We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would do it again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Firenze Anglo American
Ranked #112 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would do it again”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed 7 nights, and were very pleased. The service was excellent and everything was very clean. We were very impressed with Giuseppe, the bartender/waiter. He had a great personality and made our stay enjoyable.

Almost everything you would want to see is less than a 30 minute walk. It is a short walk to the Train station ant to Bus stops.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    519
    217
    71
    55
See reviews for
219
548
48
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in a Jr Suite...if they assign you to room 356, DON'T believe it is a Jr Suite! Got moved 2 days later to a lovely first floor room...so much nicer! The breakfast is great and lots of selection with attentive staff. The front desk day shift is wonderful, but the evening woman was inattentive and stern on multiple occasions. Internet works fine if not too many people are on. You may be denied access for extended time periods if too many people in the hotel are on before you. Couldn't access it from Sunday night through Monday 10 am!! I find this unacceptable. Lastly, the hotel is a bit far from the train station...manageable, but not as close as I had hoped.

Room Tip: Not room 356,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cmoe42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nice quiet location within a 15 minute walk of Ponte Vecchio.
Great breakfast selection,lots of fresh fruit, eggs, cheeses, meats, breads, cereals, & yogurt.
All staff are extremely accommodating. The hotel facilities & services aren't available for the times stated in their literature. But this didn't seem to be a problem for our group. We just adjusted to their time schedules.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is our second visit to the Anglo-American and it has lost none of it's charm for us. This time I booked the hotel as a surprise trip for my husband's 'big' birthday as he loves Florence so much. We don't like modern hotels with no character, and were allocated a VERY spacious room with a lovely sitting area and probably the biggest bed we have ever slept in! It was also extremely comfortable. All the staff were very polite and helpful, especially Niome when we checked in.The buffet breakfast was also lovely serving bacon and scrambled eggs, as well as meats and cheese etc.
The location of the hotel is very good as well, being only 10-15 mins walk from the main railway station and the centre of Florence and being located in a leafy area away from the main hustle and bustle of the city centre ensuring a peaceful night's sleep.
All in all, if you want a hotel with a bit of character I would highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancyfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I loved this hotel. It was clean, smart and elegant looking. The room was a good size and very clean aswell.

Staff were friendly, there was a good choice of food and drink at breakfast and it only took us 10 mins to walk to the Ponte Vechio (and we're not fast walkers).

We would be happy to return and just as happy to recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby06London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel because we wanted to be close to the Florence's train station. Also we wanted a more quiet hotel (we were travelling with a baby) away from all the main tourist attractions and it is located in a lovely are with nice shopping streets and restaurants.
It is installed in a old palace a bit art deco I would say and our room had that old palace decoration that was really more on the old side. I loved breakfast but that is the nice thing about the NH in general they have a good variety, they adapt to the country in with good quality. The service was always very nice nothing to complain about. It has free wi-fi in the bedroom.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martaribeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our room had an upstairs bedroom, which was fine but the hip height, wobbly glass partition beside the bed worried me a bit, didnt fancy falling to the sitting area below. Apart from that the room was good. Breakfast had a wide choice and was very good. Was in a great spot 20 minutes walk along the river to the middle of Florence.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ammiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#91 of 422 in Florence
986 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#83 of 422 in Florence
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Starhotels Michelangelo
Starhotels Michelangelo
#126 of 422 in Florence
777 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#46 of 422 in Florence
1,119 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#85 of 422 in Florence
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Firenze Anglo American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Firenze Anglo American

Property: NH Firenze Anglo American
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 9 | Porta al Prato, Borgo Ognisanti Area, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Anglo American)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#115 Family Hotel in Florence
#116 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Firenze Anglo American 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Firenze Anglo American is set in a quiet yet central location in Florence, between the Lungarno area and Borgo Ognissanti. The classically-styled hotel preserves all of its unique original features and reflects a fascinating age of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your NH Firenze Anglo American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Anglo American Hotel Florence
Nh Hotels Florence
Nh Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing