We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and bad together”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Medici

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Medici
Ranked #378 of 421 Hotels in Florence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good and bad together”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Firstly, this is a very difficult hotel to find! Their website says that walking from the station is "very straightforward and only about a fifteen minute walk down Via delle Belle Donne, left onto Via del Corso and finally left again onto Vie de Medici." Actually the Via delle Belle Donne is nowhere near the station and not the best way to walk to the hotel. Nor does it join with the Via del Corso which is quite some way away. And anyway, if you reach the Via del Corso you've gone too far as the Via de Medici is actually off another road altogether (the Via de Speziali). When I finally found the place (after asking locals who'd never heard of even the street), they told me I wasn't staying at the hotel but that they'd put me in an "apartment" a couple of minutes' walk away. This turned out to be a decent sized room (plus bathroom) with a double and a single bed (I'd booked for just me) and it was quite quiet (which is what I'd asked for). However, there was no TV, no radio, and the lighting was so dim it was really difficult to read. Breakfast was back at the hotel and was basic but OK.
When I checked out at the end of my stay they tried to charge me "tourism tax" for 4 days instead of 3. This could have been a simple mistake, but it's a shame they made it.
So all in all, the room was fine but lit very badly and with no TV. It was cheap and what I got was appropriate for the charge, but don't expect to get anything more than you're paying for!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    131
    204
    134
    237
See reviews for
136
277
87
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Granted this is not 5 star hotel with all amenities however, they are located right next to Duomo
like around the corner and had free Wifi on the 1st floor.

They also have awesome view on rooftop.

I would like to recommend hotel to install vending machine on rooftop for drinks and Wifi.
This could be very profitable for them.
Nice view, wifi, drink of Chianti......

Room Tip: room on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Medici for 1 night. We arrived become check-in time, but got are room right away, on the sixth floor. We opened the doors and.. Wow.. The view was wonderful.(Check the uploaded picture).
The hotel is located in the central Firenze. But remember earsplugs because the church-bells from all over the city are noisy also at night.
The breakfast is to buns and some cookies.

We enjoyed the stay.

But if you can't get a room on the sixth floor, don't worry. There is a terrace on the sixth floor that is open for everybody but closes at 11 pm

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Medici for three nights. I had read reviews after we had booked it, which is a bit silly. The reviews were not great and many were quite negative but I feel I must bring balance to these reviews. We had a fabulous holiday in Florence and the hotel was certainly one to try again. Whilst I agree that the staff could have been a little more on the friendly side the building was rustic and full of character, the roof top sitting area was amazing, we had a spectacular view of the Duomo, which really made our holiday. I would say that its not a hotel for you if you are travelling with children but it is perfect for a couple, or group. I can not criticise the room, cleanliness, or any other important factors you would take into account when booking a break. I would certainly stay there again. Happy travelling all xxxxxxxx

Room Tip: Do not have a room on the top floor, your window is on the seating area which is open to all until 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Issy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was staying with a group of choir -- Cantabile -- from Petah-Tiqwa Israel in Medici hotel. We loved the hotel. It's location is superior. Out of the Balcony on the 6th flour you can practically touch the Duomo. I had a nice spacey room on the 5th flour and so did the rest of my group. We stayed 5 night in the hotel attending the Florence International Choir . It would have been the perfect hotel ever if an aircondition system would have been constructed in the rooms, but I guess than it would have been a 5 star hotel and not a 2d one …
The hotel has nice room. clean. basic breakfast, but lovely spirit.
I recommend this hotel and would like to thank the staff at the front desk for being attended and willing to help us a lot.

Room Tip: Higher floor - the 5th one was very good. though noisy but it's a part of the location. near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRANKLGAMMER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I booked a room for one, but in the end 3 other friends tagged along, just for one night.
The lady at the counter was very sweet, and she upgraded us to a big beautiful room for a night, and after my friends left, i moved to a single one for the rest of my stay alone.

This hotel is literally next to the duomo...In the heart of Florence. 10mins walk from firenze santa maria stn...My single room included a huge bed, with a clean room, nice toilet and my favourite, a huge window. (not a great view though). But their rooftop more than made up for it, with a view of florence, where at night...it was breathtaking, you can see the intricacies of the duomo from the rooftop. However, iby midnight, someone comes and chases you away quite rudely to lock it up.

I really loved my stay there. And also, i arrived quite late one night (about 2am) and the front of the hotel was locked as the receptionist was aleep. That took a lot of frantic banging to get in that night. I did not eat breakfast there. But just below, there is a gorgeous pastry/coffee bar that sells amazing hot chocolate and sweets.

Come for the good rooms, beyond excellent location, perfect housekeeping and most of all, the breathtaking rooftop view

Room Tip: I think they have another building if the main one is booked, but if you have a choice, try not to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonlight1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My friend and I have recently returned from our holiday in Florence. We stayed at The Medici Hotel for our entire stay in the city. You couldn’t be closer to the heart of the city if you tried. Literally at the Dumo or Piazza Republica in a matter of seconds from the front door. We could even see the people in the bell tower from our bedroom window. However we weren’t expecting the bells; unless you full heartedly intend to wake at 7am every morning with the church bells, bring ear plugs. This is a problem you will have no matter where you stay in the city. The room was basic as expected, but very clean and welcoming. The staff were friendly, welcoming, helpful and charming (except the older man with a lot of ear rings, he was persistently rude). Any questions we had they were more than happy to answer, even "where’s the best place to watch the football?" got a really helpful answer. Definitely good value for money, I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#331 of 421 in Florence
197 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#363 of 421 in Florence
391 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#152 of 421 in Florence
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#187 of 421 in Florence
605 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#204 of 421 in Florence
91 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Giappone
Hotel Giappone
#269 of 421 in Florence
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medici

Property: Hotel Medici
Address: Via De' Medici 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #378 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Medici 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medici Hotel Florence
Hotel Medici Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing