We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,574)
Filter reviews
2,574 results
Traveler rating
1,650
742
132
28
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,650
742
132
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room san marco train station overlooking the garden lovely hotel breakfast room within walking distance welcome drink first floor pollo minute walk deluxe room quiet street croissants excellent breakfast major sites around the corner
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 2,574 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed here for 4 days in Nov'2018. A quick summary is awesome hotel, wonderful staff, and great location. Also would like to say thanks for the great service from Judith and Dina from the up front staff......

Room tip: Go for the Deluxe Room
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kevin, Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to know that you had a great vacation and experience with our hotel and our service. We hope to see you again next time. All the best, Dina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an exhausting trip from Orlando when we landed in Florence. We landed and had the hotel's shuttle pick us up, which was more expensive but was well worth it.
The staff greeted us and could speak English very well. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable and we had a balcony with a beautify view of the city. It was a tad noisy at night, but its a city and you are in the center of it. The bed and bath were very comfortable and accessible and I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to my friends!

Room tip: Get a balcony on the top floor, you won't regret it!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2016andiamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sir, We thank you for your very nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and for your understanding about the city noise. We hope to see you again soon and your friends as well. best regards, Dina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2018

I was not sure that I have selected a good hotel (despite all the good comments I read here) before arriving at the Hotel. We stayed first in the room 80 with garden view in the 1st floor, but after 2 days we changed to a bigger one (room 81), which was even better. Very spacious and silent. I guess the quietest hotel room I have ever stayed. Not sure about the other rooms, but at this one I had no problems to sleep, which is something I care a lot about.
Breakfast room was not very big, but the selection was ok. The building is also very beautiful. At walking distance there are many restaurants, cafes, small markets and also many city attractions. The people in the reception were also very nice and ready to help. Would definitely come back again. A good choice in Florence among so many options.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna Paula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Paula, We thank you very much for your lovely review on our hotel. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and you had a good night rest before exploring the wonderful city of Florence. Thank you also for mentioning the reception staff and make our hotel stand out amongst other options. We are continually doing our best to improve our service every single day. We are looking forward to have you again as our guests. best regards, Dina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2018

Upon our arrival were 2 men were at the front desk. One with a beard/rude and smiled but hates his job (not wanting to be helpful or give details about the hotel/anythg). The other seemed annoyed we were even asking for our rm key (which you must return to every time you leave hotel-bc we were told they only have 1). If your room seems to missing (basic stuff) and the correct amounts for the number of people you made a reservation for...ask JUDITH for assistance at the front desk. We found she was the ONLY employee with a customer service-professional caring attitude. This hotel has amenities that (should already be set out) we had to ask for on the daily: instant coffee, free water bottles, kettle/coffee/tea, in mini fridge), replenish correct amount of towels, body soap, cups etc...house keeping never left the correct amounts (3).We stayed for a full week and this we had to stop at front desk daily to ask for "3" to be replenished... The hotel also has plush robes and slipper but you MUST ask for them or they are not already in the rooms. Im not a princess but when on vacation...after a long day of sight seeing...I want to feel like a one! Notice the ice cream freezer next to front desk? We did on the last day and the ice cream is free for guests!! How nice but no one told us ANYTHG upon arrival so we had to ask lots of questions and annoyed beard guy daily:-> When we asked the guy with the beard of a pizza place near by he would recommend... his answer was-you pick what you like. Perhaps translation miscmun? If we knew of a pizza place near by...we wouldn't be asking him (we were jet lagged and starving). He just wanted to sit behind the desk and smirk and not be helpful. I will admit the free breakfast was delicious and had a really nice selection for every one in the family. They even had a bloody Mary bar! We visited Florence during "save the environment" time so no ac was available but they would heat the floors- and our room was about 78-80 degrees every night...so no sleep was had. We had to buy a fan and sleep with window and blinds open. We feel all these things minus the ac issue could have all been taken care of had the beard guy and coworker cared to assist. So for that I give Average not 5 circles.

Room tip: Garden rm windows open tiny...rms are super hot at night in Oct/Nov no ac is avail during this time of year.JUDITH AT FRONT DESK FOR ANYTHG
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Manager at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Dear Ms. Merlino,

I do thank you for your review and yes I agree you were expected to feel like a princess when on vacation. Our business is to try to make our guest feeling like that. I am sorry we did not with, however Judith and the breakfast were very appreciated.
Your opinion is just an excellent reminder for everybody. Thank you.
Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

Nice hotel with great accommodations.Good breakfast every morning to start your day. Perfect location, walking distance to all the sites. Free good working wifi. Parking is available as well if you have a car. Would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear John,
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon.
Best regards.
Mirela Radu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews