day,
please feel free to contact us for anything that you might request,
best regards from Florence,
Dr. Alberto and Claudia Giannotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2011

A rare experience, in the heart of Florence, with beautiful rooms and spacious suites.
The living areas were all furnished with fabulous antiques, the bedroom was spacious with
luxury linens, and the bathroom had all the amenities with gorgeous marble everywhere!
It felt like the entire palazzo was mine! Many common spaces, a wonderful rooftop lounge that overlooks the duomo, ponte vecchio, and other major landmarks. The location for the hotel was only a block from the Arno in a more residential area, 2 bridges down from the ponte vecchio...The staff was more than warm and helpful. We had incredible service and I highly recommend this for a real experience of a palazzo that is shared by Ferragamo....LUXURY!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdevoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Proprietario at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear Palazzo Magnani Feroni guest,
thank you very much for commenting your Florence Palace experience with us on the Tripadvisor websites. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and all areas of the palace.
Thank you as well for describing our location and our staff so nicely. We are training our staff continuously by ourselves and we are very happy to be able to transmit their guest care service and their love in doing their job.
The only thing that we would like to mention is that we are not the Ferragamo family, but you are right because in the historic centre of Florence there are two palaces, one owned by Ferragamo that is called 'Palazzo Feroni' and our palace called 'Palazzo Magnani Feroni'. In ancient times the Feroni family owned both properties, but later on one was bought by the Ferragamo family and the other one by Alberto's great-grandfather. So today the two properties are owned differently.
Hopefully to welcome you back in the future, please feel always free to contact us for anything,
Our best wishes from Florence,
Yours
Dr. Alberto and Claudia Giannotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We could hardly fault the hotel and service, each room has it's own personality and unique artwork plus the location is perfect, in easy reach of all the main attractions. The stay was made extra special by the staff's friendliness and attention to detail, ensuring that their guests' comfort and enjoyment was off paramount concern. The roof terrace is a great place to view Florence and to watch the sun go down and the cocktails and nibbles in the bar area are highly recommended.
The only fault we found was that the suite we had booked was near to the lift on the gound floor and as such, is exposed to the noise of the lift reverberating around it, making sleeping difficult. However, the staff were more than happy to accomodate us elsewhere in the hotel once we had raised the issue with them.
All in all I would highly recommend this hotel for it's history, stylishness and first class service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PC7104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Proprietario at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear Palace Guests,
thank you very much for reviewing our Palazzo! A special thank you from our staff that you mentioned so highly.
We are very glad to see that you experienced the Palazzo and the roof-top to best appreciate the Medici city of Florence and the art works.
We really hope to be able to welcome you back in the future , please feel free to contact us for anything that you might request from Florence,
Sincerely Yours
Dr. Alberto and Claudia Giannotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 422 in Florence
1,188 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 422 in Florence
1,243 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#27 of 422 in Florence
619 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Magnani Feroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Property: Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Address: Borgo San Frediano, 5, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Magnani Feroni 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an historical home that for over five hundred years has been at the centre of Florence's aristocratic life: one of the oldest dwellings in the San Frediano neighbourhood, it has stood as an important symbol of the city's history and its artistic value. The class of this elegant renaissance palace, evident upon entering, finds its maximum expression in the sumptuous suites and the luxurious hospitality quarters, furnished with candelabra, statues, paintings and frescoes form the '500. Each suite reflects the refinement of the Renaissance style, with the subtle combination of comfort and modern technology and decorated with tasteful antique furnishings and materials originating from the owners' ancestors' antique collection. Spanning between 80- and 120-square meters (860- and 1300- square feet) in size, the 13 suites each comprise a large living room, bedroom(s) and master bathroom(s). Each includes all amenities expected of a five-star luxury hotel, including stereo, satellite television in both the living room and bedroom, internet port and self-regulating air conditioning units. An architectural jewel of the 16th century, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni belongs to the National Register of Historical Monuments of the State of Italy. Detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprising the wanderer with frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings. The Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine lay-out. Breakfast, for instance, is served in a 160-square meter salon with hand-crafted wood ceilings illuminated by a large original Murano chandelier. In the winter evenings, this salon serves as an intimate, candle-lit Bar, accessible to Palazzo guests and their friends only. The same rules are applicable to the adjoining Billiard Room, as well as to the In-House Gym, so as to assure the guests with absolute privacy. The beautiful Roof-Top Terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar as soon as the temperature permits. Providing 24-hour Reception and Service, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is run by a staff dedicated to meet your every need with efficiency and discretion, both prior, during and following your stay. Services include reservations to exclusive restaurants, recommendations of typical local eateries and trattorias, coordination of privileged entrance to the city's museums, airport / train station pick-up, private shopping tours, visits to the Ferrari Museum and private, chauffeured excursions to the beautiful Chianti valley. Also, Palazzo guests choose from a selection of CDs, DVD films and soap fragrances for their suite, as well as benefit from private Guides to shopping and restaurants off the beaten path, personally written by the owners of the Palazzo for an "insider's view" of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Magnani Feroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Florence
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing