We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Rose Palace Hotel
Ranked #222 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a lovely traditional italian hotel situated conveniently close to the centre of Florence. The staff were friendly, polite and incredibly helpful, especially Giovianni who even offered to lend us an umbrella when it rained. The room was clean and well appointed. Breakfast was very nice and again the staff were courteous and helpful. The hotel is two minutes walk from the river and about 20 minutes easy walk to the station. There are plenty of really good bars and restaurants nearby. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    122
    63
    32
    18
See reviews for
56
177
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. It's located about a 15 minute walk from the train station, and a good 20 minute walk to Ponte Vecchio. It's definitely an older European building. The rooms are small and feels older.

It's in a quieter area of town, so it's great to sleep in the quiet. Daniel checked us in, who was okay. His sense of humor might be a little off. We really liked the front desk service we received from Oswaldo. He was always cheerful and pleasant, and helped us make dinner reservations at a popular restaurant.

Breakfast is downstairs, and has pastries/croissants, break rolls, salami & cheese, yogurts, granola, juices, water. Lorenzo was always pleasant in the mornings, and he makes great cappuccino!

There's free wifi, and the quality is not bad.

For what we paid per night, we wanted more value from De Rose Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennShio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is a short walk from the river on a quiet and narrow street. Our room was large as it had a king bed. The bathroom had a whirlpool tub but we couldn't get it to work with the minimal instructions given by the staff. Another problem with the tub is that we were unable to release the stopper and had to call the staff. The breakfast was serviceable and the dining room was quaint, in a good way. We stayed for just 2 nights and learned that is not long enough for Florence.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel was not what we thought it would be...it's definitely old...and what is that smell...musty...vintage....the bedspread is old and the sheets are itchy...I'm trying not to think about it. It's dark...the shower liner is old...the tiles in the bathroom are moldy. The floor rug is dirty in the bedroom. We immediately tried to get another room or decide if we should leave and just go elsewhere and forfeit money spent. I like vintage and all but I'm not sure how clean these linens are and the dead mosquito's on the wall...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kmicche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here in may 2014 for 4 nights(room 302).overrated for 4 star hotel.some broken things (shower head,missing tail on ceiling.the bed was very uncomfortable. The staff are courteous and helpful and the breakfast up to standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armen707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked into this hotel the staff was nothing but rude! Upon arrival, I started to spell our last name for the check-in clerk, something I do by second nature because our last name is a bit unique. Before I could finish, he snapped at me that he knew who we were. He gave us no information about breakfast timings (which was terrible by the way), wifi, or other things that are always explained during check-in.

Then, the next day, when I asked that our shower drain be fixed (it was clogged which was obviously disgusting), the clerk at the desk told me it would have to wait till the next day. When I asked him to send someone that day so we could take proper showers, he proceeded to tell me that maybe in our country (the US), it could be fixed right away, but he was not Superman. Clearly they have no problems making jabs at Americans. When I told him he was rude and that is no way to speak to guests, he straightened up his attitude and sent the cleaning lady to fix the drain, which took no more than 2 minutes. The hotel itself was fine, but if you're looking for a place that treats you with respect, don't stay here!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank pgurnani1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The hotel is older but very clean. It could use some maintenance (no soap dish in the shower, tiles are a bit moldy, air condition didn't work). We had a triple room. It was large with a small bathroom. If you like the old world charm, this place is for you. We stayed there for 6 nights. Breakfast was good with several choices (meat, rolls, cheese etc) although the same every single day. Most staff speaks English. When we arrived the front desk person on duty gave us a nice map and explained where to go. The hotel is only 2 blocks away from the river and about 15 min walk from the main attractions. Nice, quiet and safe location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Baseball15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
#183 of 412 in Florence
948 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Executive Florence
Hotel Executive Florence
#77 of 412 in Florence
230 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#136 of 412 in Florence
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze Anglo American
NH Firenze Anglo American
#115 of 412 in Florence
1,294 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#82 of 412 in Florence
839 reviews
San Marco
Athenaeum Hotel
Athenaeum Hotel
#217 of 412 in Florence
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Rose Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rose Palace Hotel

Property: De Rose Palace Hotel
Address: Via Solferino 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Rose Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional Florentine mansion, in a peaceful neighbourhood just a short walk from Ponte Vecchio and Florence central train station, De Rose Palace Hotel is the ideal place to discover all the attractions of downtown Florence while enjoying a peaceful, intimate accommodation.TYPICAL FLORENTINE DECOR -Graceful ambiences decorated with handcrafted furniture reflect the traditional atmosphere of old Florence.WHIRLPOOL BATHROOMS AND MODERN COMFORTS -18 classic rooms showcase baths or showers, modern comforts including air conditioning, satellite Sky TV LCD with soccer and movie channel free. All rooms with Wi-Fi Internet connection free and kettle with tea and coffee. A PEACEFUL, UPSCALE LOCATION -De Rose Palace Hotel is located near the banks of the Arno river, in the elegant residential area of Florence's Opera House, just a short walk away from Florence's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Rose Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rose Palace Florence
Hotel De Rose Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing