We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old palace hotel near the Arno River”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Rose Palace Hotel
Ranked #227 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel is close to the train station and within walking distance to all the major points of interest in Florence. The room was a bit small but if you are organized, it is adequate for travelers to fit all their gear in place. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was very accommodating, with plenty of tips as to where to eat, etc. The only negative point we found was that as we were checking out, they informed us of a new tax being imposed on tourists at the rate of 4 EUR per person per day, and it had to be paid in cash, not charged. In our case, the 32 EUR we had to dish out at the last moment, without any knowledge, created a bit of a problem. The hotel mentioned that this tax was put into effect in July 2011 in Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 328 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff was very helpful, providing maps and restaurant recommendations. The room was clean, quiet, and offered free WIFI (in the room) as well as a flat screen TV. The bathroom was clean and spacious as well. The rooms had high ceilings, and windows that could be opened for fresh air.

The breakfast was pretty good. Not top of the line but above average. The young woman working there was very cheerful and efficient. She offered us American coffee, Espresso or Cappucino and made it up fresh. There was an ample buffet table.

The hotel is perfectly located, one block off the Arno River. It's a 10 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio in one direction and a 10-minute walk to the Train Station.

The price was very reasonable, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinnesotaLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Pros 1. relatively near to train station though not walking distance if you have large luggages 2. quiet neighbourhood yet wihtin walking distance to shopping and the main attractions viz Uffizi and the Duomo

Cons: 1. extremely rude reception (male with moustache) - gave rude, incoherent and nonchalant answers to basic questions like where is the main shopping street and how to get to the Mall (to which he asked it is out of Florence which we obviously know and did not even tell us that there was bus from the city centre to the Mall) 2. extremely rude receptionist (had to repeat this as he was the receptionist throughout our stay) 3. no real amenities around the area like convenience stores etc 4. Rather dark and dirty toilet 5.There is free wifi but it is slow in connection.

We stayed at this hotel from late Jun to early July (a couple of nights). Overall the hotel is the worst (in terms of service and overall experience) i have stayed in 7 nights in Italy (including Roma, Vincenza and Milano).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelderoseflorence, Direttore vendite at De Rose Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
thanks for your comment
There is a new hotel management and hope to have the chance to show you the radical changes in all aspects of hospitality and welcome for our guests in addition to the buffet for breakfast and the rooms
sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

WARNING: Do NOT stay at this hotel, NOT worth the money. More on the level of $25/night hostel

We had booked this hotel for 3 nights and upon arrival we were amazed at the filthiness of the room. I returned to the counter to ask if we could switch to a cleaned room and I was told the hotel was completely booked, which was obviously false as there was no one else on the property. I could hear the staff laughing at me as i returned to the room to collect our belongings and leave. When we politely told him we'd like to cancel our rservations he immediately started yelling at us. "You will pay for WHOLE TRIP!" and threatned to call the police. He also told us that usually the guests were the ones to clean their own rooms.

After two weeks in Italy this is the first hotel we have been dissapointed in (all the same price range). We walked across the street and booked into the Kraft hotel, the staff is friendly and rooms clean for the same price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brookelsimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Serves me right for going to Florence in peak season but I paid on average £170 a night to stay at the De rose Palace.

If I'd paid around £100 I wouldn't have felt so aggrieved but for that kind of money this did not come close to being good enough. The blurb on the website suggests 'period' charm - what it failed to mention is that the period in question was the late '70's and early '80's. The hotel was dark and dingy from top to bottom, and after a day of beautiful art and architecture in majestic Florence, was frankly depressing.

The room itself was clean and quite spacious but felt very basic and outdated. The bathroom was clean but small and again very old fasioned (not in a good way).

The breakfast was pathetic, there really isn't any excuse for how poor it was.

The good points are that the location is lovely, very close to the river, a 15 min walk to the station, 15/20 mins to the touristy areas of Florence and after a little exploring, all the facilities you'll need very close by (eg. restaurants, newsagent/grocer, laundrette).
The reception staff were quite friendly and helpful too.

If you can get a deal and stay here for around the £100 mark, then I'd say bear in mind the tired decor and stay here - you'll be fine as there isn't a huge amount wrong with it. If however you're coming here in the peak months and you have to pay closer to £200 a night, shop around - you'll almost certainly find something better.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

If you want a safe place in Florence with central location, I'd highly recommend this place. The rooms are nicely appointed and air conditioned, the staff at the reception very friendly and helpful, internet available (free of charge), and the breakfast buffet had a great selection. The waitress at the buffet was rude and ran out of bread by 9:20 one morning although breakfast was supposed to be served until 10am. There was no attempt to refill. You were just out of luck had you not eaten by then!
Clean rooms, nice neighborhood, 15 minutes walking to main attractions.

Room Tip: We had 4 rooms and all were huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug196831350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Great old style hotel with very good service. Room was spacious and well appointed, even had a chandelier!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
#195 of 409 in Florence
979 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Embassy
Hotel Embassy
#143 of 409 in Florence
859 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Club Hotel
Club Hotel
#129 of 409 in Florence
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Vasari Palace
Hotel Vasari Palace
#149 of 409 in Florence
509 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#151 of 409 in Florence
438 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Executive Florence
Hotel Executive Florence
#71 of 409 in Florence
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Rose Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rose Palace Hotel

Address: Via Solferino 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $69 - $894 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Rose Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional Florentine mansion, in a peaceful neighbourhood just a short walk from Ponte Vecchio and Florence central train station, De Rose Palace Hotel is the ideal place to discover all the attractions of downtown Florence while enjoying a peaceful, intimate accommodation.TYPICAL FLORENTINE DECOR -Graceful ambiences decorated with handcrafted furniture reflect the traditional atmosphere of old Florence.WHIRLPOOL BATHROOMS AND MODERN COMFORTS -18 classic rooms showcase baths or showers, modern comforts including air conditioning, satellite Sky TV LCD with soccer and movie channel free. All rooms with Wi-Fi Internet connection free and kettle with tea and coffee. A PEACEFUL, UPSCALE LOCATION -De Rose Palace Hotel is located near the banks of the Arno river, in the elegant residential area of Florence's Opera House, just a short walk away from Florence's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your De Rose Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rose Palace Florence
Hotel De Rose Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing