We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be 4 stars...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #38 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here at the end of September 2013. We picked this hotel because it got decent reviews on tripadvisor and the like and location was right for our visit.

Pros: The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was on the corner of third floor (#30) and faced the street. The room and bathroom were well sized with a fairly comfortable bed and a couple of chairs. Breakfast was included with the fare and was good for a free breakfast. I liked the fresh orange juice, croissants and coffee machine. Breakfast is served on the first floor in both an indoor room with ten or so tables as well as a connected outdoor patio.

Cons: I would recommend anyone who is a light or border line light sleeper to bring earplugs. We heard many people in the hallway, people moving chairs in the room above us, and some noise from the street. The garbage/recycling collection (which happened multiple mornings over the course of five days) was quite bothersome as the bins full of loose glass bottles are dumped into collection trucks at about 5 a.m.

My biggest complaint was the key policy. You are required to leave your key at the front desk when you leave the hotel, which isn't really an issue. However, when you come back, you just tell them a room number and they give you the key no questions asked. I saw at least 4 different receptionists who my first interactions with were getting our room key. None asked for any form of identification which I find a little unnerving. If that was changed, I would have given the hotel a 4 star rating instead of 3.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Jeff V,
Thank you for writing a review. All suggestions and opinions are always welcome. I'm glad you found our staff accommodating and also enjoyed the breakfast. We apologize if you had some trouble sleeping. As for the key policy, I can assure you we have never had any problems or issues with giving back the keys to the correct guests, let alone giving out keys to "strangers". Nevertheless, we apologize if this did not make you feel very comfortable.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

853 - 859 of 2,219 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

To be honest, for the price we were paying (>300Eur/night), I thought the rooms would be much better. On the first night, we got room 3, if you are going to stay here then you really don't want this room. It is on the 1st floor between the breakfast hall and the breakfast hall toilet. You get the staff & Italian radio @ 7am as they start service. We changed rooms for the second night, up on the 3rd floor, a very similar room but thankfully quieter. In both of the rooms we had, you could actually touch all 4 walls without getting out of the bed and the ensuite was a bit mouldy, cracked tiles, standard plug with hairdryer next to the sort of weird mini crouchy bath/shower thing. Both windows had a spectacular view of a concrete wall 2m away. We tried the breakfast on day 1 but it was rubbish (coffee from a vending machine in Italy!) & DIY toast ..didn't bother on day 2. ..Day 3 we moved to another hotel, paid roughly the same price and got a fantastic modern room overlooking the river... This place really felt quite like a Youth Hostel, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Danny88_13,

Just let me explain you something: when you book a flight at the very last minute you shall expect to pay a higher price for the ticket, even if you are receiving the same exact service as the passenger seated next to you, who paid a third of your price booking with months in advance. In hotellerie it is going to be the same with the dynamic rates: who books first will get the best discount, the second a less convenient one and so on, until the last rooms booked which are going to get paid in full.

I am sorry if you were disappointed with your experience, but you decided to travel to Florence in the most crowded and expensive period of the year (September/October) when hotels have so many guests that makes it difficult to satisfy all the special requests, especially those arriving at the last minute.

To be honest, I appreciate all the suggestions and feedbacks, but the way you called the breakfast is just a depreciative compensation of your dissatisfaction with the room. All the other reviews prove it. It looks like you did not wanted to see the fresh pastries and bread, the salami and mortadella, the cheese, the yogurt, the fresh fruit-salad, the freshly squeezed orange juice, the cereals, the daily boiled eggs, all the fresh drinks, the free open bar, the Nutella, the jams in mini-jars of glass, the biscuits, the plumcakes, the honey, the fresh fruits and all the rest!

I am almost sure you were not paying 300 euros for all the days you were here, but maybe for a very busy night only, probably the first one. The next days your rate was something in the range of 200-250 euros. For what you paid in the next four-star hotel you stayed in (+100/150 euros a night, you write it in your next review), you could take a chance on upgrading to one of our superior room with private balcony and amazing view from the top floor, which actually are much cheaper than that.

But the next time you might consider to take a holiday, please try to book fairly in advance.

Thank you

Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Quiet, yet convenient to central Florence, I would return to the Hotel Orto De Medici in a minute. The staff are friendly and professional. The breakfast room and courtyard is wonderful. The room is roomier and the availability of the frozen fruit bars in the lobby was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvwhct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Gvwhct,
Thanks for your very nice review!
I promise next time you will visit us you will find new improvements and new ideas that will worth a another review to mention them!
Grazie!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

A great location close to the Academia (to view the David) but quieter than many of the streets in the area. A beautiful lobby and courtyard for breakfast help to make it a wonderful retreat from a busy day of sight-seeing. It's an easy walk to all of the major sights.
The staff are friendly and welcoming and the rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed.
We stayed for three nights and would definitely recommend Orto De Medici!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DayDreamer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear DayDreamer21,
Your review is brief, but it highlights all the most important features of the hotel: location, building, staff, breakfast, rooms. I really appreciate it, thank you.
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Good location very close to Academia and 10 mins walk from Duomo. Safe location. Parking! Nice lobby, library, and courtyard for bar/breakfast. Continental breakfast buffet every morning. The bathrooms are even nice but they could spend 50 euro to update the rooms with nicer linens/pictures and replace the old wooden desk with a lovely chair. Staff wasnt the most helpful yet did speak English very well. A perfectly fine 3 star hotel where youd feel very comfortable staying.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mocha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for all your suggestions! We are nevertheless not looking to upgrade to four star (with higher prices), but we will definitely keep improving as a Superior 3-star hotel as we are.
Thank you
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Orto De' Medici was beautiful, food ever so yummy, rooms modern and very comfortable. The prize however is taken by Francesco the hotel receptionist. We lost our phone in a cab, the city with hundreds cabs---we thought it was gone forever. Francesco somehow found our phone and saved the day! This feat would have never happened in New York, no how, no way. Florence is our favorite city not only because of the history and beautiful buildings but because of Francesco and his kind efforts to help us in a time of need. Thanks again Francesco, if you ever come to Florida look us up! Kimberly, Jacksonville

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Kimberly,
You are really welcome! I am pleased I could help you to find your missing telephone, and I have to thank the taxi company to make it rather quick to find.
I look forward to seeing you again, who knows, in Italy or in Florida!
Thank you!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel Orte De Medici is in a quiet location handy to the station, easy walking distance of all areas of importance with San Marco Square and the Galleria dell Accademia just around the corner. The staff are great with a recommendation for every query especially local dinning and attractions. We stayed for 4 nights early September in 1 of the 2 wheelchair accessible rooms in the older part of the hotel. The room was old with a tiled floor, very high ceilings, very clean, the bed was very good, the wifi was free, the breakfast was included and was great out on the terrace area, the room was very large with plenty of room for the wheelchair and had everything you needed. Unfortunately the bathroom was minute, it had a good shower chair but you could not fit the wheelchair and the shower chair in the bathroom at the same time. Other than the bathroom (which you can make work by leaving the door open and the aid of a partner) the Hotel is well located and good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheelietrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you may have had some trouble with the shower, we will make note about checking our wheelchair accessible rooms. However, I am happy you enjoyed your overall stay. Hope to have you again as our guests.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 410 in Florence
2,388 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,845 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#43 of 410 in Florence
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,822 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $91 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing