We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December in Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #44 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“December in Florence”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Very friendly hotel. Staff helpful and welcoming.
We had a fabulous room which was really spacious and had a very comfortable bed. Would have been nice to have had a table and chairs as the room was big enough to fit them. Bathroom was beautiful with big bath, separate shower, all decorated with lovely shining granite? Felt much more than a 3 star hotel room.
As others have said, the breakfast choices weren't the best, but enough to keep us going until lunchtime.
Would recommend this hotel as quiet but within walking distance of all the important places to visit.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room which was on the ground floor overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for the great description of the room. I'm very happy you enjoyed it and your stay with us! We accept all suggestions that can help better ourselves thank you. Ciao from Florence!
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,290
    635
    115
    27
    21
See reviews for
454
1,035
98
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lannion, France
2 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Wonderful hotel. We had the very good surprise to be upgraded, The room and bathroom were very spacious and luruxious... reflect of firenze !
However, if there were something which could be ameliorated, would be the breakfast. We would have like to enjoy the great Italian cheeses (and salted butter to be perfect!!!)
But we are going to recommend this address to friends who plan to visit Firenze in 2013 !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We appreciate your review very much! It's nice to read you had such a great time. We will keep breakfast suggestion in mind. Thank you for recommending and hope to see you back as well!
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Enjoyed this hotel very much. Even the receptionists had matching outfits! The breakfast was excellent, and this hotel is decorated tastefully. Also, the price for the room was reasonable. I really loved this hotel and would stay there again anytime. What a deal!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dcamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Such an excellent review! So great to know you enjoyed breakfast and the hotel in general! Please do come back. Glad you noticed also our uniforms we love them! They are from the clothing brand "Save the Queen". Ciao from Florence!
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. The staff was great and they upgraded our room and even left us champagne! The room was very clean and our view was amazing. The hotel was in a great area away from the touristy sites but within a 10-15 to most everything. The value is amazing for this hotel and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMuljadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for writing a review. I'm very happy we made your honeymoon stay so special! Come back soon to Florence. Maybe for your first anniversary!
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My partner and I stayed in this hotel in the summer of 2011 and would recommend to anyone.

Good location in walking distance from the station, though we took a cab. However, thereafter we walked all over the city. Although ive been to Firenze a number of times before i'd never had the chance to see the City at night and have to say it blew me away.

The room we stayed in was large and simply but lovely, clean and airy. The balcony we had overlooked the street below but also the rooftops of Firenze and the il Duomo. Beautiful gardens and a nice continental breakfast in the mornings, really gave us the feeling of history.

Staff very friendly and helpful. Also worth mentioning the restaurant at the corner of the same street that serves an all you can eat buffet for just 6 euros.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
We appreciate the detailed review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us very much. You are right Florence is pretty amazing also by night. Thank you for recommending.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannock, staffs
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Beautiful city and beautiful hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful . We had a free upgrade on arrival to a junior suite which had a view of the delightful garden ... which had the sound of the fountain and bells in the morning what a memory ! Not far from the train station , however would recommend a taxi as our case struggled on the cobbles . Very central to all main attractions. We followed the advice of staff and went to the academia restaurant on our last night .. the food was stunning . The breakfast at the hotel was delightful and the coffee was irresistible ! I would recommend this hotel to anyone as it is five star in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clareCannock_Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Madame,
I am pleased to read you appreciations to the location, the room, and the breakfast. Thanks for sharing that with other travellers.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We decided to celebrate my birthday this year in Florence, for its art and for its food. Despite the stormy weather in the Tuscany, we have had a very nice and memorable weekend there. We stayed in the Hotel Guelfo Bianco for two nights and in the Hotel Orto dei Medici for two nights. We choose these hotels because of their very convenient location in the middle in the city. Both hotels are very good and can be strongly recommended.

Here it our appreciation for the Hotel Orto dei Medici: The Hotel is on the historical ground of a medieval garden of the Medici. The choice was perfect: just 2 minutes to San Marco and 5 minutes to the Duomo. Our room was decorated with charm and with modern italian design and very comfortable. The room faces the small lovely courtyard and was very quiet. We met the manager Ricardo who is friendly and helpful. The service under Signora Teodora is so friendly that we felt immediately at ease and relaxed. On my birthday she put a bottle of champagne and a rose from the garden in our room. I appreciated very much this kind gesture. I can strongly recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to have a nice and special place to stay in Florence.

Sung, Hamburg (Germany)

Room Tip: Room to the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SungH351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Madame,
Thank you for leaving your appreciation. We do our best to give a "personal touch" to your experience, and I am so glad you liked that. A special thank from Riccardo, Giacomo and Teodora, we look forward to having you again as our guest.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 412 in Florence
1,945 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 412 in Florence
786 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 412 in Florence
2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#39 of 412 in Florence
1,771 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 412 in Florence
1,146 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#60 of 412 in Florence
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Property: Hotel Orto De Medici
Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing