We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gracious Rest in Busy Beautiful Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Firenze Anglo American
Ranked #112 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Kennebunk, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Gracious Rest in Busy Beautiful Florence”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Selected by our tour company for the three-night start to a tour of Tuscany, the NH Anglo American Hotel provided the quiet, clean safe atmosphere desired by travelers who love walking the streets of historic Florence, Italy. Slightly further from the Duomo area than hotels on two previous trips, we felt safe walking the distances along the Arno two blocks from the hotel and the interior route, as we learned it, and enjoyed this oasis of classic,elegant but not pretentious comfort in the evening. A king-size bed provided some of the best nights of sleep on the trip. The spotless, roomy bathroom and ample closet space were perfect except for a closet safe that was not functioning. I loved greeting the morning by examining the sky after opening the shutters of the large windows. A daily sumptuous breakfast with a choice for every palette, gave the energy to walk and gawk until a light mid-afternoon lunch.
The lobby/reception area provided several areas of deeply cushioned living-room like seating, both indoors and on the umbrella topped patio, conducive to relaxed conversation. A bar was available. What a great place to start a trip with a small tour group like ours! If I were planning an independent return to Florence, I would definitely consider the NH Anglo American Hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms with windows out to the interior patio were quieter in the early morning than those on the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    533
    223
    72
    56
See reviews for
231
559
49
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is very well located, near the train station and near the river, it's walking distance from everything. The staff is very nice, always trying to help. Breakfast is good and rooms are clean and not so small as you usually expect on european hotels. I would definitively arrive there again, and don't miss the bar, they have excellent paninis.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Positive points :
- good location in a quiet and safe zone of the city and pretty close to city center
- breakfast included in price
- clean rooms
- friendly staf
- air conditionat


Negative points
- horrible WI FI
- crowded

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brebe_silviu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel made our stay fantastic in Florence. When we reached the hotel, the receptionist saw our little daughter with us, and gave us a bigger room. When we entered the room the bed was the size of two king beds. The rooms were very neat and clean. Service was great. The breakfast was the best bit. For our entire stay in Italy, this was the place we had the best breakfast. It is very conveniently located to some great local sights. Just walking distance really.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

From the moment we got into the hotel, the service was wonderful. The rooms have high ceilings and the breakfast buffet is phenomenal. One night, after coming home from a lovely walk along the water, we stopped by the bar for a drink. The bartender was SO friendly and treated us very well and made us feel special, comfortable, and at home. We couldn't wait to go back. If you decide to stay here, and you SHOULD, be sure to ask for Guiseppe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjoerring
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very fine room. Very fine breakfast. Very fine service.
All the staf could understand and spooke english.
Nice place. All the staf were very serviceminded.
The hotel layed in a good place.
The cleaning off the rooms were good.


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Soeren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

On arrival at the NH Anglo American, after an approximate 20 minute walk from Santa Maria Novella Station, we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff at Reception. Our room was pretty spacious, with a nice bathroom, and air con. WiFi was available but it would "time out" every now again - but you can get new usernames and passwords (provided on pieces of paper) from the reception desk - so we picked up a handful of these - problem solved.
There was a nice Bar area downstairs, together with an outside terrace - which was rather pleasant.
The breakfast was good - I personally preferred the Continental option - with a selection of meats, cheeses, and croissants etc. Bacon and scrambled egg was available, but when I tried it, it was particularly hot. Cereals, yoghurts and fruit was readily available too.
There was a nice Restaurant next door to the hotel, which served a range of food & drinks.

A couple of tips:
The hotel is within walking distance of Florence's main sights - 15/20 mins walking along the River was quite nice, towards Ponte Vecchio.
The buses are also a good means of transport - Lines C & D stop fairly near to the Hotel.

A nice hotel, I would recommend it, and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeanCityHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#91 of 412 in Florence
1,040 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Santa Maria Novella
Starhotels Michelangelo
Starhotels Michelangelo
#127 of 412 in Florence
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#45 of 412 in Florence
1,142 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#121 of 412 in Florence
228 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#85 of 412 in Florence
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Firenze Anglo American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Firenze Anglo American

Property: NH Firenze Anglo American
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 9 | Porta al Prato, Borgo Ognisanti Area, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Anglo American)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#115 Family Hotel in Florence
#116 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Firenze Anglo American 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Firenze Anglo American is set in a quiet yet central location in Florence, between the Lungarno area and Borgo Ognissanti. The classically-styled hotel preserves all of its unique original features and reflects a fascinating age of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Firenze Anglo American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Anglo American Hotel Florence
Nh Hotels Florence
Nh Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing