We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Florence!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #50 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Florence!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

A great location close to the Academia (to view the David) but quieter than many of the streets in the area. A beautiful lobby and courtyard for breakfast help to make it a wonderful retreat from a busy day of sight-seeing. It's an easy walk to all of the major sights.
The staff are friendly and welcoming and the rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed.
We stayed for three nights and would definitely recommend Orto De Medici!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DayDreamer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear DayDreamer21,
Your review is brief, but it highlights all the most important features of the hotel: location, building, staff, breakfast, rooms. I really appreciate it, thank you.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,240
    624
    114
    27
    21
See reviews for
427
1,012
97
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Good location very close to Academia and 10 mins walk from Duomo. Safe location. Parking! Nice lobby, library, and courtyard for bar/breakfast. Continental breakfast buffet every morning. The bathrooms are even nice but they could spend 50 euro to update the rooms with nicer linens/pictures and replace the old wooden desk with a lovely chair. Staff wasnt the most helpful yet did speak English very well. A perfectly fine 3 star hotel where youd feel very comfortable staying.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mocha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for all your suggestions! We are nevertheless not looking to upgrade to four star (with higher prices), but we will definitely keep improving as a Superior 3-star hotel as we are.
Thank you
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Orto De' Medici was beautiful, food ever so yummy, rooms modern and very comfortable. The prize however is taken by Francesco the hotel receptionist. We lost our phone in a cab, the city with hundreds cabs---we thought it was gone forever. Francesco somehow found our phone and saved the day! This feat would have never happened in New York, no how, no way. Florence is our favorite city not only because of the history and beautiful buildings but because of Francesco and his kind efforts to help us in a time of need. Thanks again Francesco, if you ever come to Florida look us up! Kimberly, Jacksonville

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Kimberly,
You are really welcome! I am pleased I could help you to find your missing telephone, and I have to thank the taxi company to make it rather quick to find.
I look forward to seeing you again, who knows, in Italy or in Florida!
Thank you!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel Orte De Medici is in a quiet location handy to the station, easy walking distance of all areas of importance with San Marco Square and the Galleria dell Accademia just around the corner. The staff are great with a recommendation for every query especially local dinning and attractions. We stayed for 4 nights early September in 1 of the 2 wheelchair accessible rooms in the older part of the hotel. The room was old with a tiled floor, very high ceilings, very clean, the bed was very good, the wifi was free, the breakfast was included and was great out on the terrace area, the room was very large with plenty of room for the wheelchair and had everything you needed. Unfortunately the bathroom was minute, it had a good shower chair but you could not fit the wheelchair and the shower chair in the bathroom at the same time. Other than the bathroom (which you can make work by leaving the door open and the aid of a partner) the Hotel is well located and good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheelietrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you may have had some trouble with the shower, we will make note about checking our wheelchair accessible rooms. However, I am happy you enjoyed your overall stay. Hope to have you again as our guests.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a great stay in Florence all topped off with the easy atmosphere and exceptional staff at the hotel.

I stay in hotels every week on business and it was great to stay in a hotel with genuine character and individual staff.

We will certainly be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenTirran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear BenTirran,
I am so pleased how you enjoyed the hotel during your "business week". Thanks for your review!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband, sister and myself stayed in Florence in Orte De'Medici for a week and found the hotel fantastic. The staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast was all
you could ask for and more, We couldn't fault a single thing. Even when we accidently over stayed our welcome they didn't charge us and let us stay in the beautiful T.V. room for the day
and stored our suit cases. Loved the hotel and loved Florence. Thankyou again.
Joanne Jeff and Jenny from Australia

Room Tip: We had a triple room on the top floor and it was perfect. Bells ringing in the morning and plenty o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Joanne,
You are always welcome, even for some special needs, like you accidental late check-out. Thanks for leaving a message of your positive impresisone, I appreciate.
Grazie!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was a lovely hotel, where we received a free upgrade and had great service. The hotel has a lovely terrace and bar and is very conveniently located for both the station and for sightseeing. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 74Awaruku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear 74Awaruku,
Thank for recommending us! I really hope to see you back in Florence sometimes.
Best regards
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,895 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 422 in Florence
2,271 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 422 in Florence
1,720 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#40 of 422 in Florence
1,729 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#59 of 422 in Florence
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Property: Hotel Orto De Medici
Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing