We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small rooms and a bad smell” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Firenze Anglo American

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
NH Firenze Anglo American
Ranked #105 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“small rooms and a bad smell”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and i stayed here while on our honeymoon...

The room was nice but a foul smell was coming from the bathroom in the piping. Good location and not far from river and main strip.

Breakfast was lovely and the breakfast staff were so nice and friendly.. not so much the staff at front desk.

We were pretty dissapointed that we were given the smallest and smellyest room especially after advising in advance that we were staying here for our honeymoon.

These hotels should really invest in a spa or swimming pool as guest do come here to unwind!

Overall appart from the breakfast and the breakfast staff - nothing special

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunimooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    482
    206
    62
    54
See reviews for
199
512
45
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

The lobby is nice and that's about it. The hallway carpets are stained, the wall paper was peeling off the wall at every seam in our room, the shower was only dribbling out water, there were fairly large dents in our walls and all the walls were scuffed up. This is not a good hotel for the price. We paid the equivalent of $130 Canadian per night to stay here. If we had paid $80 Canadian or less than I could have overlooked these things.

Thank goodness that Florence itself was so beautiful that we spent all of our time exploring the town and only had to come back to the room to sleep at night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leannemoore78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
211 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

After staying in the Cicerone Hotel in Rome, this hotel looked like a major upgrade! We stayed 3 nights here (booked through our tour), and it was OK (better than Cicerone). The rooms were spacious (we even had an extra room with a separate sitting area), but the rooms were in need of updating. There were a few holes in the hardwood floors of our room, and the wallpaper was peeling in places. However, it was clean, and the bathroom was a very nice size. Oh, the light bulb was burned out in the shower which was annoying. The food was NOT good at the hotel, so I definitely recommend going out to eat.

We did ask the concierge for a food recommendation, and he asked us to come back later. However, we talked to another concierge (a very friendly girl), and she was extremely helpful--even asking us when returned how our meal was.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed there one night. Although it was adequate, the wallpaper was peeling and the decor a little outdated. The buffet breakfast was standard, nothing special. Dinner was fine, but was lacking in side dishes (vegetables, salad). It could do with a renovation.

Room Tip: Do not use your curling iron even with an adapter in the bathroom. It will burn out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally1943155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the end of April 2012. When we arrived, there was a problem in that they had mistakenly overbooked. We, along with a few other guests, had to wait about 30 minutes while the staff worked hard to resolve the situation. As we had booked our room spur of the moment the day before, we were not in the least put out by the wait. The staff was very friendly during this time, and they seemed genuinely concerned about getting us into a room, if not in their hotel, then in a sister hotel.

In the end they gave us an extremely spacious room (for European standards) in their hotel that was very clean and charming.

The location is great as it is near the train station and a couple blocks from the Arno River. A short walk away are many fantastic restaurants and shops as well as many of the famous sites, such as the Duomo and Ponte Vecchio.

Breakfast was included in the room charge and was wonderful. They offer a buffet offering cereal, pastries, yogurt, fruits, meats, cheeses, breads, and juices.

One downside is that internet access is only available at an extra daily charge. It is also not quite as charming as some of the smaller hotels we stayed at in Europe, but larger and fancier.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Well located, clean and good service. The breakfast was very good. It has the classic italian feeling which I loved. As all NH hotels I have stayed in, value it's a plus.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingridpereyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Most hotels in Italy are unwilling to invest and modernize. They hold on to old furniture and infrastructure just because it's authentic. I know many travelers love the classical Italian style, but this doesn't mean hotels don't need to invest. This hotel is a good example. The building is beautiful, but inside everything is outdated. There are no plugs to charge your gadgets, no free wifi and the furniture is old and worn. The shower curtain smells like a wet dog and the lighting in the room is insufficient to read a book at night. The elevator is small enough to give Houdini claustrophobia.
The hotel is ran by the Spanish NH chain, so they tried to update many services, yet things feel old and worn. Structural improvements could make this a great hotel.
I'm not saying its bad, but personally I would not book this hotel if it was for more than two nights.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank gluon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#91 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Uffizi
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#88 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#86 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Starhotels Michelangelo
Starhotels Michelangelo
#121 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#204 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Firenze Anglo American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Firenze Anglo American

Property: NH Firenze Anglo American
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 9 | Porta al Prato, Borgo Ognisanti Area, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Anglo American)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#115 Family Hotel in Florence
#116 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Firenze Anglo American 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Firenze Anglo American is set in a quiet yet central location in Florence, between the Lungarno area and Borgo Ognissanti. The classically-styled hotel preserves all of its unique original features and reflects a fascinating age of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, NHHotels, Expedia, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your NH Firenze Anglo American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Anglo American Hotel Florence
Nh Hotels Florence
Nh Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing