We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Hotel in Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #38 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at Orto de Medici for one one night in October. The hotel is lovely - big, clean, modern rooms with very comfortable beds. We stayed in a garden view room and had a lovely balcony all to ourselves - really lovely room. One thing I loved about the room was a separate bathroom to toilet.

The hotel is definitely within walking distance to everything. The Duomo would be 5 min walk away as would Ponte Vecchio etc. The historical centre of Florence is very close by so it's a great hotel to stay at as it's much more reasonably priced than hotels around Piazza della Repubblica and equally as nice.

In my opinion, the only shortfall was the breakfasts but I think this says more about me than the hotel. In the two weeks prior to our stay at Orto de Medici, we had been staying at small, intimate family run hotels in Venice, Bologna and around Tuscany and had become very used to hand made coffees to order. Needless to say, in comparison, the coffees were not up to scratch but I think I'm being a bit spoilt!

I highly recommend the hotel for it's location and the rooms. All the staff are really friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for the lovely review. One night is not a long stay, so I hope next time you will enjoy the beauties of Florence for a longer time, and also the Deluxe Room with garden view you stayed in.

Grazie
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

999 - 1,005 of 2,179 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have stayed here twice and have enjoyed it both times. It has modern conveniences and old world charm. Both times I had a large group of college art students in tow and the hotel welcomed all of us warmly. It is located within easy walking distance of most of the main attractions.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room with amazing rooftop views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for your review! It is nice to hear you enjoyed both of your stays! Yes the hotel has a nice mix of modern and how you nicely described it "old world charm"! Thank you again! Hope to see you back a third time.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Nice hotel, modern rooms but old-world ambience. Good location in florence, excellent breakfast. All staff were very helpful. We had two different rooms - one was perfect and the other was shabby, so just be aware of an inconsistency in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first, because most are perfect, but a few are a bit shabby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0bbestultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review! Yes we do have different room types. Classic rooms which have a classic florentine interior style, Deluxe rooms which were renovated in 2009 so they have a more modern style and Superior rooms with balconies looking over the rooftops of florence, these also have a classic florentine interior design. We all appreciate the nice comment about the staff memebers and breakfast! Thank you again.
Best Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was the quintessential Italian experience here. It is beautiful, quiet and perfectly located in a wonderful area. Would love to stay here again. The only negative was they don't have a hotel bar and the "cocktail party" bar maid serves you one welcome mimosa out on the patio from the laundry room or something - that seemed a bit odd... if you miss that part, you won't miss much.
Otherwise - it was great! Our room was so cute!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Tami O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your message. It's nice to read how you loved the beauty and the location of the hotel. At the patio bar we have an "Happy Hour" from 6 to 8 pm in our outdoor terrace. By the way the maid uses a service room which is not the laundry but... thanks for the impression!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I just returned from 2 fabulous weeks in Italy. We stayed at the Orto twice, for one night at the beginning of our trip and for 4 nights before going to Venice. We loved it! The first time we stayed in the older part of the hotel and our room was huge and very charming. The bathroom, however is small with no place to put your stuff (and I have stuff). The 4 nights we stayed later, we stayed in the new addition and the room was very lovely. We had a nice little patio with table and chairs off our room where you could relax after a long day. But the best thing about the room was the fact that the bathroom was divided and one side had a sink, huge counter and shower/tub and the other side had a sink, smaller counter and toilet!!!
There is a lovely breakfast buffet with both indoor and outdoor dining (watch out for the resident pigeons) and in the evenings they have a bar and "piano music" (a CD) on the upstairs patio -really lovely.
The hotel is in a convenient location and not a long walk from many good restaurants (which the staff at the front desk are happy to tell you about and make reservations for you -try L'Accademia where we ate twice-yummy food and just a 3 block walk from the hotel.
Florence is very busy and this hotel is just a bit removed from all of that which, to us, was a good thing.

Room Tip: #81 was our room on the second leg of our journey (a deluxe room with a garden view) but if you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review! You have experienced 2 of the room types we offer. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed both and the hotel in general. Yes the hotel is in a very convenient location very close to the center of Florence just a 10 minute walk! Front desk staff can help with restaurant advice, booking museum tickets, tours, or just answer any questions one might have. We hope to see you again in Florence!
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the staff are very friendly and helpful. They have a very good list of restaurants and were happy to make reservations for us. The breakfast on the terrace in the morning is lovely, a wonderful way to begin each day. They also serve cocktails on the terrace from 6-8, a nice way to start the evening! The location is great, only a few blocks from the Duomo and other important sights. We would not hesitate to recommend Orto de Medici to others and will stay here again the next time we are in Florence.

Room Tip: My husband and I, along with another couple had rooms #73 & #74, these rooms are on ground level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your review! The room around the inner garden are the "deluxe" renewed, I am pleased to read how you enjoed your stay there. Thank you.
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We are staying in this hotel now, as a part of our honeymoon trip. We booked a standard room, which happened to be the smallest room I have ever seen - room 43, with a view of fire escape stairs, not even close to the picture on the website. But, as my husband said, "you have not seen the NY hotels...". Not beeing too upset with the size of the room or the view as we were not planning to spend much time there anyways, we went for a dinner and a walk.When we came back, the room "surprised" us with a sewage smell and not working a/c. I went downstairs and asked to change the room, but it was around 10pm, so the friendly guy at the reception told me they can only look into exchanging the room in the morning. No need to say I could not sleep till 3 am - horrible smell and no fresh air, could not open the window because of the mosquitoes.
Now I understand that we probably got the room that the manager of the hotel called the "economy" room in one of his responses to a review on tripadvisor. Well, they have not classified this room as "economy" as promised, and charged us as for a regular standard room.
Thank God, in the morning we were offered a superior room, but were asked to pay extra 30 euro per night. The room is same old and worn out (looks like they renovated rooms only on the first floor so far), but is bigger, has a nice view, a balcony and no smell! considering we are on a honeymoon trip, the last thing I want is to smell toilet in my room and not be able to sleep, so obviously 30 euro was not an issue, although I really think that the hotel was supposed to cover this extra charge as they make false presentation on their website in terms of the pictures and room description. I never kept my expectations high for a 3 star hotel in Europe and I am sure there are nice rooms in this hotel, but stay away from the classic rooms! The hotel has good reviews on tripadvisor, but i am sure they come from the people who stayed in the higher level rooms. For the price of the classic room, you can find a better place in Florence!
 On a positive side, the hotel has quite good location, close to everything, the common areas are pretty, the wifi is good, and the breakfast is not bad- basic, but good cold cuts and very good cappucino.
I would  recommend this place only to those who can afford to stay in mor expensive/upgraded rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana_v_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Ana,
I would first off like to apologize for the inconvenience during the first part of your stay, especially because it is a special occasion for you. We try our best to satisfy our guests' needs and requests. Unfortunately, some things are out of our hands. For example the problem you personally experienced, that is, the offensive outdoor odor that without warning comes for a short amount of time from around the city. It is a problem that is very unfavourable towards residents and the Hospitality industry in the center of Florence, but the problem can be resolved by closing the windows. I apologize once again. We will definitely have the a/c double checked. As for the rooms, room n. 43 is a Classic room and has been judged by many clients a satisfying room, I'm sorry your experience was a negative one. We also have Superior rooms with balconies that look over the rooftops of Florence and Deluxe rooms that have all been renovated in 2009 and have a modern interior design. Thank you for your review we appreciate all positive and negative comments and are learning form each review.
Best Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 410 in Florence
1,179 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 410 in Florence
2,003 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 410 in Florence
820 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 410 in Florence
2,363 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#46 of 410 in Florence
2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $110 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing