We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gift in Florence”

Florence Custom Tours
Ranked #6 of 137 Food & Drink in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Florence offers a limitless choice of historically fascinating sites. It is our aim to elicit the city's magic and to present it to you in an original, flexible and entertaining way.We take great pride in customizing our tours to suit you, focusing on whatever might interest you the most. Classic tours and less conventional ones, cooking classes, visiting markets, wine tastings...you name it! Our guides are highly qualified, versatile, friendly and fun
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a gift in Florence”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Thanks to other TripAdvisor reviews, we booked a private day tour with Florence Custom Tours. Chiara was extraordinarily knowledgeable. A native with a graduate degree in art history, she gave us unique insights into the amazing history of Michelangelo, Da Vinci, Botticelli and Galileo. She prearranged tickets at Uffizi and the Academy. She showed great sensitivity to our time limitations and prioritized the sights very well. She had great connections in the market and great restaurant tips. We left feeling like we had made a new friend.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ges5542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pvergara0422
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A day in Florence”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Nothing is better than visiting a family or friend in a place you have never been. They show you all the local spots, give you insight into common resident life and history, and make for great company. This is what a tour with Adri is like. She is a Florence native and was very proud to show us her birth city. Adri was also extremely knowledgeable and friendly and ended our tour with a coffee stop at her favorite coffee place. She helped make our visit to Florence a memorable one.

Helpful?
2 Thank pvergara0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Way To Start Your Florence Vacation”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I visited Florence for the first time this past November. We wanted to book a walking tour of the city our first day to maximize our time for the rest of our stay. We like to use this approach in a new city so we don't waste a lot of time trying to figure out our way around. If you get the right guide who knows all the inside details of the city it makes for a much more enjoyable experience. I can't say enough about Adri at Florence Custom Tours. Born and raised in Florence with an absolute love of her city, she provided us with a rich and colorful history of Florence. Don't hesitate to ask her to customize your experience as you go along. We found her knowledge of the art, architecture, churches and history of the city to be significant. The best part about the tour was that it was like we had known her for many years. From the first moment we met Adri it was like walking around Florence with an old friend. Great tour.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank charlesovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic introduction”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked a three hour tour with Adrian who met us at our hotel and was most informative and charming.
She gave us a feel for florence and the people as well as lots of useful insider info. We saw a lot while with her
and we were then able to plan what we wanted to see on our own. Would definitely recommend her services.


Helpful?
1 Thank imlateagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Life changing...”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have been meaning to write this review since we experienced our magical tour of Firenze with Adri...but it wasn't until tonight when my husband was remembering the basil pesto pizza he had enjoyed so much that I had to sit down and finally write it. I think the reason I have procrastinated so long is because there were just too many wonderful experiences, I didn't know where to start. I won't mention all the places we went - because that is the beauty of the tour; It is customized! If there is something you really want to see or do, Adri will make it happen, if you don't know what you want to do, Adri will show you things and places you didn't even know existed. We experienced 'little secrets' on our tour that charmed and delighted us all - even our (then) three year old son. He was actually the reason we did the tour with Florence Custom Tours, we wanted to be able to see as much as we possibly could in the short time we had (which was sadly 1 day), but we wanted to do it at our own pace without having to hold other people up. If there was something our son took a particular liking to, we wanted to be able to let him enjoy it. Luckily the thing (person) he took a liking to was our delightful tour guide - Adri! She was incredible with him - with all of us actually - so patient and attentive and above all informative. I know I sound like I am gushing, but when it came time to say good bye, we were honestly sad to see her go. We made a true friend that day and what was supposed to be a once in a life time experience to tick off our bucket list became something we are determined to do again. We cannot wait to return to beautiful Firenze and when we do, you can be sure we will be looking you up Adri! Thank you a million times over - and thank you especially for David!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AussiesInMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florence Custom Tours also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Florence Custom Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing