We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Orto De Medici

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised of our upgrade to a junior suite on the first floor. Very large spacious room with king bed & a lovely sitting area with a view of the beautiful courtyard. The bathroom was modern & very large with a separate shower stall (very rare in Europe). The staff was very helpful and spoke excellent English. Many additional common rooms for relaxing or catching up on your email. Internet service was free (also unusual at most hotels). Highly recommend this place for location & value. Easily competes with high-end hotels.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thanks for the punctual review. I am glad to read you had a very positive perception of the room, in size and in decoration, of the staff, the building and other facilities such as the free wi-fi and computers. We appreciate you feedback as it helps us to check the satisfation level of our clients. Thank you!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,166
    594
    110
    27
    21
See reviews for
403
958
92
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Fabulous location, excellent room, wonderful terrace, very rude staff, no facility to make or pay for a cup of tea ( or any other hot drink) after 10.30am. Bar open between 6pm and 8pm only. One member of staff who just couldn't cope. Will go back and visit Florence again, but would not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Smudger31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Direttore at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

I have carefully read your review and I can honestly say I do not understand the reason why you are so upset with the service you have received. I'm sorry that you cannot describe our service, especially our bar service, as positively as you did the location of the hotel, our rooms and terrace. Our bar service has been specially designed to meet the needs of our customers, to give them a chance to relax after a nice, long and intense day visiting our wonderful city. We offer a welcome cocktail and the possibility of having a drinks from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m; a time slot in which the majority of our clients come back to the hotel to spend a few hours before going out to dinner. I would also like to point out that Florence is a city of art that must be lived, visited and appreciated for its beauty, the excellent food, nice bars and countless exhibitions. It is unlikely that a customer spends most of the day in a hotel, which is why most accommodation facilities, including ours, studies specific time slots to offer certain services. Marina, the girl who takes care of all the serving at the bar, is very qualified and goes out of her way to meet everyone's needs. I'm sorry that in your case she did not succeed. Usually Marina has always been able to handle all the guests and I was never told that she needed help. I will, however, keep in mind all your observations to improve our bar service and enhance other services in the future.
Dr. Giacomo Bufalini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Fantastic Firenze ambience in this beautifully decorated home away from home. The staff were friendly and informative and the best part of all was it's location, which allowed us to walk everywhere. The local Da Mimmo restaurant became our preferred choice for great local food. We could not have asked for more for our first visit to Florence - we will definitely be returning and when we do, we know where we will be staying - Thanks everyone at Hotel Orto De Medici!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clfernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Dear Guest, Grazie for the feedback. Having so many good restaurants in the area is such a nice plus of this area. So wee lokk forward to seeing you at the Orto de' Medici in Florence!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

Really enjoyed the hotel immensely. Large bright room on the ground floor next to the garden. SO PLEASANT. Also, quiet. The window had a special shade that rolled down automatically with the push of a button. So no light came in at night. Total darkness if you want. Great sleep. Bathrooms very large with terrific tub and shower. Lots of space. Looked quite new. Great fixtures (Villroy & Boshe) for those of you that know about that. We don't spend too much time at breakfast on our trips but the breakfast room was just so beautiful and looked forward to it. It's a large fresco painted room with large glass doors that open onto a patio/garden. You can also sit on the patio if you want and have breakfast. It's nice and warm because it's sunny there in the morning. Staff were courteous and fast. Nice standard breakfast and cappucino machine that worked very well. Quite a beautful hotel. They have two mac computeres in the lobby to use. This was very usefull. We did try one of the recommended restaurants but it as it was too touristy. So we found restaurants on our own and were very happy. We noticed that this isn't really a hotel with large groups of children who like to make noise and run all over the place. It is much more classier than that.

Room Tip: We suggest the ground floor across from the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank legsbut_boo_b_elly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Dear Guest, thanks for the review. I read how you liked the Deluxe Room on the garden, and how you easily found the window shade to make to room dark at night. I am glad you liked the classy atmosphere and the use of facilities like the free Mac computers and the breakfast, both variety and staff. Thanks. As regards the restaurants, please let me know which one you did not like.. the places in this area are very popular among Florentine people and, of course since we are in the center, among foreigners too. So let me know what you did not like, so we can adjust our recommendations for the next guests.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

We booked this hotel from the reviews here on Trip Advisor and I have to say thank you! It was a wonderful hotel and our favorite from our whole Italy trip! We stayed in the back rooms that open to the garden so it was cozy and quiet. Great breakfast in the morning! Great location - easy walking distance from the train station and to all the sights of Florence. The front desk folks were very helpful with advice on how to get to the sights and also secured reservations for us to the galleries! All in all, I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be staying here again should we blessed enough to return to Italy!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanW80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Dear Guest, thanks for the suggestions and feedback. I recommend you booking the Museums entries with one month advance in high season (Apr-Oct), but sometimes also last minute booking is available. Just ask :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at the Hotel Orto de Medici. We had Rm. #81. which is a remodeled Superior room with Balcony. The room is in the new section of the hotel, across the courtyard from the main hotel. It is connected by open walkways and the outdoor section of the breakfast/patio area. It feels very much part of the hotel. The room was very modern. The layout was shaped like the bottom half of a square. The left prong included the sink and shower area and the right prong consisted of the toilet, another sink, and an open closet. The ceiling is raised. I think we probably had the best room in the hotel (perhaps save for the top floor of the older part of the hotel). There was a large breakfast area and the patio was open for eating at as well. The breakfast was the standard cereal, rolls, yogurt, meats, bowl of whole apples and bananas, spreadable cheeses, etc. There was a coffee machine that had a variety of choices and was quite efficient. The staff was uniformly pleasant. The location was great. It was perhaps 10 minutes maximum walk to the Duomo and it was very easy to navigate from the hotel. The internet worked best at the two computers in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for the remodeled rooms in the new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen58362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Dear guest, yes room #81 is one of the best in the hotel! It is the only one which has the private balcony and the "deluxe" decoration. In summer time you can use the sun bathing chairs to relax surrounded by green and flowers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

My (now) wife and I traveled to Florence to get married at the Palazzo Vecchio on May 14. We found this spectacular small hotel on a scouting trip to Florence in November. I was a little concerned about the booking becasue I knew that I was going to be booking a hotel not only for my wife and I, but recommending the hotel to family and freinds, many of whom are seasoned travelers with exacting standards. I had nothing to worry about.

This is billed as a three star hotel. I don't see it. Our accomodations were four star all the way. We booked the junior suite which had an enormous bathroom with a large walk in shower, double sinks and a soaking tub. A large walk in closet more than met our needs and the living area included a great, comfortable king size bed and a sitting area .Everything was brand new and the furniture and fixtures would not have been out of place in the nicest hotels stateside. To give you some comparison, when we left Florence, we traveled to ROme and stayed at the Rome Cavlieri hotel, a Waldorf-Astoria Property. Not to take anything away from a spectacular stay in Rome, but the rooom at the Orto de Medici campared favorably with the room we stayed on the executive floor of that hotel.

When we scouted in November, we noticed that the newly renovated rooms were the deluxe rooms. The Superior rooms, while in some cases larger and in many cases with Balconies, were nonetheless older and had not been renovated. We thought that people would be more comfortable in the smaller, newly renovated deluxe rooms. We were correct. Our group occupied five of the deluxe rooms. I saw them all. They were terrific. All of the rooms looked out onto the garden and so were protected from any street noise. It was a trnaquil setting in a great location.

The Hotel is located on Via San Gallo, right around the corner from Pizza San Marco, a major terminus for buses and withing three blocks of the entrance to the Academia where the Michealangelo's David is located. A five minute walk down Via San Gallo brings you to ta great market at San Lorenzo and the Medici Chapel and a couple of more minutes takes you to the Duomo. The Uffizzi and Pallazzo Vecchio are just a few blocks further south. I loved this location because it was on the northern edge of what people would think of as the major tourist zone. So we were outside the craziness, but easily accessible on foot to the major sites. And it gave us a chance to walk off some of the great food to be found in this city.

The service was excellent. Fancesco Bini helped to coordinate al of the rooms and the rest of the front desk staff was incredibly helpful.For example, my 89 year old uncle attended the wedding and we quckly discovered that we were going to need a wheelchair. The front desk staff found a place where we could rent one and showed us how to get there. Their restuarant recommendations were unfailingly excellent.

Breakfast was fine. If you are looking for the buffet from the local Marriot, you are going to be disapointed. BUt it was a full continental breakfast with cereal, juice, coffee, rolls and a couple of plates of cold cuts. Its Italy. If you want to toss on the feedbag at breakfast, you're travelling to the wrong country.

My kids stayed in a classic room. They are 19 and 24 and the room more than met their needs as well, although looking at the classic rooms and looking at the deluxe rooms, you could have believed that they were in two different hotels. But the cost was also substantially lower.

Bottom line, this is a great hotel that more than met our considerable expectations. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Book one of the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GWColonial3305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Dear Madame, what a great review! Your listing of all the facilities and services of the hotel and the surrounding area was superb! I am sure it will help a lot the next travellers. Thank you very much.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#43 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Property: Hotel Orto De Medici
Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing