We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #38 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Beautiful city and beautiful hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful . We had a free upgrade on arrival to a junior suite which had a view of the delightful garden ... which had the sound of the fountain and bells in the morning what a memory ! Not far from the train station , however would recommend a taxi as our case struggled on the cobbles . Very central to all main attractions. We followed the advice of staff and went to the academia restaurant on our last night .. the food was stunning . The breakfast at the hotel was delightful and the coffee was irresistible ! I would recommend this hotel to anyone as it is five star in my opinion.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clareCannock_Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Madame,
I am pleased to read you appreciations to the location, the room, and the breakfast. Thanks for sharing that with other travellers.
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,012 - 1,018 of 2,222 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

We decided to celebrate my birthday this year in Florence, for its art and for its food. Despite the stormy weather in the Tuscany, we have had a very nice and memorable weekend there. We stayed in the Hotel Guelfo Bianco for two nights and in the Hotel Orto dei Medici for two nights. We choose these hotels because of their very convenient location in the middle in the city. Both hotels are very good and can be strongly recommended.

Here it our appreciation for the Hotel Orto dei Medici: The Hotel is on the historical ground of a medieval garden of the Medici. The choice was perfect: just 2 minutes to San Marco and 5 minutes to the Duomo. Our room was decorated with charm and with modern italian design and very comfortable. The room faces the small lovely courtyard and was very quiet. We met the manager Ricardo who is friendly and helpful. The service under Signora Teodora is so friendly that we felt immediately at ease and relaxed. On my birthday she put a bottle of champagne and a rose from the garden in our room. I appreciated very much this kind gesture. I can strongly recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to have a nice and special place to stay in Florence.

Sung, Hamburg (Germany)

Room Tip: Room to the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SungH351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Madame,
Thank you for leaving your appreciation. We do our best to give a "personal touch" to your experience, and I am so glad you liked that. A special thank from Riccardo, Giacomo and Teodora, we look forward to having you again as our guest.
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a wonderful time. The hotel is close to many of the historic sites as well as shopping areas. The room was large, airy and very clean. The balcony provided a great view of the city and a very nice place to relax. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were very nice with a good assortment of foods and drinks. The restaurant recommendations were all excellent.
We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

I am very happy to read how wonderful time you had in our hotel, enjoyng the holiday in Florence, during your special celebration. Thank you for letting us know!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a nice stay here... in a lovely room on the top floor, but the street noise from two bars below us was a bit much. As well, there was a lot of constuction on the building across the street making it just about impossible to enjoy the balcony... We did not ask to change rooms, because the space was so nice, and eventually acclimatized to the loud and happy people outside.

Breakfast (included) was very pleasant, wth many choices, and the building itself is beautiful. It was about a 10 minute walk to the Duomo, and we were glad to be somewhat removed from the high tourist zone. The staff was extremely nice and helpful and had excellent restaurant suggestions. We know they can't control for construction, and overall we feel that the place was really nice... we'd stay here again once the reno across the way is done.

Room Tip: The top floor room with baclony is lovely... or will be when the renovations across the street are d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It is nice to hear you enjoyed the room and your stay even with the minor inconvenience mentioned. I would like to thank you for understanding the construction noise was out of our hands. Please come back soon!
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Great value and only 10 minutes walk to the duomo. The free breakfast is really good and the staff was very helpful. Parking is a minor inconvience because the lot is not right next to the hotel. Also very close to the academia museum.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tko7211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the hotel. As for the minor inconvience you are right the 2 parking garage we work with are not right next to the hotel, but they are just a 2 minute walk away. I would just like to specify that the car is picked up in front of the hotel at check-in and brought back in front of the hotel at check-out. If guests need the car during their stay they can either have the car brought to the hotel for a small extra charge or they can easily walk to the garge. Thank you again for the comment.
Best Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We are so happy with our experience here. The location is superb- an easy 15 minute walk from the train station (we just brought carryons- wouldn't be that easy with big bags). It's a stunner when you enter- a lovely reception with a library/lounge downstairs. Staff is wonderfully accomodating- providing a converter so I could plug in my computer, umbrella for when we went for a walk, showing us places to eat and how to get to places. The room is elegant feeling to us- our balcony overlooks the garden and the bathtub was a welcome sight. It's not a "cookie-cutter" hotel- every floor has a different ambiance.
We WERE impressed with the breakfast. So many places just serve bread, cheese and coffee. They have a coffee machine where you can make whatever you want- as many times as you want. Several kinds of bread, several cheeses, nice juices, tomato and basil salad, yogurts, cereals, meats ...even cookies! Not sure what else we could have wanted.
We love it here. It is half the price of our hotel outside of Venice, but great value.

Room Tip: I would think all the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
What a great review! Thank you! I'm happy to hear you loved your stay so much and also the Hotel in general from it's location, interior design, room to staff members and breakfast! Please come visit again! Thank you.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at Orto de Medici for one one night in October. The hotel is lovely - big, clean, modern rooms with very comfortable beds. We stayed in a garden view room and had a lovely balcony all to ourselves - really lovely room. One thing I loved about the room was a separate bathroom to toilet.

The hotel is definitely within walking distance to everything. The Duomo would be 5 min walk away as would Ponte Vecchio etc. The historical centre of Florence is very close by so it's a great hotel to stay at as it's much more reasonably priced than hotels around Piazza della Repubblica and equally as nice.

In my opinion, the only shortfall was the breakfasts but I think this says more about me than the hotel. In the two weeks prior to our stay at Orto de Medici, we had been staying at small, intimate family run hotels in Venice, Bologna and around Tuscany and had become very used to hand made coffees to order. Needless to say, in comparison, the coffees were not up to scratch but I think I'm being a bit spoilt!

I highly recommend the hotel for it's location and the rooms. All the staff are really friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for the lovely review. One night is not a long stay, so I hope next time you will enjoy the beauties of Florence for a longer time, and also the Deluxe Room with garden view you stayed in.

Grazie
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 410 in Florence
2,388 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,847 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#44 of 410 in Florence
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,823 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $91 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing