We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel Experience In Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Orto De Medici

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Experience In Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hands down our favorite hotel in Italy. It's location was great out of the way from all the busy touristy areas (which were about 10 min walk away). The staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was quiet and great view of Florence from our balcony. The room was spacious and had the most comfortable bed in all of Italy. Breakfast was decent. The price I thought was fair. It's a great base camp for visiting Pisa, Lucca, and Cinque Terre. Would definitely stay here again. Make sure you eat at Antica Trattoria “da Tito”

Room Tip: Spend extra money and get a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philgfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Philgfl,
Thanks for your feedback, we are very proud to be your best Hotel Experience In Italy!
Thank you very much
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,166
    594
    110
    27
    21
See reviews for
403
958
92
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
205 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had two rooms for our family... One overlooking Via San Gallo that could get a little noisy and one that was in the back overlooking the terrace. The terrace area was very quiet and it was lovely to look out and see grass and smell the flowers. The hotel is very close to the Accademia and an easy 10 minute walk to the Duomo. There is indeed some maintenance needed but the room and breakfast were satisfactory. You could have your breakfast on the terrace which was a great way to start the day. Fresh squeezed orange juice and a cappuccino machine were a plus. The building has a modern elevator which was helpful in getting our luggage to our room. WiFi was indeed spotty but there are two Macs in the lobby and they are connected to a printer. Te front desk was polite and helpful when approached. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PassportTherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear PassportTherapy,
Thanks for your nice feedback, I appreciate your listing of all the features you enjoyed during your stay (the breakfast in the terrace, the complimentary Macs with printer...) and hope to see you back soon to Florence.
Thank you!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed for three nights over a weekend at Hotel Orto and paid €600. Once again I think there should be a rating in between "average" and "very good" because that's where I would place this hotel.
We were fairly late booking and couldn't book a superior room for three nights, so we had to book a room with a view for the first night and then move for the other two. With the knowledge of hindsight we would have preferred to have stayed in the room with a view for the duration! Whilst not refurbished, it was spacious, clean and had the luxury of a small balcony that we sat out on and had a glass of wine before venturing out for the evening. Our lofty vantage point gave us great views over the rooftops to the Spires and Domes in the city. We watched the swifts skimming the skies around us and the smell of the Honeysuckle (I think) was lovely. Our second room, opened onto the terrace. It was very nicely refurbished but much smaller and offered little privacy.
The breakfast offered was ok, cold meats, a few pastries, a DIY toaster, three cereals, fruit salad, yoghurt, orange juice, tea or coffee. The WiFi was usually excellent at the terrace level but non existent on the fourth floor!
The hotel location is really very good, just slightly away from the main bustle of the centre, but within a ten minute walk you are in the midst of tourist Florence and its myriad of historic buildings lovely Piazzas and superb restaurants.
The reason why I think Hotel Orto falls slightly behind the very good rating is that I don't think they quite do enough to justify €200 for a night. They are slightly behind on maintenance, slightly peeling exterior paint, the grass needed cutting etc. the hand towels were more like tea towels and the WiFi a bit temperamental. The reception staff whilst friendly enough were not over helpful, there was no offer of porterage or any detailed advice offered.
Overall though a very pleasant stay and if we ever return to Florence we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We loved room with a view on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GJgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear GJgetaway,
Thanks for the review! Booking in advance you can get very good deals in the price, also in the highest season like May/June. We really thank you for listing all the things you liked and what was not fully ok for you. It will help us to fix the issues and improve in the future. Your review was most preciuosly appreciated!
Grazie!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great location in Florence, within walking distance of all sights, and train station. Lovely clean rooms and a good breakfast selection make this hotel a good base for a trip in Florence. Free Wifi is a nice bonus, as are the 2 computers in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianIreland_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for the feedback! Yes we have to Mac computers with a printer in the hall that can be used by our guests at anytime free of charge. Hope to have you again as guests on your next Florence trip. Thanks for recommending.
Ciao!
Nicki Sciotino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very nice hotel,located in an old palace ,quiet street
Very clean and well manage
Good breakfast ,helpful staff, nice room
7 min from Duomo ,3 min from S.Lorenzo market.
Very nice peoples, VERY GOOD services.

Room Tip: I stayed 1 week at room 32,big,nice room, big bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hello Andy! Thank you for your feedback. Happy to know our service was appreciated and you enjoyed your stay.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were recommonded this hotel by the staff of the conference my husband attended in May. It was not disappointed. It's an old building but very clean, staff were very friendly & helpful. The breakfast was great, the orange juice is pressed freshly out of juicer. We walked everywhere in the city easily. Even better was the restaurant down the street is one of the best in Florence, highly recommanded by the locals. We were definitely stay here when we come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkperal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for the nice review! Great to hear you enjoyed your everything about your stay with us even the freshly squeezed orange juice. Please do come back! Thanks again.
Best Reagrds,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My adult daughter and I stayed here for five nights in May 2013. It was wonderful. Charming and old world while, at the same time, clearly recently remodeled and convenient. And totally non-smoking.

Location--excellent. A very short walk from the Duomo and other major sites, yet out of the real crush. There were shops, restaurants, etc, right on the street and the Accademia is only two blocks away, as is Piazza San Marco. The Botanic gardens are also very close by. This is ideal for people who want to see everything but enjoy the feel of being out of the madness that surrounds some of the more popular sites.

Breakfast--superb. Of course, we had sunny days and were on the jasmine scented patio, which is a plus. But the food was very good and there was certainly plenty of it. The staff was friendly and helpful. We lingered. :)

Staff--great. Very friendly and helpful. The only exception was a tiny one. We left early in the morning and the person who was on, someone I had never seen before, did not even say goodbye as we left. Too bad because it was such a friendly place and a pity to leave on that small anonymous note.

Room--very good. We were on the second floor in front. The room was large enough for two, very clean as was the large bathroom. I have asthma and my number one concern is always smoke or mold. (You get so many places that are "non-smoking" but in fact, people have been smoking there and the room smells. NOT here.) The room itself was just fine although I have to say we could not use the big wardrobe or the extra blanket in it because it was so musty in the wardrobe. There was some street noise at night but we really did not care after our very full days walking across, around and UP everything Florence has to offer.

Public areas--lovely. The garden area was beautiful and offered several places to sit, including a quiet area where we read surrounded by the jasmine and roses one pretty afternoon. There are two computers opposite the desk when you enter (Macs, I believe) and there is a very pretty sitting room on the second floor. Wifi worked well. There is even what I think is a free little ice cream freezer at reception.

Hotel Orto de Medici is staying on my list. I would love to go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
What a great detailed review! I'm sure future guests will be very happy to read all the information you have written! Yes, we have just put in a popsicle freezer near the reception area, free for all our guests. I personally apologize for the small episode that occurred just before leaving the hotel. Thank you however, for mentioning it. This will help us better our customer service. As for the rest of your stay it is so great to hear that you enjoyed everything from the hotel's location to the room and breakfast. Hope to have you again as our guests.
Best Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#43 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Property: Hotel Orto De Medici
Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing