We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #42 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. The location is great; 5 min walk to the Duomo, tucked away from the noisier streets. Great to use as a home base, while walking around the city.
The rooms are spacious, quiet and meticulously clean. They offer complimentary breaksfasts between 7-9am, and you should make a point out of taking advantage of it. (fresh squeeze OJ, pastries, toast, cheese, slice meats, all coffee/exresso options, yogurts, jams, fruits... one morning, they even had champagne.) Free WiFi in room, room safe, bathroom with bathtub and shower.
The entire hotel is spotless, the housekeeping staff is amazing, quiet,(we were never woken up) and obviously take pride in their jobs.
The only reason I don't give this hotel 5 stars, is the staff at the front desk. They are fluent in many languages, polite, and attentive.... just not all that helpful. It made us think that perhaps the owner had just hired them?
Overall, it's a good place to stay, good location, but if you're a hesitant traveller, don't depend on the efficiency of the front staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 30someTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear 30someTraveller,
We appreciate you writing a review. Every review helps us reflect and better our service. I'm sorry you were not satisfied with the front desk help. However, it is nice to read you enjoyed our varied breakfast (7:30 am to 9:30am) and the room.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,127)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Orto De Medici
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

786 - 792 of 2,129 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

My new wife and I had a delightful stay at Orto de Medici in Florence.

The room was lovely, the staff was friendly and helpful, especially with the Apple computers in the business center, which I was unfamiliar with.

Throughout Italy, the beds and pillows are hard, and the queen beds are simply two double sized mattresses pushed together. I cannot fault them for conforming to this trend. They did find a baby pillow for my wife, which was softer than their usual pillows. Points for effort!

The hotel is in a super location (most of the city is within easy walking distance), and their list of recommended restaurants is exceptional.

I look forward to my next stay with them!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHoward6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for the great review! I'm happy we were able to some what solve the pillow issue. Wishing you and your new wife the best. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Ciao from Florence!
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights b&b while visiting our daughter who lives in Italy. Nice service at reception and room comfortable, bright and quiet. Could do with a chair in the room and I had to ask for one and received a dining room chair. Breakfast was very good, buffet style. Overall very good and we may come back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Great to know you had a pleasant stay. Hope to have you again as our guests.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The staff at Orto de Medici try hard to be accommodating to guests. My friend and I stayed in what was described as a "basic room" which could have done with some refreshing, but it was perfectly adequate, I believe that there are finer rooms at this hotel. Its location is a strong point, central but still quiet If the hotel could ensure consistency of quality of all of its rooms, then it would have no difficulty in moving up the trip advisor rankings.
BTW

Room Tip: choose a "classic" or "superior" room to get the best out of this hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Bik W,
Thanks for your review and especially thanks for the suggestions that you give us! Your opinion is always valuable for us and we are pleased to read it.
Thank you and see you soon
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is near enough the action being 10 minutes walk from the train station and the duomo, but far enough away from the noise to give a peaceful stay. Breakfasts are pleasant with the welcome addition of chilled prosecco to start the day in style. The public areas are attractive and welcoming. Bedrooms are on the spartan side of minimalist and could do with having a chair and a more generous range and size of toiletries.

Overall, expensive for what was on offer but worth considering if budget is not an issue.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quiet. There are a couple of rooms off reception which may be very noisy
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flying_rugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Flying_rugs,
Don't forget nex time to check all the great special offers we provide online, to save money booking fairly in advance. Low season is almost arrived, the best time to take advantage of the very low prices of the hotel (you can save up to 70% from the high season rates), the shopping discounts, and the Christmas cosy atmosphere in the mild Italian climate.
Thank you
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We arrived at the hotel from the train station in 2 taxis and, a lot of luggage. No one help us with the luggage or, offer to show us to our rooms. The elevator was small and, slow; take the stairs if you prefer the workout.

Breakfast was basic, the rooms are noisy and, dark. On the second day we returned to a dusty hallway due to the construction/upgrade next door. Our request for change of room was met with deaf ears by the staffs. Good thing about this place: good location to the D'Academia, La Specola and, a few other Florentine landmarks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear jmy71,
thanks for your review. Unfortunately, when you wait too much to post a review, memories start to fade and it becomes easier to confuse the things. You selected as date of your stay June 2013, and now, 4 months later, you write that the hotel is close to the Accademia Museum (which is definitely true) and to the Specola Museum (which is wrong, it is definitely in the opposite side of the town)... I think you also confused us with another hotel, since we had no renovation undergoing in June: last renovation was in February/March 2013.

We are a 3-star hotel and we offer a lot of extra services for our category (you can read how many reviews rate us 4-star), but are not 4-starred, so do not exceed your expectations, please! For instance we do not offer a porterage service: there must be some difference if we decided to keep to be rated as 3 stars ("superior" 3-stars actually).

I am sorry if we could not meet all you requests, but it is unfair to write we made "deaf ears". June is the highest season (especially during the Fashion weeks!), so if you did not book a higher level room it can be very difficult for us to propose an upgrade or a room change. I am sure this was gently explained to you after your request, and we will keep in mind, for the future, to explain it even clearer.

Nevertheless I am glad you could take advantage of our convenient location to explore the city of Florence, historical district.

Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I picked Hotel Orto De Medici based on guide books and trip advisor. When we arrived we found out there was a slight mix-up with our room. After the first night the hotel generously upgraded us to a beautiful junior suite. We stayed 5 nights, left for a few days and came back for our last night which they upgraded again to a beautiful room. The hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. They made our stay in Florence exceptional and we look forward to staying with them again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2-treat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you lots for the feedback. It is always a pleasure to read about a great stay. We apologize for the mix up and I'm glad we were able to make it up to you both times. Hope to see you again soon.
Ciao from Florence
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 411 in Florence
1,966 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 411 in Florence
800 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 411 in Florence
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#44 of 411 in Florence
1,162 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#30 of 411 in Florence
2,331 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $115 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing