We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City- Lovely Hotel”
Review of Hotel Argentina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Argentina
Ranked #378 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed September 14, 2008

I found this hotel to be fantastic, I requested a room on the second floor with a balcony and lovely wooden shutters and this is exactly what i got. room 104. The room was a triple room and was really light and spacious, the balcony was lovely with chairs and plants. The sir con unit in the room was the best i have come across in my recent stay in italy.

The staff were excellent and eager to assist with any issues.

The location was also great 1 block from the river, the train station was less than 10 mins and 10min along the river to the centre of Florence. You can get a regional train for 11euro return to pisa which was great trip a must.

Overall i really loved this hotel and really couldn't have honestly faulted it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank loopylou1559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 454 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2008

This was a great find in a convenient location. It's close to the train station, right next to the river, close enough to the touristy sights that it's an easy walk, but far enough that you get a break from the chaos.

Our room was clean and spacious (with a HUGE bathroom) and was very quiet. Between the silence and the shutters, we slept like we were in a tomb!

The front desk staff were incredibly accommodating and helpful with both hotel-related things and sightseeing help.

There are lots of good restaurants in the area and breakfast at the hotel was good and offered an incredible cappuccino.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

Hotel was clean and the staff were pleasant and willing to help. Train station was a five minute walk away and the river only one minute away. Rooms were clean and bathroom well equipped and clean as well. Anyone who is not happy with their stay really should book a more expensive hotel. This hotel is reasonably priced and no complaints from me because we were made very welcome and the friendly staff were very willing to help. A pleasant stay in a nice little hotel with good staff and service and I would return any time.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scootchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Had read other reviews and think they must have stayed at some other hotel. I traveled with 2 other women and we found room very sufficient, bathroom HUGE and well equipped, breakfast filling and healthful. We loved the antique decor and found all aspects of the hotel very clean. We especially commend the hotel staff; one of my friends broke her wrist and staff helped us with cabs, translation problems, phone card , etc. The wonderful Andre even made us coffee when we had to leave at 5:15 AM to make our flight home. Only problem: no working phone in our room, but we were able to use the one at desk any time we wanted.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LoisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of November. We stayed in room 9 (1st floor). The staff was great - friendly, helpful, and very attentive. While the hotel is not located in the middle of the city, it was a short walk to the main sites and the train station. A short walk is not a big deal at all - when you visit Italian cities, you walk and you walk a lot. In 10 - 15 minutes you'll be at Ponte Veccio and the Uffizi.
The room was medium sized although the tv was extremely small. That said, who really cares about the tv . . . you are in Florence! (the only english channel was CNN). The bathroom was enormous - tub, shower and a ton of floor space.
Breakfast was alright, but our experience at 2 other hotels in Rome and Venice is that breakfasts in Italy are generally nothing great - nothing like American breakfasts. This place had some different cereals, scrambled eggs, bread, fruit, and juice.

The main issue was that the hotel room did not have heat. The heater/AC unit did not work. After the 1st night, I told the staff and was told it would be look at it. We came back later in the afternoon and it still was broken. I asked for another room - Florence was cold at night in mid Nov - and was told there were nothing available. The following morning we again mentioned the issue and were told that it would be fixed that day. We came back in the afternoon and were told it was fixed. We checked and, of course, it did not work. We asked to move to another room and were brought to room 3. I first checked the heat before we moved and it did not work either. We stayed in our room since we only had one additional night.

Another issue was that the phone in the room did not work. After the first night, we were told that the problem was somewhere in the walls and was complex to fix. The staff offered us the use of the phone behind the desk or in their office, even offering to have the people leave the office and close the door. The phone in other room we were brought (but did not move to) worked.
If it wasn't for the heat issue, the rating would be above average - but it was cold.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NJTraveler07960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2007

I will be one of the few to recommend this hotel and I really can't understand all the bad reviews.
I got a room on the first floor, facing Via Curtatone, with a small balcony. Room was small, but enough for solo traveller, and bathroom too. Telephone, TV and fridge worked well.
Hotel staff was courteous and breakfast was a nice surprise for italian standarts: a large selection of cakes, breads, rolls, cheeses, eggs and a great espresso.
I don't know if I got lucky and picked up a renovated room or something else, but my experience seems far better than the ones described in other reviews.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savonarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2007

Not sure of all these horrible reviews here.... Staff was super friendly, rooms are clean, bathroom worked great. Rooms are european sized and it's actually not that noisy (this is a city). A fine stay.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank Yan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#330 of 410 in Florence
243 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#304 of 410 in Florence
246 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#270 of 410 in Florence
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Alex
#223 of 410 in Florence
271 reviews
Select Hotel
#334 of 410 in Florence
493 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#353 of 410 in Florence
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argentina

Address: Via Curtatone 12, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #378 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $46 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Argentina 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Argentina was designed to make your stay a memorable one: in fact, in our establishment you will find a very friendly and relaxing atmosphere as well as the very best service, at the very best rates Florence has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argentina Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing