We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gud Place”
Review of Hotel Malaspina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Malaspina
Ranked #280 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Nice hotel located in a beautiful park,rooms are big & spacious, decor was excellent , service was fast.Food quality is remarkable, some dishes are really very tasty.Like to vist again and again
highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jigneshpatelmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Malaspina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 446 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

City breaks are about getting away from your daily life and experiencing something new and exciting for a couple of days. Florence is one of those cities that offers a huge variety of options. I chose the Hotel Malaspina from Lastminute.com because it was close to the city centre and had low daily rates.

The hotel was very close to everything you would want to see in Florence, perfectly situated on a city park and about a 10 minute walk from the train station to the Duomo. The hotel provided an upgraded room for a small fee, the front desk clerk was very accommodating and friendly. The room I had was right off lift and a fairly good size. The bathroom and shower (water power) were the main issues I had, but I reported this to the front desk on check out.

If you are on a budget and want to see Florence, this is a good stay. If you are used to travelling and staying in luxurious accommodations, this is not for you.

But the best part of the stay was sitting in that great park at the end of the day, watching the older people gather to gossip, the dog owners letting their animals socialise and read a great book during the last few hours of sunshine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dwainlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We booked the Malaspina through Easyjet at an extremely good price and were very pleased we did. Location was ideal for us as we were dropped off at Santa Maria Novella station by Terravision coach from Pisa airport (very good value incidentally at 10 Euros return booked on line) and it was a 10 minute walk towing suitcases. Situation on Piazza Indipendenza might look a little far out of town on the map but in fact only 15/20 minutes to all the sights and it was a bonus to walk out in the morning on to a green square. Our room (308) was quite small but clean, simply but tastefully furnished with a reasonably sized en-suite bathroom and efficient air con and double glazing. Public areas well appointed with nice antiques - a bit like your own private palazzo. Friendly and efficient staff, a generous continental breakfast buffet continually replenished, which isn't always the case, in pleasant surroundings. All in all a great five nights ... thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deebunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We've stayed 4 nights in this hotel. Our bedroom was small as well as the WC, which needed some improvements. Nevertheless it was clean, quiet (the room was on the back of the building) the staff helpfull and the breakfast more than enough. The TV was small (as everything in the room) but we didn't go to Florence to see TV or to stay in the hotel enjoying its facilities.
The location is very good: only10 minutes walk from the St.Maria Novel Station (take the street on the corner next to Mcdonalds and go straight ahead) and from there you can easily reach every interesting spots.
The only annoying thing is the water lack of pressure, which make difficult to take the showers.
Concluding: taking into account the italian stantards and the price we've paid, this hotel meet the expectations and we would come back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

18 of us stayed at this hotel for 3 nights: it was a big family celebration for my mother's 90th birthday. When we had all arrived, coming from England, Italy and Dubai, there was a big mix up on rooms even though we had phoned to check the number and type just a few days before. My poor niece who had travelled from Dubai with her 14-month-old daughter was put in a single room with no window and no bathroom. This was changed the next day. We also had one double room where the shower was just a dribble. For the same price the rooms varied enormously: from big with a balcony overlooking the square to small and dark.
Having said this, the hotel itself was very nice with good decor and quiet. The position was just great, walking distance from everything we wanted to see and near excellent and inexpensive restaurants. The breakfast was fine and included all you needed for those with a sweet tooth or those who prefer ham and cheese. On the negative side the hot drinks were from a machine and there was no fresh fruit.
All in all, though, we had a pleasant stay at this hotel and would go there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BridgetBoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed at Malaspina hotel for 3 nights on our honeymoon. It was our first trip to Italy & Florence. The first thing to know is hotel's location: if you are not very tired, you don't need any transport to get to the hotel from central train station. It's about 10 minutes walk max (After first day, we found more short ways to get to hotel) so get map and you can find your hotel without any problem. Actually hotel is located in very center of Florence. You are 5 minute walk from Santa Maria Novella, 10 minute walk from Duomo, 15 minute walk form Ufizi Gallery and also about 15 minute walk from Ponto Veccio, so there's no need in any additional transport.

The hotel itself is very nice building, where if you will have luck (or pay little bit more) will get room with great view on nice square. In other case, you will get room with view on the building, but it's ok. It's not very noisy, but if you prefer to open the windows (as central air conditioner was not working in the beginning of May) there will be some noise. When windows are closed, there is no any noise because they are double glazed windows.

The room size is affordable, (we had double room), with Wardrobe and table, with tray. The TV was not working at first, but then found out that it was not plugged correctly. If you are movie lover like us, the TV does not support direct USB drive connection so get some cables with you to connect the laptop.

The bathroom is nice, with bath (no bath tube) and plenty of space. The problem in our room (or maybe in whole hotel) was the hot water stream, it was very week and taking shower was little bit uncomfortable. Also we had some problems with hear dryer: it was damaged and braking apart (see the photos).

About cleanness of the hotel: the room was not without dust, there where some dusty places and you can see them on the photos. Linen change was every 3 days, but as we where for 3 nights, we didn't got any change and it was also little bit annoying.

Breakfast was nice. As we read before, most Italian hotels, where you have only breakfast, don't suggest good choice, but Malaspina was very affordable in this case: you have cheese, ham, boiled eggs, croissants, juices, tea, coffee machine, corn flakes, yogurt and so on. Also you can take tea or coffee to your room after breakfast.

Staff was nice, but most of all, we liked young guy, named Allessio, he is very kind and will help you. Also you get free city map (which was very useful) when you arrive.

Internet is free, but you have to ask for the password in the reception. We where given 24 hour limit in 3 days and it was enough.

Don't forget about city tax: it equals - 1 eur * star count * day count. (for 1 person it's 3 eur per day and you pay it in cash up on arrival)

Overall, Malaspina is nice place to stay for several days in the center of the Florence and you get for what you pay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shota_Giorgobiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The hotel was really good, the rooms we had were nice and big, the bathroom ok and very clean. The service of the reservation des was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was pretty good, big variety of different food (cerials, different croissants, rolls, ham and cheese, jam, juices etc) compared to other hotels in Italy. Very near to the train station (about 10 minutes walk), most of the sightseeings were nearby and easily to be reached by walking. But also some bus stations were around to reach the most important places. I would stay there again. It's a bit loud because of one busy street beside but if you close the windows during the night you can sleep well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#271 of 411 in Florence
583 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cimabue
Hotel Cimabue
#341 of 411 in Florence
491 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#64 of 411 in Florence
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Martelli Hotel
Martelli Hotel
#304 of 411 in Florence
594 reviews
San Lorenzo
Galileo Hotel
Galileo Hotel
#233 of 411 in Florence
421 reviews
Hotel Meridiana
#272 of 411 in Florence
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malaspina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malaspina

Address: Piazza Dell'Indipendenza 24, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $54 - $833 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malaspina 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the same hospitality accorded Dante at the Castello di Fosdinovo in Lunigiana, the descendants of the Marquis Malaspina have opened their Florence residence on Piazza dell’Indipendenza to offer modern hospitality with that touch and culture that makes Hotel Malaspina a truly charming hotel.The lady of the house, Benedetta Torrigiani Malaspina, has created elegant rooms with period furniture with inviting halls and parlors, where the intimate atmosphere resembling a private home is enhanced by the excellent comforts, superior among those proposed by 3 star hotels in Florence. Starting with the garage just steps from the hotel (a valet takes your car and brings it back when you want it) and reception open 24h.The TV room and lobby are very pleasant, ideal situations for relaxing or socializing over a cup of coffee or glass of Tuscan wine served by the bar reserved for guests and open from 8 in the morning until midnight.Those staying at Hotel Malaspina for business can also use a conference room which can hold up to 20 people.The pretty breakfast room offers a plentiful buffet with sweet and savory foods, typical Florentine sweets, juices and hot beverages. Guests can obtain all the information they need at the reception for visiting the city and our concierge service makes reservations for tickets to the most important museums and sights, music and theater performances, recommends and makes reservations for restaurants, guided tours and tours to the surrounding areas and transfers to and from the airport (plane and train tickets can also be purchased). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Malaspina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaspina Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing