We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1865 Residenza d'epoca
Ranked #1 of 672 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just wonderful”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We only stayed for two nights last month, but wished we could have stayed longer at this lovely and charming B&B. Cinzia and Michael were so helpful with everything from directions and tickets to restaurants. Which were excellent! Our room was beautiful with the frescoed ceiling. The bed comfortable and the water always hot. Breakfast was a feast! Delicious and abundant. I am looking forward to returning to Florence for a longer stay at this excellent B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryB0724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
442
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay in Florence. An easy walk from all the attractions yet in a nice quiet area. A very old and characterful but reliable and unstressful lift takes you up to the second floor. A beautiful sitting room has tea and coffee, pastries and fruit available all day as well as Port and other night caps. The rooms feature fresco ceilings, very high quality beds, linen and personal accessories. Michel provides a short but useful introduction to Florence and all the sights and in a very friendly manner deals with all enquiries and guest requirements in the most professional manner. Breakfast is excellent - particularly the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. The only small thing we feel could have been enhanced was the choice of muesli. Wifi worked perfectly from the rooms. We stayed in the Jessie White Mario room which we would happily stay in again and the memento of the room by way of an attractive bookmark was another nice touch. We would strongly recommend this place to any couple visiting Florence. Grazie Michel and Cinzia!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2013

1865 is a great place to stay in Florence. The rooms and the decor are first class and Michel and Cinzia went out of their way to make sure we had a fantastic time. Michel also recommended and booked some great restaurants on our behalf.

1865 is situated in a quiet residential street and only a short walk to all the major attractions. It's alos next to one of the most beautiful synagogues in Europe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank si_gold20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waconia, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a wonderful B&B in Florence. Our room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious and included wonderful choices like meats and cheese, pastries, fruit, eggs, yogurt, etc. Michel was very helpful in making sure we were comfortable, helped us with train tickets, taxi, tickets to museums, restaurant recommendations, and sightseeing suggestions. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful B&B for five nights from Oct. 1. It's been about two weeks since we returned home, but I still terribly miss this place: the original frescoe on the ceiling, Cinzia's elegant collection of antique furniture, Michel's lovely scrambled eggs, the truly amazing little lift that I've only seen in films... It was everything I could expect of an Italian B&B and more.
And the location is more than perfect. It is tucked in a very quiet, tranquil street that is only a few steps away from all the action. Some may say it's far from the train station, but those of you who enjoy walking like us will find it no more than a light stroll of about 20 minutes (of course, there are a number of direct buses, too). Besides, it was one of the joys for my husband and I to take a different route every day, finding new, cute alleys filled with beautiful shops.
Lastly, I loved how Michel and Cinzia made us feel welcome and comfortable in a non-overwhelming way. They are a very sophisticated, chic couple, and it was always a delight to chat with them.
If you get the chance to stay here, take some time and sit in the parlour sipping a glass of port wine or espresso always kept handy for guests. It's a calming, healing experience alla Fiorentina.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acc-tou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed for 3 nights at 1865 Residenza d'epoca and were hugely impressed with it. It is housed on the second floor of a late 19th century town house. It is located on a peaceful residential street but only a 10 min walk from the heart of Florence. Michel and Cinzia were lovely hosts; warmly welcoming us upon arrival with a coffee and overview of the city and always on hand to provide restaurant recommendations and organise tickets to exhibitions. Their careful attention to detail is evident throughout, both in terms of the general devour and also nice touches such as the complimentary coffee, fresh fruit and port available throughout the day. Our room was finished to an extremely high standard, with a very comfortable bed and large en-suite/wet room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a gorgeous place!! We stayed here for three nights during our honeymoon and were in awe of the beauty of the rooms, especially the breakfast room. The ceiling frescos and red velvet walls made you feel as if you were in a museum! Our room was spotlessly clean with a large bathroom. It faced a courtyard garden and a synagogue, so the view from our window was incredible.

We were greeted warmly by the owners' daughter, who was lovely and knowledgeable. They gifted us with a delicious bottle of celebratory champagne for our first evening there.

Breakfast was perfect ... cheese, meats, fresh fruits, eggs, yogurt, pastries and wonderful coffee!! Coffee/espresso was available all day and night, as was fresh fruit. I usually only have coffee in the mornings, but while staying at the 1865, I had cup after cup all day long, it was that good :)

Cinzia, owner and host, was a truly lovely woman who was always available. She made reservations for us at both the Uffizi and the Accademia so that we wouldn't have to wait in line. Cinzia constantly asked if there was anything we needed and was always concerned that we were comfortable.

We absolutely loved this bed and breakfast and would highly recommend it. As a matter of fact, should we visit Florence again, 1865 is where we will stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1865 Residenza d'epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1865 Residenza d'epoca

Property: 1865 Residenza d'epoca
Address: Via Luigi Carlo Farini 12 | Florence, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 672 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1865 Residenza d'epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive new guesthouse, 1865, with 5 luxurious bedrooms, has just opened in a historic building in a residential part of central Florence. Precious design elements combined with period features create an atmosphere of great charm and elegance.Each room is individually designed and furnished, and has a luxurious travertine bathroom, LCD television, air conditioning, free wi-fi. The mattresses, bed linen, bathrobes, and personal toiletries are of first quality, and all made locally in Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your 1865 Residenza d'epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing