We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at our friends' luxurious home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1865 Residenza d'epoca
Ranked #1 of 656 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We visited Florence last June as part of our honeymoon in Italy.
My wife had discovered this B&B through tripadvisor and we decided to give it a try. Located in the old district of the city, it was rather easy to find the hotel, thanks to the great directions provided by Michel Sabatini (owner) ahead of our arrival. Michel and his wife Cinthia greeted us warmly upon our arrival which made us feel great specially after travelling the red-eye overnight from Canada. The B&B is located on the 3rd floor of an historic building. You access it through a typical European elevator.
Upon entering the automatic glass door (Nice touch modern touch), you are overwhelm by the richness of the decor and ambiance.
It immediately gives you the feeling of entering your friends' home.
We had the opportunity to experience two different rooms during our stay as our originally selected suite wasn't available upon our arrival. Michel made sure to move us to the suite the following night.
Both rooms were extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated. The high ceiling with historic painting were fabulous. The photos from the website are exactly as how it is when on-site.
The rooms are extremely comfortable and quiet which is perfect to recover from a long trip.
Every morning, Michel personally attended to our very needs, from preparing himself a delicious truffle omelet (sooooo good) to guiding us for a day visits.
The hotel is located in the heart of the old Florence which makes it perfect to visit the city's attraction.
We will definitely renew when we are in Tuscany.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank FoodeNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
There are newer reviews for 1865 Residenza d'epoca
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 655 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

During our recent trip to Italy, Florence was our favourite city and 1865 our favourite accommodation.

What it lacks in terms of facilities of a hotel, it more than makes up other ways. First and foremost is the host Michael who is warm, welcoming and helpful. You can tell that he really takes pride in running the B&B and ensuring its quality. This is demonstrated in small but significant personal touches such as cooked eggs to order for breakfast and the choice of fresh and tasty produce that he provides on the buffet each morning. We really also appreciated the facilities to make our own coffee or tea in the lounge area.

We were fortunate enough to be allocated the Henry James room which is the largest room on offer and overlooks a neighbouring courtyard. I especially loved the bathroom which has a deep claw foot bath perfect for a relaxing soak at the end of the day in addition to a marble shower room.

I also preferred the location of 1865 to staying in an area closer to the Duomo or Uffizi which would have been more central but also touristy. We found it so much more interesting to discover our own favourite parts of Florence away from the madding crowd.

This B&B deserves its top spot on Tripadvisor and Michael is to be congratulated on doing such a great job.

Room Tip: Henry James room is the most spacious.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a beautiful B&B in a great position. Its a short bus or taxi ride from the Train station. It is in a handy location a short walk to the town centre.

We stayed for three nights.

The breakfast was brilliant and there is delicious espresso (pod) coffee on tap.

There is a lovely restaurant just around the corner as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poutama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a very small and intimate bed and breakfast well located in Florence. We were treated very well but this is a house converted into a bed and breakfast and is not like a five star hotel.
Pros:
-Michel He is the owner and is an enjoyable, charming multilingual man who gives excellent advice about how to navigate Florence. His advice about restaurants, transport and directions was very helpful. His son Matias was also very helpful and enjoyable to chat with.
-The ambiance of the place. If you like a small intimate spot that probably feels like an upscale apartment in the city I suspect this has the feel.
-The bed is very comfortable.

Cons:
-If you are a light sleeper in the morning and don't plan to start early you may not sleep well because the sounds of preparing and serving breakfast carry into the rooms.
-The rooms are small and lack drawers for clothes
-The elevator is tiny so prepare to make additional trips if you have a family or lots of luggage.
-The breakfast was only average.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eph76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were visitig Florence in January 2013 and stayed in this hotels for a couple of nights. I would like to say thay it was fantastic! You are like home you can ask owners to help you with any question and organization. Rooms were very cosey and well decorated .Breakfat was also great! So I will certanly return there again. 5 stars for everything from Russia!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EugeneK285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay in florence! I stayed here for 3 nights in November. The best B & B I have ever stayed in. Our room was facing a beautiful courtyard it was very clean, big, and had wonderful bathroom! Very nice to have a robe and slippers. Breakfast was delicious, best crossiants ever. Michael was helpful with booking tickets and recommending dinning. Would love to stay here for much longer!

Room Tip: Room with the courtyard was delightful
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11,234,456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This place lives up to expectations. 5 glorious rooms in central Florence in a quiet residential neighbourhood, exquisitely furnished and comfortable and admirably marshalled by the owner Michel who lives with his family on the floor above. His recommendations for restaurants were spot on, and his friendliness and warmth added to our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamsandS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#2 of 411 in Florence
3,252 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#3 of 411 in Florence
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,362 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#11 of 411 in Florence
3,520 reviews
B&B Monte Oliveto
#2 of 656 in Florence
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1865 Residenza d'epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1865 Residenza d'epoca

Address: Via Luigi Carlo Farini 12 | Florence, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 656 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $177 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1865 Residenza d'epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive new guesthouse, 1865, with 5 luxurious bedrooms, has just opened in a historic building in a residential part of central Florence. Precious design elements combined with period features create an atmosphere of great charm and elegance.Each room is individually designed and furnished, and has a luxurious travertine bathroom, LCD television, air conditioning, free wi-fi. The mattresses, bed linen, bathrobes, and personal toiletries are of first quality, and all made locally in Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your 1865 Residenza d'epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing