We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfecto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #39 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

What a charming stay. Had a huge room and a very comfortable bed. Great restaurants everywhere. The markets were on when we were there so this made some fun shopping.
Th entire staff here were just wonderful and very helpful.
Got to recommend this place.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank guy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thanks for the feedback, I hope you have unforgettable memories of Florence and of your place, the Hotel Orto de' Medici. Thank you!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 2,179 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and truly enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and comfortable. We were on the inside courtyard which was very peaceful. The breakfast on the terrace was good, continental. The location was convenient to everything we did in Florence--sightseeing, shopping, restaurants, even a laundromat. The staff at the reception desk was very helpful. We were upgraded to a courtyard room at check-in. They also helped us make dinner reservations and were happy to provide us with maps and directions to the places we wanted to see. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

We appreciate how you shared your positive experience and personal tips with other travellers. Thank you very much!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is my 7th visit to Florence and my first stay at this hotel. The location and price are very good for the standard and facilities.
If you book early through sites like venere.com using yout credit card as a guarantee you can secure some very reasonable prices and still cancel up to 48 hours without penalty. I paid around £40 for bed and breakfast in one of their classic bedrooms. But beware this was after an upgrade!!! I booked the cheapest room and ended up with room 3. This has been mentioned by another traveller and my heart sank when I was handed the key. The cheapest rooms over look an internal courtyard (this sounds attractive but isn't) making them very dark. If you don't mind very small hotel rooms with little natural light then it will not be a problem. I upgraded the next day for an extra 15 euros per night and got a fabulous Classic room with a beautiful view of the gardens. Room 27 is lovely with one double and two single beds. Plenty of room, storage and a good sized bathroom.
The staff are very pleasant, especially Francesco who patiently dealt with the upgrade and provided lots of useful information.
If you visited many of the well known attractions I would recommend a trip to the lovely hillside town of Fiesole. From San Marco Square (2 mins walk) on the number 7 bus 1.20 euros one way (purchase from the tobacconist on the square; once punched into the franking machine on the bus you have 70 minutes of travel so purchase another ticket for your return journey at the same time as you will need longer than 70 mins to travel and enjoy Fiesole) . A half hour trip up into the hillside. The views are magnificent and the museum well worth a visit for 10 euros. Just a tip though the shops all close at 1pm til 4pm. Our guide book waxed lyrical about the exciting retail opportunities (not convinced there were that many) however you may want to time your visit to accommodate this.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The Classic rooms are larger and cheaper than the Double deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uptowngirl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thanks for your review, so full of tips and suggestions! I do remeber you and you were very welcome in all your requests, it was my pleasure to help you, really.We do look forward to have you back here in Florence.
Thank you!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

When looking for a spot to stay in Florence access to museums and markets as well as comfort rank high on our list. This hotel has become our second home in Florence. It is a walk to the train station, a walk to the sights; and the rooms, ambiance, services (recommendations & reservations for places in the city, etc.), breakfast and staff are second to none. We got thoughtful attention and felt like guests in a fine home. We never stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Being near the garden or in one of the deluxe suites is a plus, but the whole hotel has qualities to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thanks for your fantastic review. We love our guests! :-)
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great service. Great location. Great hotel. Each time I travel to Florence I stay at the Orto. It is within easy walking distance to all the top attractions. Also, a ten minute walk from the train station (Santa Maria Novella). Give it a try, you will be happy you did.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaboReynaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Grazie for your review! We appreciate your suggestions to next travellers!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a great stay at the Hotel Orto de Medici. I loved the character of the hotel, with lots of classic architectural style blended with comfortable, modern furnishings, and the front desk staff is friendly and helpful. Much of the hotel has been recently renovated, and I appreciated the details the put in like the frescoes on the front hallway ceiling. In many ways the hotel feels more expensive than what you see on your bill.

We stayed in a king-bed, deluxe garden-view room, which was quite modern and comfortable. We particularly liked the large, contemporary walk-in shower, with marble from floor to ceiling. However, the room is definitely designed for couples -- or very good friends -- as there's no door between the bedroom and the shower area (the toilet is in a small, separate room with a second sink). A nice touch is a complementary book on the history of the Medici's which is included with the room.

The location was perfect for us -- just far enough from the tourist areas to be fairly quiet, while still a reasonable walk to everything we wanted to see. The neighborhood right around the hotel wasn't terribly special, but it seemed perfectly safe and had a number of good restaurants. The nearby Il Vegetariano was a great place to get a quick vegetarian lunch -- just order off the list of daily specials, and your food is ready in minutes (cash only).

Do be aware that the luggage storage room is self-service -- you just drop your bags off in the room yourself. It's convenient and you don't have to tip anyone, but there's no one looking after any valuables you may have in your luggage. Similarly, the front of the house is usually staffed by just one employee, so the same person checks you in and serves as your concierge. It works fine for a small hotel like this -- just different from what one might expect from staying in larger places.

I'd have no second thoughts about staying here again, and I'd definitely recommend the hotel to friends visiting Florence.

Room Tip: The king-bed garden-view rooms on the second level are great -- nice modern rooms with a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AShoemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

I assure all the rooms have (sliding) doors between the room and the bathroom. :-)
Thanks for all the positive features you list, I appreciate you took time to list them. We do hope to see you soon back to Florence.
Grazie
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Orto de Medici, we had a superior room with balcony.We arrived late at night with a very tired 5year old and were greeted by friendly welcoming staff who arranged parking for our hire car and showed us to our room. The room was lovely, it was cleaned everyday and the towels and mini-bar replenished.I loved sitting on the balcony looking over the rooftops of Florence listening to church bells. The hotel is in a quiet location but ten minutes walk from the Duomo and shops and restaurants. It was a perfect base for us to explore Tuscany too, we hired a car and travelled to Siena, San Gimignano,Viareggio, Torre del Lago and Marina de Pisa, all of which were about one and a half hour to two hours drive. This is a really lovely hotel and I can honestly say I had the best nights sleep here I have ever had,the bed is the most comfortable I have ever slept in and I will definitely stay here again if I return to Florence :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 410 in Florence
2,001 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 410 in Florence
1,179 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 410 in Florence
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,810 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 410 in Florence
2,363 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $113 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing