We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Hotel Argentina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Argentina
Ranked #377 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Spent 3 nights here in May. Having stayed in various other hotels in Florence we opted for this as it's away from the centre ( 10 min walk) and the noise from the bells of the Duomo. Reception staff friendly. Our room was quite large, clean and comfy. Breakfast was ok for what we paid. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barney000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 453 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was going through all the reviews of this hotel, and I´m surprised of all the negative ones. My friend and I spent two nights in Hotel Courtatone and had a great experience. Our room was very spacious we had a king size bed, we even had a balcony from where you could see the river. The bathroom was perfect as well. It is located like 10 min walking from the Santa Maria Nouvona Train Station, and about 15 from the town center.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Having read the negative reviews, I was more than a little worried until I got there!
Yes the room was fairly small,and faced the rear courtyard. The air con did work, and the room staued cool all day. Fantastic continental breakfast and as much tea/coffee as equired with ikt.
The shower room had been decorated recently and was more than adequate. Sheets and towels day and toileteries replaced. To be really honest, this was possibly the best value hotel we have ever stayed in. Not the most luxurious, but staff friendly and helpful and the room very clean. Couldn't do better for the price. Also only 5 minutes walk from main station. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, room 110!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StrawberryBlonde214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We arrived at 11.30 pm (as warned when booked) but were not expected, We had booked a 2 double bedded room but it wasnt what we got.After some mulling over we were put into room 13 which was an internal room (very depressing) We asked to be moved the following morning, as the room was dimly lit the fridge did not work and and we had a view of a wall. We went to room 7 but although it was brighter it still wasnt what we had booked, basic no t.v the noise from the road at night was ongoing. Very disappointed as it put a damper on our trip to such a beautiful city. Also we gave up on breakfast, by 8.30am apart from a couple of croissants there was no choice, not good. Definately not what we were told we were getting, Such a shame!!

Room Tip: Make sure you're aware of what the room consists of before booking,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angela k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Air conditioning was broken in our room, not going to cut it for summer in Florence. In addiont, room seemed in poor condition. Clean, but everything was old. Missing handles in the bathroom. Overall, the hotel did seem to spend anything on upkeep. Would not go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

If you can't stand the heat, stay out of THIS kitchen! Though our room had an air conditioner, the fact that it didn't work was of little concern to the staff.
Not recommended and would not stay here again...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fifendrum54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel needs a major refurb. The room was very clean but there were too many issues that need little to sort out. There were tiles missing on the bathroom floor, loose wall paper, very old in- room tv not working as well as the socket, air conditioning unit was present but not working, unable to access hotel free wifi from the rooms, loose chandelier fixing. Also the breakfast was very poor with stale croissants and a self service coffee machine making the worst coffee I have ever tasted. We ended up having our breakfast at the bar by the hotel.
We were also asked to pay a staying tax of 3 euros each per night which was not advertised anywhere when we booked and certainly not made aware when we arrived.
Overall this is at one star hotel, the staff was courteous and the room was very clean but they need to invest some money in bringing the rooms to the 21st century.
Location wise the hotel is around 15 minutes walk from the centre and about 5 mins from the main station of Santa Maria Novella.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
HHB Hotel
HHB Hotel
#358 of 409 in Florence
157 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#328 of 409 in Florence
242 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#261 of 409 in Florence
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#303 of 409 in Florence
243 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#352 of 409 in Florence
423 reviews
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#203 of 409 in Florence
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argentina

Address: Via Curtatone 12, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #377 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $47 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Argentina 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Argentina was designed to make your stay a memorable one: in fact, in our establishment you will find a very friendly and relaxing atmosphere as well as the very best service, at the very best rates Florence has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argentina Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing