We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, shouldn't be 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Firenze Anglo American
Ranked #118 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here as it seemed to be relatively good value for a 4* hotel, but it's rating is a little optimistic and is maybe a 3 at best. We arrived at 11:30 and didn't expect to be able to check-in until 2pm as advertised, but were told to come back at 3pm instead.

We moved from our first room as it was dark and small (355) and changed to a slightly larger one overlooking the street. This room was better but still looked tired and poorly maintained. In the bathroom, 4 mosquitoes awaited us.. this was a recurring theme for our 3 nights, not sure where they were coming in from as we never opened the window (aircon maybe) but each night we were stung, managed to kill 8 of them...

One strange thing was the change of bedding each day... the first night was fine, we had a normal duvet and sheets, but on the second and third nights this was changed to a dark grey rug instead of duvet and only one sheet over the mattress instead of two. The rug was significantly hotter than the duvet and scratchy, so we went to reception at 11:50pm and asked for it to be changed (not much fun when all you want to do is just get into bed). 30 minutes later a duvet arrived. We had to go through this same process again the following night despite already asking reception earlier that day to change it.

The wifi is free but heavily restricted; speed 256kb/s, capped 100mb download limit and only a handful of people at any one time. As other reviewers have stated, if you want to use it, do so first thing in the morning otherwise you'll keep getting timed out or not be able to connect at all. The breakfast is ok if you like endless carbs and fruit. If you want a fried egg or anything other than runny scrambled eggs and undercooked fatty bacon you have to pay extra. You can get real coffee instead of the weak stuff from the machines if you just ask.

Location wise, it's fine, a quiet area one street away from the river. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the center. The reception staff were nice enough, apart from the zombie working the night shift (Jason) who would do anything he could not to be helpful.

All in all, a good weekend break, we came to Florence for the city not the hotel and would choose differently next time if we ever go back. Enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first before you commit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was an average hotel and on a whole I have found the hotels in Italy not up to the standard of the rest of Europe.

Room was clean but average, service fair and breakfast disappointing. Would not stay there again

Room Tip: Get a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenys I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Florence is a small city and almost anywhere you are you in the centre or very close. NH Anglo American is within walking distance from all the important places in Florence.
The rooms are good and comfortable. Our room even had a balcony although we did not have much use for it. Still, it is nice to have.
Breakfast is of a reasonable standard.
Service is of Italian standard - don't ask for much and don't expect too much.
One thing that I disliked is a low water pressure - not much fun having shower.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank levr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel for 3 Nights end of May over the Bank holiday , Ideal for a city break in a good location easy walking to all the main attractions and good restaurants.
Good breakfast choice staff very helpful. Rooms rather tired looking ,compact and small bathroom.
Hotel needs updating and a facelift.

Room Tip: Would request to see room allocated , room we had quiet but very small and compact. Needed updating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tnbjbhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel within easy walk of all that Florence has to offer. Rooms are of varying size and quality. I was part of a group and my room was not among the best. Outstanding breakfast buffet! Would definitely stay again and hope for better luck on room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leejenkins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel early july for two nights, and it was a good experience. The hotel has some nice decor, and the service is very good. A guy named Tony is very helpfull, dedicated and professional - some minor issues with our room were solved within an hour after arrival. We also enjoyed that the hotel is situated in a not very buzzing part of Florence, which is still within walking distance (approx. 10 minutes).

Mr. & Mrs. Wiborg from Denmark

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wiborg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is really nice and staff were very friendly. The room was medium size but with very nice decorations and a very big bathroom. Both room and bathroom were clean to the highest standards. Would definitely visit again. In terms of location it was 1 min walk away from the river front and about 15 mins walk for the Piazza del Duomo. Cheap and cheerful and close to all the action!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konstantinos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#92 of 409 in Florence
1,122 reviews
AC Hotel Firenze
#162 of 409 in Florence
1,232 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Starhotels Michelangelo
Starhotels Michelangelo
#128 of 409 in Florence
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Santa Maria Novella
c-hotels Ambasciatori
c-hotels Ambasciatori
#302 of 409 in Florence
109 reviews
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#101 of 409 in Florence
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Firenze Anglo American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Firenze Anglo American

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 9, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Anglo American)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#115 Family Hotel in Florence
#116 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $101 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Firenze Anglo American 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Firenze Anglo American is set in a quiet yet central location in Florence, between the Lungarno area and Borgo Ognissanti. The classically-styled hotel preserves all of its unique original features and reflects a fascinating age of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Splitty, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your NH Firenze Anglo American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Anglo American Hotel Florence
Nh Hotels Florence
Nh Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing