We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1865 Residenza d'epoca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1865 Residenza d'epoca
Ranked #1 of 618 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Love love love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here early January with my partner. It was such a beautiful place. Huge ceilings, 2 bathrooms for our 1 bedroom suite. Just heavenly. When you arrive there are pastries, chocolates, proper coffee, cognac all sorts of delights that you just help yourself to in the sort of living area.

Breakfast was very yummy, lots of it and freshly made eggs and smoked salmon.

The hosts were so friendly and helpful, there is really not a bad thing to say about this Hotel

Totally divine for a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluemelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
390
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paros, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Cinzia & Michel open their house and treat you like proper guests, guests of their own home. nice rooms, not too big but very comfortable, great bathroom, it's all about quality and feeling right at home. the best part of your stay there is Cinzia & Michel. Hope to meet them again soon and waiting for them to visit Greece to experience our hospitality, too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This small boutique hotel/B&B is a real gem. Located in a beautiful 19th century Italian house with high frescoed ceilings and only five guest rooms, it is on a quiet street a bit east of the centre of Florence and close to all the major sites including the Uffizi Gallery, the Galleria dell’Accademia, and many restaurants. We were there in December 2012 just before Christmas. The owners/hosts, Michel and Cinzia, were warm, friendly, and helpful. We were impressed with their attention to detail such as duvets for the bed, large bath sheets, full breakfasts including made to order eggs, and copious amounts of tea and superb Italian coffee – all to ensure our comfort and satisfaction. Providing complimentary drinks and fruit in the lounge throughout the day, and chocolates and Italian dessert wine and port in the evening added a nice touch. The Henry James room in which we stayed was very spacious with easy chairs to relax in and plenty of room for our things. The only thing missing was a table for our laptop. We managed without it, but I’m sure the owners would have been quick to accommodate us if asked. We’re looking forward to staying there again on our next trip to Florence.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose604A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in the Jessie White Mario room for a weekend trip to Firenze in October. We had our 4 month old baby with us, and that worked fine. There are only 5 rooms so the atmosphere is quite intimate - the owners were a very pleasant couple! They had travelled quite a bit themselves and were more than happy to share their experiences.

The bed was very good, the room was clean and a good size. The ceiling had original frescos and the baby loved laying in bed looking up at them:) The bathroom was fantastic with luxurious toiletries (which my wife enjoyed) and lush bathrobes.

Wifi was available in the room, in the lobby there was a coffee machine, snacks and some drinks available.

The only "negative" thing I can possibly think of was that the elevator was a bit tiny, so we had to carry the stroller up the stairs, but that wasn't a big issue for us. But if that is something you would have problems with I guess it should be noted.

All in all we had a great and relaxing stay in 1865!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjorn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the residenza. Our room was beautiful, and the bed very comfortable.
The living room can be enjoyed as if at home. Michel and Cinzia, the owners, have had wonderful suggestions on what to do in Florence and where to eat. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudiad10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

If possible try and stay here. They only have a few rooms but they are all beautiful. My wife and I celebrated our 30th anniversary at 1865 and it was a high point in lodging on our trip to Italy. Our room was charming with a painted ceiling that was stunning. It was very romantic both in the room and also in the common areas. However, mixed with the charm were modern touch that gave it a perfectly sophisticated feel to the B&B.

I pulled my back and had to lay in bed more than planned. It was the perfect place to lay in bed because I could stare up at the beautiful ceiling. We could also see the top of the Duomo from the room.

The walk into the historical center was up a commerical street that went from a residential feel and landed in the heart of the tourist part of Florence. They also had an easy way to get a taxi which came in handy after pulling my back.

I can't recommend 1865 enough. Whenever we go back to Florence our first choice will be this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

You just come in and you feel at home.
Our room, named Carl Hillebrand, was provided with bed linen of high quality, a very comfortable bed, huge bathroom with a fantastic sized walk-in shower.
Very nice view on a private garden: slept wonderfully!
Free buffet with tea, coffee, biscuits and fruits all day long.
Michel, the owner, prepares every morning an excellent breakfast with lots of options.
A jewel of a place in Florence; we could not recommend this b&b enough.

Room Tip: Carl Hillebrand room with a wonderful view over a private garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SebS0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#1 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Hotel David
#3 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,709 reviews
Duomo
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#5 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Relais Villa Antea
#4 of 618 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1865 Residenza d'epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1865 Residenza d'epoca

Property: 1865 Residenza d'epoca
Address: Via Luigi Carlo Farini, 12 | Florence, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 618 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1865 Residenza d'epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive new guesthouse, 1865, with 5 luxurious bedrooms, has just opened in a historic building in a residential part of central Florence. Precious design elements combined with period features create an atmosphere of great charm and elegance.Each room is individually designed and furnished, and has a luxurious travertine bathroom, LCD television, air conditioning, free wi-fi. The mattresses, bed linen, bathrobes, and personal toiletries are of first quality, and all made locally in Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your 1865 Residenza d'epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing